We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in the middle of the "dessert"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This resort was very nice. The rooms were comfortable, big enough, very clean, with very nicely sized bathrooms. My family of 2 adults and one child were staying in a standard room. There is a little (hardly works, for whatever reason the concept of cold is very different in Spain) fridge in the room, and a nice balcony/terrace. We asked for a quiet room and I didn't hear any noises at night during the week that we stayed in June. I imagine the rooms next to the pool can be loud since they have "activities" every night that run till about 11-12pm.
That said, we actually tried to stay awake until the activities were over to not have to fight loud noises. it worked out well.
The hotel is very nice. There are several pool (salted) that are showing lots of signs of mold so I guess the salt process may need an adjustment. But there are many and you can pick a more quiet area or one full of kids (our case). Our daughter had a blast.
The kids club was fantastic. They have activities planned at all times and you can go for a little bit or the whole day. Our daughter never wanted to stay for more than an hour but it was a great option. The "monitores" were very very good with kids!
The food was average. There was enough to choose from but the quality was not very good. We had half board and that worked since I could not have imagined eating there for lunch too. Overall, a very pleasant stay.
We used the spa and were very disappointed. The same person did a sports massage and my pedicure... far far from professional!!!
the hotel is nice but there isn't much around. YOu definitely need a car if you want to go explore amazing beaches (near San Jose) or other areas nearby. Not much around though.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if that is your thing. They can accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmagoestothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 2,497 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We travelled with children of 5 and 3 and had a Junior Suite, All Inclusive, for 1 week in August. The room is lovely, with sea view, plenty of space, 2 seperate rooms, tv 's etc, kettle, ipod docking station and jacuzzi. Cleaning was excellent, maintenance pretty good but the terrace furniture was a bit old for example. Other rooms seemed quite overlooked to us and would maybe have been noisy until quite late with the entertainment, and not many in the hotel would have a sea view (without the use of binoculars), but we are guessing on that.

We thought the food was excellent for a buffet system, good quality and choice, frequently replenished.

The vast majority of guests are Spanish families so the timings might not suit other nationalities - breakfast opens at 8am and dinner at 8pm. All activites and kids clubs etc are only in Spanish, we weren't very impressed with the animation team in any case.

We were happy with the hotel, but there's not much to do there apart from the swimming pools, which are great. There is a small centre in Retamar / Plaza del Mar with some bars, go karts, kayaks etc, but this is 15 mins walk and only gets busy in the evening. The heat of the day in the summer prohibits most activities until after 6pm especially with young children.

Cabo de Gata is famous for it's unspoilt beaches, these are on the other side of the peninsula, 30-60 mins away by car. San José is a nice town with a good beach half an hour away from Retamar, there are regular buses from there to the more famous beaches that are out of town.

If you are looking for a resort style hotel from which Cabo de Gata beaches are accessible, you have a car, want All Inclusive and are comfortable with the Spanish culture / language then the Barceló Cabo de Gata could be a good option if you get a decent price. But I'm aware there are a lot of conditional "if"s in there.

Room Tip: We were in 231, Junior Suite, right at the sea end of the L shaped hotel. Worth the price if the dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel looked very nice from the outside and didn't dissapoint inside. The rooms were nice & clean & a big bathroom. We had half board as we wanted to explore the area.
The spa was good - facial & massage, resonably priced and very good products used.
The local area was lovely, very spanish & quite busy. The decked area along the seafront was great with lots of places to sit in the sun or shade if you didn't want to sit on the beach.
Very clean - beach was cleaned very early each morning & no litter!
Nice bars with free tapas, nice places just for coffee & excellent ice cream parlour, heaving with people late in the evening.
Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank christine1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family and I traveled here the last week of June and met up with extended family. We had medio pension while our travel companions had all inclusive. The rooms were average, with better than average bathrooms. Internet was free but you had to put a $10 deposit on an ethernet cord. The pools were nice but not overly clean. The entertainment at night was a nice touch. Food was average, but nothing to write home about. I think the food could have been excellent had they used higher quality oil. However, the selection was nice. Coffee from the machine is terrible. They do have an espresso machine at the lower snack area as well as the cafe near the lobby.
If you do not drink or snack much, you could probably skip the all-inclusive. On the other hand, it does not cost much more. We did try the spa; sports massage and pedicure. The pedicure was bad. It was my first "sports massage" so I do not have anything to compare it to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoandchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday At the Barcelo Cabo De Gata, booked as a package through Thomas Cook. The hotel certainly lives up to its 4 star rating. The bedrooms and the public areas are all to a high standard. Twin rooms, mostl;y with side sea view are very spacious with large bathrroms and free security safes and a fridge. Air con and a large ceiling fan ensure the rooms are always nice and cool. The beds are comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep, we struggled to get up for breakfast which is served to 10.30/11.00. Based on reading other reviews, we decided against the all inclusive option (for a very reasonable £17 per day). opting for Half Board. The buffet meals are to a high standard with lots of chaice and variation..Breakfast sausages are spanish style and not really good for breakfast, There is penty of other choices for breakfast. Most of the guests in the summer are spanish families with small children and the food although international, does include local spanish dishes such as rabbit and squid. There is always a good choice of seafood including smoked salmon and king prawns. Some of the hot dishes are not very hot but they do provide a microwave which is very useful.
The pool area is very good with all pools heated and the whole area is spotless, tidy and supervised. Nobody leaves litter around, the children during our stay were very well behavied.
The evening entertainment is all in spanish so I would say this hotel would not suit young british families. The surounding area is very nicely landscaped and accessible with disabled facilities on the beach. The area is not over crowded and you can always get a bed by the pool or by the beach. There are lots of counry and costal walks from the hotel. The bus stops outside the hotel and will take you to Almeria City for 1 euro.

We opted for Half board and went out for lunch, the restaurants and tapas bars nearby are very good but very quite. I would definately return to this hotel as I lke the fact that it is very Spanish. I would go for All Inclusive next time as it works out much cheaper just on drinks alone. Soft drinks in the hotel cost 2 euros 40 a shot which soon adds up during the day. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the entertainment team are very keen to encourage all guests to participate in a wide range of daytime activities There is a nice Spa, but we didn't bother with it, maybe we would in cooler/mixed weather. If you are looking for a relaxing luxury break and are happy with your own company and not looking for hotel evening entertainment then this hotel is great.

Room Tip: All rooms are good the best rooms are junior suites with whirlpool baths and sunlongers, these rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Only in September 2011 I was raving about this hotel, although we still had a lovely time I could see some flaws this time. It might have been because we stayed for three nights instead of one or it might have been that it's feeling the pinch of recession.

We upgraded our room to the Junior Suite on arrival, like last time, for 40 euros per night. Last time for the same money we had a free bottle of champagne and a plate of ham & biscuits. We didn't get that this time.

The food was also a bit of a let down this time, whereas it was good in September, this time it was lacking. It certainly wasn't food to spoil yourself with, in fact on the final evening I had pizza and chips! (which was actually the tastiest thing I'd had in three days).

One last grumble before I move onto the positives, our balcony was loose and one good shove it probably would have fallen three flights to the floor. Splat. We did mention this on departure which the receptionist was very surprised about so it's probable they didn't know about it.

On the plus side, it's still a lovely hotel with very helpful, friendly and english speaking staff. It was wonderfully quiet for our first two nights (a wedding on the third but not a problem), and it has a lovely view overlooking the sea. It's also very clean, like most of spain, and still very relaxing despite it's flaws.

Although I'd still recommend the hotel, I think we might visit somewhere else next year.

p.s. no fault of the hotel but it's very windy in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We arrived early in June, the season just taking off, so quiet and not everything up and running yet. Children liked having an empty pool to ourselves first half of the week. Chance to practice Spanish on staff, other guests mainly well behaved Spanish families so there were no screaming parents or badly behaved children, no drunks. Great . Lovely large bed and bedroom, clean bathroom, air con and fan. Excellent food in the restaurant, all inclusive really means 3 meals and drinks - no in between snacks. El Toyo is small, not much to do apart from walk, but good for runners. Take a trip to Grenada and bus to Almeria.

Room Tip: balcony , first floor facing pool was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Toyo
0.1 mi away
Cabogata Garden Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Cabogata Mar Garden Hotel Club & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cabo de Gata
Hotel Cabo de Gata
#1 of 1 in Retamar
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ohtels Cabogata
Ohtels Cabogata
#2 of 4 in El Toyo
524 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel MC San Jose
Hotel MC San Jose
#1 of 5 in San Jose
806 reviews
6.8 mi away
Elba Almeria Hotel
Elba Almeria Hotel
#2 of 30 in Almeria
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Cabo de Gata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Cabo de Gata

Address: Calle Juegos de Casablanca s/n | Retamar, 04131 El Toyo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > El Toyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Toyo
Price Range: $63 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Cabo de Gata 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Cabo de Gata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cabo De Gata Hotel
Barcelo Hotel Almería
Cabo De Gata Barcelo
Barcelo Cabo De Gata Almeria/El Toyo, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing