We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$80
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/25/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Barcelo.com
$57
View deal
Priceline$80
Hotels.com$104
eDreams$80
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,116)
Filter reviews
4,116 results
Traveler rating
2,198
1,341
392
125
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,198
1,341
392
125
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cabo de gata half board the bus young children buffet restaurant restaurants and bars national park bouncy castle rooms are large bar staff sun loungers fantastic hotel golf course spanish families evening entertainment meal times pool bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 4,116 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wonderful hotel, beautiful rooms, exceptionally clean and the staff were all wonderful: helpful, friendly, professional. Everything form the telephone booking right through to the checkout on the last day was excellent! Can't rate it high enough! Fantastic value for money and perfect for any sort of holiday. Located in a beautiful area only 20 mins by car from Almeria and right on the beach. a quiet, residential area with all the amenities but not overcrowded and exceptionally touristy. Perfect!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Yeoman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

THe actual hotel building itself is very pleasant in a modern, corporate way.

However the el toyo location is half conference / half tourist. Lots of hotels around a golf course and conference centre. Most shops are unoccupied and looks like lots of houses/apartments are half finished.

We were also there week after Easter...not high season. So most places were half full and the hotel didn't have any kids clubs/activities. It was just like staying in a business hotel.

THe pools looked nice but were not super clean. Towels were charged at €10 cash deposit and €1 for cleaning.

Food was ok....everything is a buffet so ok for kids but nothing special.

Nothing in the local area...so you have to do day excursions.

Can't see why I'd return.....nothing bad about the hotel per se.....just not a great experience.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaddyH467
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This Barcelo ticks the boxes. The room was big and opened out onto the pool area with its own terrace. The pools were all very clean and lovely to swim in. The sun-lounging area was also very clean and well serviced.
the buffet dinner was surprisingly good quality for an "inclusive" hotel.
There is little to do in the surrounding area unless you drive a bit away, but if its a sun and relaxing holiday you are after you would not need to leave the comfortable surrounds of the Barcelo.
The one annoyance was the background music(s). At one point, sitting in the lobby we could hear the TV in the bar, the piped music in the lobby itself and the different piped music in the pool area. My wife did say she would not stay there again unless they agree to turn off at least 2 of the sound sources....

Date of stay: October 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Lovely weather and only 10 minutes away from the airport. When we booked at the travel agents we were asked if there are any requiremenets we would like. We asked for a sea view and up high. When we were booking in, we was told that for a sea view is would be another 9 euros per day! We decided against this as the room we had did have a side sea view. Our room was excellent, very spacious and clean. The balcony had a table and chairs so you could sit outside in the evening if you wanted. The food was very good and plenty of it - even had champagne in the mornings for breakfast if you wanted, but was not very hot. Had to tell the chef that the scrambled eggs were cold, but they did not do anything about it, just bought out more. Saw people putting their evening meal in the microwave to heat up! The pool areas were great, and water quality very good, always a sun bed available and no towels left on them! Only had entertainment on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. The local supermarket was 15-20 minute walk away and all that was near there was a couple of restaurants, a bar, and a souvenir shop, so nowhere to go in the evenings if you like looking in the shops. The nearest place for that is Almeria city which was a 45 minute bus ride. So we used to have dinner late and then just sit in the bar. The beach was sandy and clean but there was large rocks going into the sea. Would recommend the bus service to the City as only cost 1 euro 5 cents each way which was very good for the market which is on a Tuesday outside the football ground whereas if you go with the tour guide to the market on a Saturday, it would have cost 15 euros! All in all it was a very relaxing holiday and was lucky with the weather.

Room tip: If you want a sea view yand overlooking the pool you need to pay extra, but we were the other side of the hotel, which worked out very good as the sun set that side.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harri015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose the hotel for our honeymoon, when we arrive at the hotel after we paid everything including the honeymoon package we got surprised with the room of the hotel reserve for us. A handicap room with 2 single beds. And they said is because they are fully booked and there is no more room. Another thing is the cleanses of the room, we found hair everywhere I even toke pictures to show the manager but the same excuse again we are fully booked.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alessandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews