We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabogata Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tryp Indalo Almeria(Almeria)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenida Hotel(Almeria)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,273)
Filter reviews
1,273 results
Traveler rating
404
404
288
95
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
404
288
95
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barentertainment stafffamily holidaykids clubmini discothe busice creamwater parklife guardspastathe thomas cook repfamily roomplenty of choicebottle of watermeal timestransfer from the airportchildren and adults
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 1,273 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Location- Although this hotel has been advertised to be on the beach by Thomas Cook, it is actually about 5-10 min walk away but this is not the greatest problem when it comes to location. This is just a very misleading statement which basically made us choose this hotel and ruined our holiday. This beach is all shingles, pebbles and stones. We tried going into the sea one day but it was impossible.
The only alternatives you would have if you book this hotel would be to either get yourself trapped around the swimming pool, hire a car (if you don't mind driving in a foreign country where you don't really know where you are going and if you don't mind paying the parking fee in the hotel as well which is 6 EUR per day :)))) or get the bus to Almeria which we did twice and then gave up. The jurney takes 45 min on the bus, then you have another 15 min walk. The beach is sandy but that is not the proper soft sandy beach that you would expect to have in a resort place. There are no sunbeds or parasols that you can hire, no trees to hide under. There is no life guard or a flag to indicate whether or not you are safe to go in the sea. There are a few restaurants around but all their menues are in spanish and staff doesn't speak English :) The only place we could get some food was a kebap place where one member of staff spoke Englisn. And the whole adventure is for you to enjoy after you've paid to stay in a hotel whith a beachfront location, how ridiculous!
800 m to the resort centre- The resort centre has a supermarket, a couple of restaurants, an ice cream shop and 2 other shops.
The hotel's management also seems to have no respect to peoples' resting needs. Not only that we found ourselves trapped around the swimming pool for most of the time but they decided to clean the grids around the swimming pools at 11 o'clock one day whilst everyone was around the pools already. We all had to put up with the noise of the steamer for a good few hours and noone even apologised for what was going on. Surely they could have picked a better time. On top, they accomodated around 90 kids from a sports club (between 6-10 years old) in the last couple of days of our stay. These kids were given the same meal times as everyone else and you can imagine the amount of disruption and noise once 90 kids entered the restaurant for a meal.
Free Wi-Fi was supposed to be available in selected ares. Guess what- no Wi-Fi for the entire stay.
Food- They seem to be improving here but I wouldn't think the quality is 4 star.
Entertainment- One of the very little things they've got right.
Room- Spacious but furniture seems to need replacement. Old divan beds in not a great condition. My husband has been waking up with a severe back pain every morning. His bed was creaking really badly, mine was a bit better. There is a curtain going around the whole bath. This seems to have been there forever. You can't slide that across the rail, so I am not sure how (and whether) the cleaner ever manages to give the bath a proper clean as she would basically need to get inside to clean it. When you go into the bath this curtain smells as you clothes would smell if you leave them into your washing machine for a few days.
All inclusive- not valid in the lobby bar at reception. You can't have a coke, fanta or sprite drink at breakfast times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Manager at Cabogata Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

First of all thank you for your comments , it sure helps us to improve our service .on the other hand ,we apologise if the service was not at the level you expected .

The hotel is located in a residential zone with several hotels .It si specially indicated for people that do not want to stay in the middle of city

Even though this area is quiet , The capitol Almería , is only 12 km away and buses area running frecuently from the bus stop 20 mts away from the hotel.

A short distance away is also the Natural Pak Cabo de Gata ,where you can find long sandy beaches with clear water .Almeria is the second province in Andalucia with more “blue flags “distinction given by the spanish governement to the best beaches in Spain.

The beach opossite the hotel even tough is not a fine sandy beach is useful for bathing and the water is clean and clear.

Regarding the cleaning of the Hotel facilities ,we do allways try not to disturb our clients and choose the times when minimun disturb can be done.For that job that our was choosen for being not so early and before siesta time .

During your stay wifi was broken down and even the technical service form the line company as our technicians worked every day to have it dort it out but as it was a big problem we did not have wifi during the all week .We do apologise for it

We do not have soft drinks at breakfast they are not demanded time for clients but the Papaya bar is open from 10.30 in the morning just after the closing time for breakfast and stays open all day till late afternoon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 12th May for 1 week , The hotel itself was ok but the area [El toyo ] was a dead loss .Took travellers cheques but could not change them anywhere , even went into Almeria banks but they would not exchange them so had to go to the petrol station an hours walk away to the cash machine .The food was lukewarm ,the entertain was non existent except for a few quizzes .The beach was shingle not sandy and only 1 supermarket 1 souvenir shop and a few bars .Would definitely not go there again .Thomas Cook should pull out of this hotel and area .What made this holiday so bad was the wind and bad weather .

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious and clean .upper floors were probably better .
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Manager at Cabogata Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guests

First of all thank you for your comments , it sure helps us to improve our service .on the other hand ,we apologise if the service was not at the level you expected .
Regarding your complaint about not enough staff , we have a number of workers according to the volume of occupancy , like any other hotel we have rush hours where the volume of work slows down the service.

The activities of the entertainment team for children ussually stars at 21.30 and it was change when you were here at 21.00 as you wanted the activity to start earlier .

You talk about the cleaning of the toilets .During your stay the toilets on the ground floor breakdown and it took the tecnichians a few days to fix the broken pipe .During this repairing , it was for us inevitable to stop the smell coming from the toilets .

The hotel is located in a residential zone with several hotels , a Congress hall and a golf course , it si specially indicated for people that do not want to stay in the middle of city

Even though this area is quiet , The capitol Almería , is only 12 km away and buses area running frecuently from the bus stop 20 mts away from the hotel.

A short distance away is also the Natural Pak Cabo de Gata ,where you can find long sandy beaches with clear water .Almeria is the second province in Andalucia with more “blue flags “distinction given by the spanish governement to the best beaches in Spain.


Regarding your comments about food we have a rotative menus every week and these menús always includes Meat, Fish , rices ,vegetables and Pasta .Obviusly salads and garniture we repite but no mean dishes .The temperature of dishes was ok for spanish people , usually we take food not that warm .Once we knew by the rep of thomas cook the food was not enough hot for you ., we served it at a high temperature .

Once again thank you for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

23/05/2013 - 30/05/2013
First impressions were good, close to the airport, nice quiet area with very little traffic.
Very clean, spacious room with a good view over the pool area and the seafront beyond. Then the first mealtime came around and the hotel started to look a little less appealing, just about everything was cold and i'm not talking about the salad. Later on that first day we bumped into the Thomas Cook Rep - Marcia. "Hi guys" she greeted us "everything ok" well what a stupid question. I informed her that food that i'm sure was meant to be hot, wasn't even luke warm, her response was that the Spanish people don't like food to be piping hot, why do people have to try to bullsh1t there way out of an awkward situation ? I have probably been to Spain on more than 20 occasions and never encountered such poor food and certainly nothing as cold ! She also wriggled and tried to say it was because it was out of season, well i'm sorry but that is a feeble excuse, the hotel is either open or closed, do the cooks think - we're cooking for a full dining room today so lets make the food hot for a change ? Other things that we noticed were that the cooks were using the same utensils for raw and cooked food and there were always queues waiting for trays to be replenished on the servery. The domestic type small microwave that was in the dining room had a constant queue of people waiting to heat up their plate of food.
The T.Cook brochure shows a picture of a nice sandy beach, I haven't a clue where they took this photo, but we walked miles and only saw pebbles, rocks and shingle. There were no flags to indicate whether the sea was safe or not and the locals said there were lots of Jellyfish anyway.
The Pool Bar was supposed to be a snack bar as well, soggy crisps that had a flock of local sparrows crawling all over them (they were in an open tub behind the bar) and nuts - there was also a Hostess Trolley that had a few cold chips and curled up slices of bread from time to time
The comfortable lounge bar in reception was hardly ever open and on occasions when it was it wasn't always free for all inclusive guests, so you had to sit outside on cold windy evenings. On more than one evening guests (or perhaps inmates would be a better term) were wrapped in blankets that they had brought down from their rooms - it resembled a scene from "One Flew Over The Cuckoos Nest" . Entertainment rubbish, No money exchange or ATM machine not just in the hotel but the whole resort (closest place to exchange sterling for euros or cash machine was a 45minute bus ride each way) - fortunately there was nothing at all in the local area to spend money on anyway. No Wi-Fi for the last five days of our holiday. Service very poor, even with the hotel only approximately 25% full there were not enough staff to keep up. I could go on and on, i'm sure I have forgotten some other faults but there were just too many to remember them all ! I will never this area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Manager at Cabogata Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Guests

First of all thank you for your comments , it sure helps us to improve our service .on the other hand ,we apologise if the service was not at the level you expected .
Regarding your complaint about not enough staff , we have a number of workers according to the volume of occupancy , like any other hotel we have rush hours where the volume of work slows down the service.

The activities of the entertainment team for children ussually stars at 21.30 and it was change when you were here at 21.00 as you wanted the activity to start earlier .

You talk about the cleaning of the toliets .During your stay the toilets on the ground floor breakdown and it took the tecnichians a few days to fix the broken pipe .During this repairing , it was for us inevitable to stop the smell coming from the toilets .

The hotel is located in a residential zone with several hotels , a Congress hall and a golf course , it si specially indicated for people that do not want to stay in the middle of city

Even though this area is quiet , The capitol Almería , is only 12 km away and buses area running frecuently from the bus stop 20 mts away from the hotel.

A short distance away is also the Natural Pak Cabo de Gata ,where you can find long sandy beaches with clear water .Almeria is the second province in Andalucia with more “blue flags “distinction given by the spanish governement to the best beaches in Spain.


Regarding your comments about food we have a rotative menus every week and these menús always includes Meat, Fish , rices ,vegetables and Pasta .Obviusly salads and garniture we repite but no mean dishes .The temperature of dishes was ok for spanish people , usually we take food not that warm .Once we knew by the rep of thomas cook the food was not enough hot for you ., we served it at a high temperature .

Once again we thank you for let us know your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is new, light, airy and the poolside is well laid out, with a lifeguard on duty throughout the day.
The food is absolutely awful. It is mostly served cold. There is little choice for the English. There is no Englsh tea at breakfast unless you ask the waiter to fetch you a tea bag - and that's all you get for everyone who wants tea.
The cold meats are curling up as soon as you enter the restaurant.
There is no food to tempt young children.
If you like cold fried eggs and quarter cooked sausage then is the place for instant food poisoning.
The chef has no imagination or understanding of what is required in the food line for guests to enjoy. Mealtimes are an absolute nightmare.
The entertainment is OK if you like quiz nights five out of seven and are willing to let the entertainment team communicate in Spanish for the two families who can understand this. The English translation takes all of 2.5 seconds.
The poolside snack bar is a battle between you and the wild birds to get something to eat, especially if you like olives since that is about all you get plus the odd cheese and ham sandwich which has been exposed to the elements and has curled up at the edges. Watch for where the birds have pecked it.

The (cold) fish soup comprises the skin and bones plus water - and the bones are not small.
The best soup was the mushroom but even this was cool.

Our rep tried to get things changed but the complaint only lasted a day - we were soon back to where we were.

You never see the restaurant manager or the chef.

This a shame since the hotel and its location are really good - but its definitely not a four star hotel.

My grandchildren had to exist on cold chips and rolls for the week.

The management are not interested

Room Tip: Ask for a family room - these are spacious - lots more room than most of the holiday hotels. the rooms overlooking the pool to the left (from the sea) are the coolest at night
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Manager at Cabogata Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guests

First of all thank you for your comments , it sure helps us to improve our service .on the other hand ,we apologise if the service was not at the level you expected .
Regarding your complaint about not enough staff , we have a number of workers according to the volume of occupancy , like any other hotel we have rush hours where the volume of work slows down the service.

The activities of the entertainment team for children ussually stars at 21.30 and it was change when you were here at 21.00 as you wanted the activity to start earlier .

You talk about the cleaning of the toilets .During your stay the toilets on the ground floor breakdown and it took the tecnichians a few days to fix the broken pipe .During this repairing , it was for us inevitable to stop the smell coming from the toilets .

The hotel is located in a residential zone with several hotels , a Congress hall and a golf course , it si specially indicated for people that do not want to stay in the middle of city

Even though this area is quiet , The capitol Almería , is only 12 km away and buses area running frecuently from the bus stop 20 mts away from the hotel.

A short distance away is also the Natural Pak Cabo de Gata ,where you can find long sandy beaches with clear water .Almeria is the second province in Andalucia with more “blue flags “distinction given by the spanish governement to the best beaches in Spain.


Regarding your comments about food we have a rotative menus every week and these menús always includes Meat, Fish , rices ,vegetables and Pasta .Obviusly salads and garniture we repite but no mean dishes .The temperature of dishes was ok for spanish people , usually we take food not that warm .Once we knew by the rep of thomas cook the food was not enough hot for you ., we served it at a high temperature .

Once again thank you for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for a week from the 23rd May 2013.
The hotel is nice with a large pool area and plenty of sun beds. It is situated in a very quiet area with nothing to do outside of the hotel, however this was not a problem for us as we just wanted to relax.
The bedroom was very spacious and clean as is most of the hotel. The only areas that would benefit from improvement are the public toilets which needed more regular sanitising and the sun beds which could do with a wash down each night as quite a few of them were covered with bird droppings.

The main problem however is the food.
Everyday and for each sitting the food was either cold, undercooked, burnt or just plain horrible.
The kitchen seem to use extremely cheap food and ingredients and it is very obvious when you eat it. All meat is very fatty, soup is watery and the same meals are served again and again and again.

There was lots of fish, squid and even rabbit dishes served up regularly which may be fine for some but not for us, and even our children who are quite adventurous with their food were not going to eat that.
The only other dishes which we would have eaten were either cold, burnt or simply disgusting.
We lived on salad and bread for most of the week.

We spoke to the Thomas Cook rep on 2 separate occasions regarding the food and so did every other Brit in the hotel but nothing was done despite a mini revolution which was starting amongst some of the other guests. I think Thomas Cook can expect quite a few letters of complaint...

Other than the 3 meals a day there is no other food served. There is what the hotel calls a 'snack bar' but the only snack they serve is ready salted crisps. According to other guests they sometimes bring out a small platter of stale ham sandwiches and luke warm chips at 5pm but on the occasions we went to take a look there was nothing left and once it's gone, it's gone! This is definitely more of a full board holiday with drinks than an all inclusive holiday (although we paid an all inclusive price).

We have paid the same amount of money to stay in other Spanish hotels in the past and they have always put on some great evening entertainment but at the Cabogata Hotel there is only a kids disco followed by either a quiz or bingo. The Animation Team are very friendly and likeable and do their best under the circumstances but it's repetitive and rather boring after a few days.

Overall I could put up with the bland entertainment, the broken wifi, the one english speaking tv channel, (Sky News) the smelly toilets and the woefully understaffed bar and restaurant but the main highlight of going all inclusive is the food and unfortunately this was dire.

Nice hotel, lovely staff but cheap food, cheap drink, cheap entertainment and cheap service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Manager at Cabogata Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guests

First of all thank you for your comments , it sure helps us to improve our service .on the other hand ,we apologise if the service was not at the level you expected .
Regarding your complaint about not enough staff , we have a number of workers according to the volume of occupancy , like any other hotel we have rush hours where the volume of work slows down the service.

The activities of the entertainment team for children ussually stars at 21.30 and it was change when you were here at 21.00 as you wanted the activity to start earlier .

You talk about the cleaning of the toilets .During your stay the toilets on the ground floor breakdown and it took the tecnichians a few days to fix the broken pipe .During this repairing , it was for us inevitable to stop the smell coming from the toilets .

The hotel is located in a residential zone with several hotels , a Congress hall and a golf course , it si specially indicated for people that do not want to stay in the middle of city

Even though this area is quiet , The capitol Almería , is only 12 km away and buses area running frecuently from the bus stop 20 mts away from the hotel.

A short distance away is also the Natural Pak Cabo de Gata ,where you can find long sandy beaches with clear water .Almeria is the second province in Andalucia with more “blue flags “distinction given by the spanish governement to the best beaches in Spain.


Regarding your comments about food we have a rotative menus every week and these menús always includes Meat, Fish , rices ,vegetables and Pasta .Obviusly salads and garniture we repite but no mean dishes .The temperature of dishes was ok for spanish people , usually we take food not that warm .Once we knew by the rep of thomas cook the food was not enough hot for you ., we served it at a high temperature .

Once again thank you for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews