We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lake hawea treat”
Review of Lake Hawea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Hawea Hotel
Reviewed July 8, 2013

visited here on a grabone voucher deal.. nice comfortable rooms, clean and tidy facility. Main building separate from accommodation block. Nice warm bar/restaurant, friendly and helpful staff.Worth a stay if you are looking for accommodation in the Wanaka area. Weather was wet when i stayed but the open wood fire in the Lounge area of the bar was warm and inviting. Food was excellent too.

Room Tip: Room One .. awesome Lake views upstairs and downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaumoanaSheepherder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 264 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

stayed here on our move back to whangarei via the west coast it was nice room with a beautiful few had a meal in the resturant it was cheap and yummy also had a spa and it was so good the staff was friendly and also set up a portocot for our son would recommend this place to any 1

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracyandjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We originally planned to stay in Wanaka, but we found this hotel/motel online and loved what we saw in the pictures! Only 10 minutes from the central hub of Wanaka, but so much more relaxed and very quiet. We were lucky to have a north-facing room that overlooked the lake and mountains, with nothing in between to spoil our view! The room was immaculately furnished with a comfortable bed, new fully-tiled bathroom and unique artwork on the walls. The service was friendly and accommodating and we felt like valued customers. Lake Hawea Hotel had all the plush feel of a hotel, including an on-site bar/restaurant but still had the convenience of motel parking outside your door and well-priced rooms. We would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone - we found it hard to leave ourselves!

Room Tip: Best rooms would be the ones with a view of the lake and surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We decided to stay at the Lake Hawea hotel as it was convenient for our direction of travel.....what a great decision! The hotel is over looking the lake, the room we were in was motel style, spacious and clean with 180 degree lake views, just glorious. The hotel itself has a great dining/relaxing area with an excellent menu and friendly very efficient service. This area appealed to us more than Wonika as it has a relaxed tranquil ambiance rather than a touristy feel.
Overall it was great value, one of the cheapest places we had stayed with the best view and amenities....most enjoyable, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location overlooking the lake in this quiet (at least when we were there) town. The room we had was over two floors and it had a small terrace out front overlooking the lake although the view through the large glass windows was just as good. As the wind picked off the lake up then the idea of a nice glass of something cool and fizzy on the terrace soon faded into a glass inside looking out! - but almost as good. The room seemed to have been recently and so was crisp and well maintained and décor modern and bright. The only down side was that the fridge was a little small and had you wanted to self cater for say breakfast it would have been a challenge. Good value on the room rate, admittedly out of peak season.

Room Tip: Aim for one of the two level rooms overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Lake Hawea hotel for 1 night. the room was incredible very spacious and had a balcony with views across the lake. We ate at the hotel restaurant and our meals were delicious all staff were great. We could not find a fault in this place at all. We would recommend it to anyone we loved it only wish we could of stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slab84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

What a fabulous place to get away from it all! My partner and I grabbed a great deal for this hotel from GrabOne. We stayed two nights over a weekend, had breakfast both mornings and dinner one night in the hotel's dining room. The food was excellent - my partner had the lamb while I tried the local salmon. After dinner both night we sat in front of the fire in the bar, just chilling out and tasting the local wines and beers. We really enjoyed the relaxed, friendly atmosphere, the great service, the well-appointed rooms and that spectacular view of the lake and mountains. The staff were very helpful, particularly George who suggested some great local wines and directed us to the wineries. We used the hotel as a base to explore Wanaka, Cromwell, Bannockburn and as far as Clyde. I would highly recommend Lake Hawea Hotel to anyone considering staying near Wanaka - its only 20mins drive from downtown Wanaka, but far enough away to enjoy real peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne_Sidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Hawea
9.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
834 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
368 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Hawea Holiday Park
Lake Hawea Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Lake Hawea
111 reviews
9.1 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hawea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hawea Hotel

Address: 1 Capell Avenue | Rd 2, Lake Hawea, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lake Hawea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lake Hawea
Price Range: $45 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hawea Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hawea Hotel is located in one of New Zealand's most popular holiday regions, with outstanding lake and mountain views. With only a short drive to Wanaka, Queenstown or the West Coast, it is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Join us at Lake Hawea Hotel for your family holiday, romantic getaway, function/school camp location or corporate retreat. We have three levels of accommodation, a restaurant and bars, an enviable lake location and activities galore! There is always something on the go at Hawea, with fishing competitions, top music line ups and various competitions and championships. Accommodation to suit all budgets and group sizes - hotel, budget backpacker lodge, Restaurant - a la carte, buffet and takeaway. Huge garden bar, enclosed outdoor area and pool tables. Perfect for events, conference facilities, weddings, & 21sts. Specializing in all inclusive group packages & ski accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Hawea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing