We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Lovely weather and only 10 minutes away from the airport. When we booked at the travel agents we were asked if there are any requiremenets we would like. We asked for a sea view and up high. When we were booking in, we was told that for a sea view is would be another 9 euros per day! We decided against this as the room we had did have a side sea view. Our room was excellent, very spacious and clean. The balcony had a table and chairs so you could sit outside in the evening if you wanted. The food was very good and plenty of it - even had champagne in the mornings for breakfast if you wanted, but was not very hot. Had to tell the chef that the scrambled eggs were cold, but they did not do anything about it, just bought out more. Saw people putting their evening meal in the microwave to heat up! The pool areas were great, and water quality very good, always a sun bed available and no towels left on them! Only had entertainment on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. The local supermarket was 15-20 minute walk away and all that was near there was a couple of restaurants, a bar, and a souvenir shop, so nowhere to go in the evenings if you like looking in the shops. The nearest place for that is Almeria city which was a 45 minute bus ride. So we used to have dinner late and then just sit in the bar. The beach was sandy and clean but there was large rocks going into the sea. Would recommend the bus service to the City as only cost 1 euro 5 cents each way which was very good for the market which is on a Tuesday outside the football ground whereas if you go with the tour guide to the market on a Saturday, it would have cost 15 euros! All in all it was a very relaxing holiday and was lucky with the weather.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view yand overlooking the pool you need to pay extra, but we were the other side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harri015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    820
    240
    66
    23
See reviews for
1,142
735
36
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose the hotel for our honeymoon, when we arrive at the hotel after we paid everything including the honeymoon package we got surprised with the room of the hotel reserve for us. A handicap room with 2 single beds. And they said is because they are fully booked and there is no more room. Another thing is the cleanses of the room, we found hair everywhere I even toke pictures to show the manager but the same excuse again we are fully booked.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alessandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have just spent two weeks int the Cabo De Gata. Fantastic hotel, food is excellent lots of choice and you can pick from the different restaurants, the main restaurnat and lots of different foods, alot of Spainish infulence, there is also a pool bar and this also provides meals, very good if you only want a small meal and lots of space. Rooms are very good can sleep up to 4 people in one room so very good if you are a family. The people who stay at the hotel are from Spain, so not many English people, this was great. If you have children with you there is a kids club, but you will have to inform the team that your children want to join in, as most of the children will be from Spain. As i was there during the holidays for children in Spain there are lots of children, but not to much noise during the day. Most of the customers took their siesta's during the afternoon, so from 2/5 the pool area is very quiet. I found I was keeping the same hours, but not the siesta, staying round the pool until 7.30. According to the hotel the pool did not open until 10am but you could use the pool before that time. All the staff are ecellent, cannot do enough for you. Very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: The rooms for the hotel are on a L shape. I was in room 260, which was above the first pool, balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toniskeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a short break here (4 nights) and it was very relaxing. Room was good, pool excellent, although it could get a little windy! Restaurant food was good although my wife wasn't as keen as me at dinner but then I love gazpacho and cold meats! Drink prices were reasonable in the bar, I'd highly recommend the "Very Sweet Sherry"!
It's not really aholiday resort from the walks we took locally but if you're happy to sat and chill in the hotel, it's great

Room Tip: Its worth a little extra for a sea facing room with a good sized balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nts in early June. Very good price obtained for a large modern room on the coast. The Bathroom is particularly spacious and well appointed. Although bedroom could benefit from a clock cd/ipod dock. Large pools were almost empty most of the time, even though occupancy was probably up to half full. It my be that before peak season, plenty of spanish were staying who were not so fussed about the sunbathing? The buffet had a good selection and compared to many at this price the quality was good. Reception staff were professional rather than warm and friendly. However hotel was clean of good modern design and well placed for me to explore this part of the less developed coast. With the exception of El Toyo itself which in early June was quiet,a new resort lacking in character, looking over built and under capacity.

Room Tip: Non sea view rooms overlook a public car park, so if you get a good price take a sea view The almos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiroshi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We decided to return to the Barcelo Cabo de Gata Hotel this year, after a great holiday last year. It has everything that we want for a relaxing break in the warm weather. This year we opted for the A.I. package which was excellent value around £90.00 per person for 10 days. we said beforehand that we would eat a big meal at lunch time but it was so good we did. The A. I. includes most items in the hotel most international spirits and a decent red wine with the meals. We travelled a week earlier this year and the hotel was a bit quieter for the first half of the holiday. 95% of the guests are Spanish, mainly young families, but the children are well behaved. The rooms again were very comfortable and spacious no complaints overall absolutely spotless throughout and extremely friendly and helpful staff, some remembered us from last year which was nice, when i sat at a table in the bar a large whisky with ice appeared without me ordering it, wow!. Other UK guests had a minor moan about the fact that Thomas Cook have the hotel listed as for Adults/Couples and moan about the amount of children. If I go again I will go even earlier when it is much quieter. Seems a better Hotel than others in the area, which seem less relaxing. If you have walking difficulties the hotel and surrounding areas are very accessible. I will probably go again next year as we don't tend to want to tour around much in the heat so the hotel suits us. food was good but not quite as good as last year and a lot of the hot buffet dishes were not very warm, I used the microwave a few times to heat the meals up, but the microwaves are really intended for baby food, bottles, etc.,

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (3rd), pool view and you get a good sea view and sun in the morning without pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Here is a real little gem, hidden away from mass tourism but only a fifteen minute drive from Almeria Airport and the odd thing is, you hardly ever hear or see any planes from the hotel.

El Toyo, - built for the 2005 Mediterranean Games - resembles a ghost town at times as other reviewers have found so don't expect to find too much going on here although there are a couple of bars, a supermarket and several seasonal restaurants within ten minutes walk of the hotel. Apparently the whole area is packed during the Spanish summer holiday period. Incredibly, there isn't one ATM machine either in the hotel or the town! A half hourly bus service ( two euros ten cents return!) goes to nearby Almeria - a delightful of Spanish city where there are many..

The hotel is superb = under ten years old, comfortable, well managed with excellent buffet food. Good, ice cold beer (San Miguel on tap) and wine (bottle of house wine around ten euros) One large swimming pool and three others for children and beginners. Masses of sun beds. Lots of space. Right by the sea. Gym and Spa (which we didn't sample). Free wi fi.

The only (small) problem, came at the weekend when many locals arrived for a break and a couple of weddings. The restaurant and bar were swamped and staff just couldn't cope. The food also ran out in the end. Not good but in direct contrast to the rest of our stay.

Staff were,without exception, friendly, helpful and very patient in view of the fact that the majority of the other guests spoke Spanish.. Shouldn't really single out any one but we did get a lot of help from the quite wonderful ADRIANA on reception.

Our room (top floor no 354) was totally quiet and superbly comfortable. To sum up, a classy hotel definitely NOT for the night lifers but highly recommended for those seeking a quiet spell in the Spanish sun., Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Third floor (top floor) floor rooms don't get noise from folk walking about about on the stone f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notpastit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Toyo
0.4 mi away
Cabogata Mar Garden Hotel Club & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ohtels Cabogata
Ohtels Cabogata
#2 of 4 in El Toyo
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunConnect Cabogata Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Playadulce Hotel
Playadulce Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aguadulce
729 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel MC San Jose
Hotel MC San Jose
#1 of 5 in San Jose
747 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tryp Indalo Almeria
Tryp Indalo Almeria
#7 of 31 in Almeria
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Cabo de Gata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Cabo de Gata

Property: Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Address: Calle Juegos de Casablanca s/n | Retamar, 04131 El Toyo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > El Toyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Cabo de Gata 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Cabo de Gata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cabo De Gata Hotel
Barcelo Hotel Almería
Cabo De Gata Barcelo
Barcelo Cabo De Gata Almeria/El Toyo, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing