We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
144
80
34
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
80
34
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewswanaka areafox glacierfamily roomshared kitchenpeace and quietbeds were comfortableminute drivebeer gardenview from the balconysouth islanddouble bedlaundry facilitieslakeaccommodationnzqueenstown
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 283 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were travelling from Haast to Queenstown and stop here for a cappuccino. The location was stunning. The owner served us our coffee and sweets had the best attitude. The place was operating with great management, fresh food, home-made sweets, and great atmosphere. We wished we had driven the extra 1.5 hours from Haast and stayed here the night earlier. All the cabin rooms have the view of the lake and mountains.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH_FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was the pleasant surprise of our holiday. Nestled on a stunning South Island lake with outstanding views from every room. Recently redecorated rooms with the most comfortable beds I have experienced.

A family friendly restaurant and excellent food. The welcome was warm, our hosts were friendly and personal and the service was outstanding - we loved this little oasis - we will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynHay, Front Office Manager at Lake Hawea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thanks for your comments - regarding the cell phone coverage if you are with Telecom you have fantastic coverage at the Hotel but Vodafone have patchy coverage here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I travelled to Lake Hawea hotel with my parents and stayed in a family suite. Upon arrival I was pleasantly suprised. The hotel is situated across the road from the beautiful Lake Hawea with a view of the mountains in the background. The suite had been recently rennovated and was clean and tidy. It had a super king sized bed downstairs, and a double and a single bed upstairs. The bathroom was also spacious.

The hotel has a very good restaurant where we ate dinner twice (both times the food was excellent). It is a little on the pricey side but definately worth it for the quality of the food. The serving sizes were also very generous.

The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We had a continental breakfast included as part of our package but had to leave very early one morning so would miss the breakfast serving time. We mentioned this to a waiter and he brought a breakfast tray to our room which had cereal, bread (and a toaster), yoghurt, fruit, condiments and orange juice.

If you are planning on spending most of your time in Wanaka, it is around a 15min drive. Slightly inconvenient but not too far out of the way.

I would definately stay here again.

Note - the cell phone service is terrible, you will have difficulty getting enough signal to make calls and send text messages.

Room Tip: The family suits have the best view of the lake and mountains
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We ended up at this hotel due to a rock slide that closed the Haas Pass. The hotel let our family of 4 hang out at the lodge in front of the fire for hours while we waited to see if the road would open. Anthony, one of the owners, took pity on our son, who needs exercise daily, and went home to get his mountain bike and helmet and let him use it for hours in the wind and the rain!! And Sean wants it known that this was a great bike, not an average bike. Thanks Anthony! Above and beyond!! When we finally acknowledged that the road would not open, we booked a room. The views were awesome! But so was the room. The colors and textures and quality of the furnishings was wonderful. The owners had used NZ wools and artists to decorate. The beds were comfortable and warm. We also enjoyed the 3 meals that we had. Best meal. . .possibly the lamb shanks, but all were very good. Was given the opportunity to try various NZ wines. Very tasty. In all, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We bought a Grabone deal for Lake Hawea Hotel, honestly we wouldn't have considered this location or property if it wasn't for the deal. We stayed 3 nights and loved the beautiful view and exploring Hawea and it's surrounds.
Pros - the view, nice room, comfy bed, good pillows, having the pub/restaurant onsite is very convenient especially when it's below freezing outside, and again the view from the room
Cons - shower not great & the bathroom was cold
Generally however we would go back, it's quaint yet modernised and honestly Lake Hawea is awesome, so much to do and see, fantastic part of the country to explore.

Room Tip: All of their rooms have spectacular lake views. Wonderful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews