We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the breakfast experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Let down by the breakfast experience”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

On the whole this was a pleasant stay of only one night but the breakfast experience dismayed us. The bedroom was large, with plenty of space, a nice balcony, with table and chairs, comfortable bed and good bedding, plenty of surfaces and space to unpack. Room service was fast and good. BUT breakfast was a scrum, tables were crammed together, the juice and coffee were undrinkable, it was all serve youself with not a waiter in sight to help with any appliances, the food was uninspiring and the general atmosphere was chaos and "every man for himself" with food running out and not being replenished. A pity because the pools were superb and tranquil. Perhaps the doors should have been opened to give guests the option to escape the rowdy breakfast room onto the terrace, or let guests spread farther back rather than "corralling" them all together including large, very noisy family parties. One other point, who on earth thought it was a good idea to design the floor outside all the guest rooms with bobbles that your case makes a loud racket when dragged over???

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    794
    239
    65
    23
See reviews for
1,086
717
35
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

However be aware that there is nothing else to do in the area apart from walking along the seafront promenade.The hotel is in Retamar, a characterless retirement district , several miles from the charming resort of Cabo de Gato .We are huge fans of the Barcelo Santiago hotel in Tenerife and have been several times. This Barcelo was disappointing in comparison. All inclusive was no longer available when we arrived 27/9/12, it was clearly end of season - no entertainment at all day or night - the buffet although very good, got smaller each night as the number of guests decreased. We had booked a front sea view terrace room, but asked to see it before taking our luggage up. The room was spacious and lovely, but the large terrace looked over the pool and outside bar area - sea view , but a long way off. The balcony was overlooked from the room above as well , offering no privacy for the extra cost . We asked to see a room nearer to the sea and were given 233 which was fantastic. It was on the top (second floor) the closest to the sea the hotel has to offer - with beautiful views over the palm tree lined promenade and out to sea. Ceiling fan was a bonus as we didnt need to use air con, but disappointed not to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room, particularly as all inclusive also not available.We enjoyed our stay, but feel no reason to return.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before taking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RuthBarnstaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

To start we hired a car very cheaply from Europa car at the airport for the week. very large free car park. And we were all inclusive

Arrived at the hotel on the 20th September the hotel seemed very clean and the staff checked us in really quickly. There are no porters at the hotel so you will have to carry your own bags.

Room. Well i wasn't expecting such a large room just the 2 of us. it was all very very clean i have to say and nice and tidy. the mini bar you get 2 bottles of water and that is it. the safe is free to use which is a good thing.
Now i am an ex smoker and as there was notices every where saying no smoking the guy in the room next door was smoking in his room and the small came into ours i wasn't happy about this and that went on for a few days. and the bar was just below our room so had to had the patio door shut most of the time, as people smoking on the bar patio.

Food. Now our first day was good there was a fair amount i could eat. i can't eat seafood. well it would have helped if they had labled all the food items as i couldn't have half the things as you couldn't tell what they were. and then the cross contamination what a hell that was so i went hungry for a few days well most of them. we ordered from the bar a few times but wasn't impressed.

Pool area. had some broken tiles and the pools in areas needed a deep clean but as it is the end of the summer i could understand this, now we arrived on the Thursday as told that the pool bar/snack place was closing on the Sunday. so we only had the main room and the bar to eat in. we deidn't have a problem getting a sun bed at all and there seemed allot to go about.

Spa we didn't use i think the price they charge is very steep. 16euro for an hour just to use the spa and have a treatment.

Staff i have to say short old guy on the bar what a pain in the neck. all the other were fantastic the 2 younger ladies doing the bar were fab and so were the lads.

other bits. there was a wedding on and good they took over every where and everything was really annoying at times.
I also think that the staff should be able to talk to parents who allow their kids to run wild in the dinning room. one it is not safe and 2 it is not a playground.
Another thing i was rather upset about and it was our last day we had asked the reception staff if they knew of a wineries in the area and we had a map shoved at us and told no. what annoyed us was the following day an English couple turn up get a full on tour as well as a run down of what is in the area including what we had asked.

Over all would i go back? yes i would and the same time of year.

Room Tip: rooms facing the car park will be quieter and but didn't see they had much of a view all the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I went there with a friend who lives in Spain. My flight arrived at Almeria airport 9.15, the hotel is a very short drive from the airport and we were parked and checked in by 11.00. The hotel had agreed to let us have a room as soon as we arrived, which was very useful as we could unpack and and sort out our spa appointments for the next 2 days. We paid 30 euros to keep the room until 6pm for following day so we didn't have to pack early.

Food is good, the buffet extensive and staff are all helpful and pleasant. IT was the last weekend of the Spanish school holidays so there a lot of children there but they were all well behaved.

Spa staff were helpful and gave good service. We were so relaxed after two days of treatments we plan to go again next year.

Room was spacious, quiet, good views and very clean.
PRices were good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEEMSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel was lovely. Very well kept. Very clean. The room was nice and clean. They even cleaned the curtains the first week we were there. All the staff were friendly, welcoming, professional, efficient and helpful. The food was lovely! and so much of it. We were all inclusive. The spa was good. I had a massage very reasonably priced. The area was lovely, the spanish - they were very friendly and pleasant. My 5 year old daughter had a fantastic time. I would highly recommend this hotel. The location is not too far from the airport which was great. I cannot fault my 2 weeks break. I loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This resort was very nice. The rooms were comfortable, big enough, very clean, with very nicely sized bathrooms. My family of 2 adults and one child were staying in a standard room. There is a little (hardly works, for whatever reason the concept of cold is very different in Spain) fridge in the room, and a nice balcony/terrace. We asked for a quiet room and I didn't hear any noises at night during the week that we stayed in June. I imagine the rooms next to the pool can be loud since they have "activities" every night that run till about 11-12pm.
That said, we actually tried to stay awake until the activities were over to not have to fight loud noises. it worked out well.
The hotel is very nice. There are several pool (salted) that are showing lots of signs of mold so I guess the salt process may need an adjustment. But there are many and you can pick a more quiet area or one full of kids (our case). Our daughter had a blast.
The kids club was fantastic. They have activities planned at all times and you can go for a little bit or the whole day. Our daughter never wanted to stay for more than an hour but it was a great option. The "monitores" were very very good with kids!
The food was average. There was enough to choose from but the quality was not very good. We had half board and that worked since I could not have imagined eating there for lunch too. Overall, a very pleasant stay.
We used the spa and were very disappointed. The same person did a sports massage and my pedicure... far far from professional!!!
the hotel is nice but there isn't much around. YOu definitely need a car if you want to go explore amazing beaches (near San Jose) or other areas nearby. Not much around though.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if that is your thing. They can accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmagoestothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We travelled with children of 5 and 3 and had a Junior Suite, All Inclusive, for 1 week in August. The room is lovely, with sea view, plenty of space, 2 seperate rooms, tv 's etc, kettle, ipod docking station and jacuzzi. Cleaning was excellent, maintenance pretty good but the terrace furniture was a bit old for example. Other rooms seemed quite overlooked to us and would maybe have been noisy until quite late with the entertainment, and not many in the hotel would have a sea view (without the use of binoculars), but we are guessing on that.

We thought the food was excellent for a buffet system, good quality and choice, frequently replenished.

The vast majority of guests are Spanish families so the timings might not suit other nationalities - breakfast opens at 8am and dinner at 8pm. All activites and kids clubs etc are only in Spanish, we weren't very impressed with the animation team in any case.

We were happy with the hotel, but there's not much to do there apart from the swimming pools, which are great. There is a small centre in Retamar / Plaza del Mar with some bars, go karts, kayaks etc, but this is 15 mins walk and only gets busy in the evening. The heat of the day in the summer prohibits most activities until after 6pm especially with young children.

Cabo de Gata is famous for it's unspoilt beaches, these are on the other side of the peninsula, 30-60 mins away by car. San José is a nice town with a good beach half an hour away from Retamar, there are regular buses from there to the more famous beaches that are out of town.

If you are looking for a resort style hotel from which Cabo de Gata beaches are accessible, you have a car, want All Inclusive and are comfortable with the Spanish culture / language then the Barceló Cabo de Gata could be a good option if you get a decent price. But I'm aware there are a lot of conditional "if"s in there.

Room Tip: We were in 231, Junior Suite, right at the sea end of the L shaped hotel. Worth the price if the dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Toyo
0.4 mi away
Cabogata Mar Garden Hotel Club & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ohtels Cabogata
Ohtels Cabogata
#2 of 4 in El Toyo
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunConnect Cabogata Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel MC San Jose
Hotel MC San Jose
#1 of 5 in San Jose
734 reviews
17.4 mi away
Evenia Zoraida Park
Evenia Zoraida Park
#3 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
2,245 reviews
14.0 mi away
Playadulce Hotel
Playadulce Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aguadulce
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Cabo de Gata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Cabo de Gata

Property: Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Address: Calle Juegos de Casablanca s/n | Retamar, 04131 El Toyo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > El Toyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Cabo de Gata 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Cabo de Gata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cabo De Gata Hotel
Barcelo Hotel Almería
Cabo De Gata Barcelo
Barcelo Cabo De Gata Almeria/El Toyo, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing