We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcomed as we entered the office!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Hawea Holiday Park
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Wow, what a wonderful reception we received from such a lovely man in the office. Had all the info we needed and most welcoming. Shower facilities home away from home...fishing right there and there at lake.Kitchen had all that was needed. everything was immaculate...clean and tidy. Just lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed in our camper...highly recommend. But if ever came without camper would be sure to try and...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macleanclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Lake Hawea Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 100 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at the holiday park for three nights - the toilets and showers were disgustingly dirty with what appeared to be only one clean a day - we spoke with Management about it - their arrogant attitude was the final straw - I would not recommend.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeHaweaholidaypark, Owner at Lake Hawea Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are valuable to us. We know that the facilities are not brand new so it is really important for us to have "Great Customer Service and a clean and tidy park". The summer is extremely busy and we apologize if it seems we only do one clean a day. We have extra staff in the summer and we have cleaning systems in place. We do full cleans twice a day and we also do spot cleans. Our campers also often tell us if there has been an accident or a mess in the bathrooms so we can clean it up straight away. We have discussed your review with management and will reiterate to our staff. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is by far our favourite camping ground, the main two reasons being (A) the location and (B) the manager Mike!! The facilities are always clean and well maintained and as our friends all have small children, the playground is fantastic. Lots of lovely old trees and sheltered areas to pitch your tent and as it is such a large camping ground, you can always find somewhere new to stay each time you visit. The outdoor fireplace is great as well. Mike is such a lovely guy and always seems to go that extra mile to make your stay more enjoyable. We recommend this camping ground to all of our friends and they always agree that it is by far the best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby1979_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a simple, clean, extremely well-managed holiday park with particularly gorgeous and uncrowded sites for tents and vans that don't need power (and the power sites are fine and roomier than most). A great place for the night, or for a longer stay in the Wanaka/Lake Hawea area.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Alain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeHaweaholidaypark, Owner at Lake Hawea Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Hawea
23.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
791 reviews
22.6 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
23.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Lake Hawea Hotel
Lake Hawea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lake Hawea
248 reviews
24.3 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
23.7 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 45 in Wanaka
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hawea Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hawea Holiday Park

Address: 1208 Makarora-Hawea Road State Highway 6, Lake Hawea 9345, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lake Hawea
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lake Hawea
Price Range: $53 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Hawea Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Hawea Holiday Park is located at the gateway to Queenstown Lakes; situated on the lakefront of Lake Hawea. This gem of a campground is set amongst mature trees, on spacious and sheltered grounds, offering spectacular views of Lake Hawea and the surrounding mountains. Accommodation: The campground has 98 generously sized powered sites and 250 grassed tent sites; 10 standard cabins (sleep 6), 1 lakeside cabin (sleeps 2), 4 self-contained tourist flats (sleep 4-6) and a self-contained 3 bedroom holiday lodge (sleeps 7-9). Self-contained accommodation and the lakeside cabin includes linen, where as the standard cabins can be provided with linen for a small fee. Park amenities include: communal fully equipped kitchen with fridge/freezers, ovens, microwaves, kettles and toasters, a dining area, digital TV and internet, male and female toilet/shower blocks, dump station, laundry, linen hire, wireless broadband access, playground, barbecue, FREE DVD hire, camp store and booking office. The staff at the office are here to help you make your trip memorable. On-site van storage is available year round. Causal showers and the use of the dump station can be arranged for non-guests for a small fee. Dogs are welcome by arrangement, excluding summer holidays.There is a large outdoor fire place beside the lake, to socialise with other campers or toast marshmallows, whilst enjoying the views.A boat ramp is on the park boundary, for fishing and water sports enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Hawea Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing