We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BnB on our Scotland trip”
Review of Tom-na-Creige

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Ballachulish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tom-na-Creige
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best BnB on our Scotland trip”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not worth me expanding on the other 5* comments really so I'll be brief. The best views possible over the Glen Coe peaks and Loch Linne - in 3 directions. Well it was in the heatwave of July 2013 and the photos I took from the windows are breathtaking. Very spacious room and very well furnished in a beautiful house. Local and homemade ingredients used for the breakfasts. Shame we were on our way north and only stayed one night. Only one mile from places to eat if you head south towards the bridge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigjock09, Owner at Tom-na-Creige, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you also for your kind review. It may as you say be brief but non the less much appreciated. Perhaps if you pass this way again we can be of further service to you.

Thank you

John & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    15
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here 3 days en route to Skye and were very impressed. Lesley and John are super hosts. Accommodation spacious and fresh with a good view of Loch Linne. Breakfast choice and quality the best we had on our 2 week holiday and that says something as all the other breakfasts were topnotch. The only slight drawback for us was the location - a little too far from Nevis range - but that was down to us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkBunny73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigjock09, Owner at Tom-na-Creige, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Many thanks for your great review and comments on the breakfasts. We do try to get our breakfasts as good as they can be to the point where we are actually producing some of our own items on the menu. We also have an in-house QC operative in the shape of John who regularly road tests the breakfast to be sure it up to standard
We are however a little bewildered at only receiving 3 for our location as it is probably one of the most stunning on the planet let alone the UK and only 16.9 miles from the Nevis range.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We travelled to Scotland in the end of May 2013 and stayed in Tom-na-Creige for 3 nights. It was great experience. The most delicious breakfasts (proper smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or Scottish breakfast with famous square sausagge amongst other delicious choices; I also really liked the homemade preserves), breakfast room/ living room overlooking amazing Loch Linnhe, magnificent fireplace, big ginger cat called Joe (after Joe Simpson, the mountaineer). We travelled by car, after breakfast we explored the nearby Glencoe, fort William, Isle of Skye, Ben Nevis, Loch Ness... It is very convenient pleace for exploring Highlands. We felt really welcomed by John and Lesley, our hosts. Our room was beautifully furnished, very clean, the best bedsheets I could imagine, comfy bed and good supply of tea/ coffee/ hot chocolate and WiFi access. I loved the fact that there were no TV in the room (there was one in the living room by the fireplace, but having such spectacular views of the Loch and the mountains as well as fireplace, who would need to watch tv?). We had great time. I only regret we did not stay longer...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0lle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigjock09, Owner at Tom-na-Creige, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review and for taking the time to share your experiences on TA.
It was a pleasure to have you in our home and you will of course be made very welcome should you ever pass this way again.

Best Wishes
John & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l'hospitalet, barcelona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I went to this place in september 2011.I came by myself. He was very kindful to give me a double room,because I reserve but didn't' tell him I was coming by my own. The room was quite spacious, amazing views of the lake,really good decorate,the room is full equiped with the water heater tea,milk,sugar (I get adicted to english breakfast tea since I visited Scotland) . Best place for a romantic night with a couple. Just 40 minutes driving (amazing views) apart you have Oban where you find many good restaurant where you can taste the real flavour of the scottish cuisine: salmon,mussels, lamb....
The breakfast is really well cook. For a spanish that tasted english cookers food I was really surprised to see that scottish cuisine is a world appart.

I really recomend this place to everyone.But specially to couples. Wake up on bed with the lake in front of u and this special light that Scotland got when the sun rise.

Just best option around to visit the area of fort william,the ben nevis and glencoe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poetanomada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigjock09, Owner at Tom-na-Creige, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, we are pleased to hear that you found T-n-C so comfortable and welcoming, after all its what this business should be about.
It is always a boost for us when we receive such positive feed back.

Thank you once again

John & Lesley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

On a good review from friends from OZ we spent part of our holiday at Tom-na-Creige then on 2 further occassions spent part of our holiday there. I am not sure where all the negative reports come from - maybe there is a Tom-na-Creige on another planet!! John and Lesley are the most gracious and charming hosts and their home is a "home from home" for us. Recently our son and daughter in law joined us and we stayed for a week - it was stunning. I will never stay at any other place when I am in that area. We have travelled extensively in Scotland and England and this B & B is top of the list - So John and Lesley thank you for being exactly the type of hosts anyone would wish to have.
Sandy and Peter Buchanan South Africa

Room Tip: The Green Room upstairs large and airy and the view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigjock09, Owner at Tom-na-Creige, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. It is always nice to see returning guests and to be trusted to cater for family a bonus. Hopefully we can be of service to you in the future. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

One of our first b&b experiences and it couldn't have been better. Big and comfortable room with amazing views over the Loch and mountains behind, from the bed (also very comfy)! Homely living room with an open fireplace, books to read and games to play. Great breakfast and very helpful hosts. I can highly recommend this B&B, it offers everything one could hope for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamingofsunshine26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigjock09, Owner at Tom-na-Creige, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review, we would be happy to welcome you Tmo-na-Creige if ever you were this way again. It is never a chore catering for guests when you know your efforts are appreciated.

Thank you once again

John & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Our group, comprising 4 adults and 1 small child, found this a lovely B&B. The rooms were very clean with plenty of space, comfy beds and fantastic views. Our hosts John and Lesley were helpful and informative throughout. Great breakfast too! I would recommend the Tom-na-Creige to anyone wishing to chill out and enjoy a break in the highlands.

Andrew Bergin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Bergin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ballachulish
0.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alltshellach
Alltshellach
#2 of 2 in North Ballachulish
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Alltshellach
#1 of 1 in North Ballachulish
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tom-na-Creige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom-na-Creige

Property: Tom-na-Creige
Address: North Ballachulish PH33 6RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > North Ballachulish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in North Ballachulish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Tom-Na-Creige North Ballachulish, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing