We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish but could use a little more substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Hawea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Hawea Hotel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish but could use a little more substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The rooms at the Lake Hawea Hotel are stylishly decorated and have stunning views of the lake from the spacious balconies. The beds are big and comfy and the bathroom nicely finished. Minor details around practicality let it down as our family room had just three coat hangers in the wardrobe, and the upstairs extra bedroom lacked any bed side tables, wardrobes or drawers. In fact it had just beds and nothing else.

The bathroom was a bit too dark and the water pressure was annoyingly low so showering took forever.

Wireless Internet was free but only really usable from the restaurant as the signal was just too low.

Generally staff were friendly and helpful apart from one girl who was really rude on our first night. Despite advertising food until 10pm we were told to "be quick about ordering" at 9.20pm and comments made behind our backs about what we thought this was! We chose to eat elsewhere.

Overall a nice enough place and the location and scenery make up for a few shortcomings.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naellcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynHay, Front Office Manager at Lake Hawea Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for your comments about the rooms - we will take these on board. The water pressure is not usually a problem but it can be low at times, this is due in part to our eco friendly shower heads. Our wi-fi is fast and free and always available in the restaurant/bar area.
I apologise for the rudeness of the one staff member, in the New Year period we employ a lot of extra casual staff, and as you can see in most other comments are staff are friendly and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    66
    27
    9
    10
See reviews for
62
105
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good quality accommodation with fantastic views of the lake. Rooms fitted out to a high standard which was a real positive. Had a not so great experience in the restaurant which could have been handled better at the time which created a negative feeling about what should have been a happy experience. Put a downer on the evening. Will put it down to inexperience of the serving staff / chef which was handled much better the next day (the item was taken off the bill).

Upside: views, furnishing of rooms and attentiveness of staff, location, gratis wireless in the bar area, positive attitude to fix minor faults

Downsides: upstairs mezzanines very hot in the summer (no fans available to lend when asked), flies in the room (lots of 'swatted fly / insect marks' on the ceiling next to the light from previous hotel guests), no Internet access in the rooms, outdoor restaurant seating limited (chairs chained down for some reason so difficult to configure table arrangements?), noise from road in front of some rooms / outdoor seating area (main road is between hotel and lake so there is the inevitable / unavoidable sound of cars pulling boats / caravans up the hill) and fumes from pallet truck moving bottles from hotel store to the front while people eating outside (not easy to avoid I imagine as pallets need to be moved at some point).

Overall I'd recommend this hotel. Might be we had a slightly unusual set of experiences the day we were there. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynHay, Front Office Manager at Lake Hawea Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I am sorry that your experience in the restaurant was unsatisfactory but as I explained to another guest we do employ a lot of casual staff over the very busy period and sometimes unexpected situations are not always handled correctly. I do remember checking you out and I am glad we were able to sort everything out for you to your satisfaction.
You made a lot of constructive comments - street noise & smells have never really been a problem at Lake Hawea! I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Was blown away by the location of this place, our balcony had the most amazing panoramic of the the lake. The room was furnished to a really high standard and spotlessly clean. Also loved the fact that when we mentioned we had had a load of early stArts they offered us a free late check out so we got to lounge in bed looking out over this stunning lake. Much as I would love to keep this place a secret feels like this place deserves to gather a load of praise. I will certainly be back. Gave the service 4 not 5 as there was a lot of confusing and delays over our evening meal, however staff were all super friendly and with the view from our table we weren't in much of a hurry!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hxhadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Saw this advertised in local paper so thought we would give a try as long since we had an English sryle Sunday lunch. Should have booked but the friendly staff fitted us in. 3 courses and coffee Excellent carvery meal with good choices. Restaurant was busy but courses cleared whilst choosing next course. Great views too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We chose the Lake Hawea hotel largely for its stop-over location (conveniently midway between Fiordland and the The Glacier country) and the scenery - which proved even more stunning than the publicity shots. The recent makeover of the rooms has been done with excellent attention to detail - very stylish without being overly minimalist. There is a strong underlying character and concept to this hotel which I applaud. I am guessing at it was previously more of a motel which seemed to be the reflected in the casual and less than attentive staff attitude. When we stayed there were comparatively few fellow travellers and the guests were predominantly construction workers. I would love to return to this hotel and see it in full swing with an atmosphere to complement the scenery and the rest of its offering - excellent food and overall value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pointer0038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had a wonderful holiday, staying at this great Hotel. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean and smart, the restaurant was fun, tasty and great value for money. The views are to die for! Great location, so close to Wanaka but without the hustle and bustle, would HIGHLY recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

rooms recently redone to high standard.
exceptional views.
great staff. the resturant was excellent. would not have expected such good food in a somewhat remote location. will be back.
No better food in wanaka eat here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Hawea
9.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
9.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
7.7 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hawea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hawea Hotel

Property: Lake Hawea Hotel
Address: 1 Capell Avenue | RD 2, Lake Hawea, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lake Hawea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lake Hawea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hawea Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hawea Hotel is located in one of New Zealand's most popular holiday regions, with outstanding lake and mountain views. With only a short drive to Wanaka, Queenstown or the West Coast, it is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Join us at Lake Hawea Hotel for your family holiday, romantic getaway, function/school camp location or corporate retreat. We have three levels of accommodation, a restaurant and bars, an enviable lake location and activities galore! There is always something on the go at Hawea, with fishing competitions, top music line ups and various competitions and championships. Accommodation to suit all budgets and group sizes - hotel, budget backpacker lodge, Restaurant - a la carte, buffet and takeaway. Huge garden bar, enclosed outdoor area and pool tables. Perfect for events, conference facilities, weddings, & 21sts. Specializing in all inclusive group packages & ski accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Hawea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing