We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service, food and views”
Review of Lake Hawea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Hawea Hotel
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We ended up at this hotel due to a rock slide that closed the Haas Pass. The hotel let our family of 4 hang out at the lodge in front of the fire for hours while we waited to see if the road would open. Anthony, one of the owners, took pity on our son, who needs exercise daily, and went home to get his mountain bike and helmet and let him use it for hours in the wind and the rain!! And Sean wants it known that this was a great bike, not an average bike. Thanks Anthony! Above and beyond!! When we finally acknowledged that the road would not open, we booked a room. The views were awesome! But so was the room. The colors and textures and quality of the furnishings was wonderful. The owners had used NZ wools and artists to decorate. The beds were comfortable and warm. We also enjoyed the 3 meals that we had. Best meal. . .possibly the lamb shanks, but all were very good. Was given the opportunity to try various NZ wines. Very tasty. In all, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Lake Hawea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 248 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We bought a Grabone deal for Lake Hawea Hotel, honestly we wouldn't have considered this location or property if it wasn't for the deal. We stayed 3 nights and loved the beautiful view and exploring Hawea and it's surrounds.
Pros - the view, nice room, comfy bed, good pillows, having the pub/restaurant onsite is very convenient especially when it's below freezing outside, and again the view from the room
Cons - shower not great & the bathroom was cold
Generally however we would go back, it's quaint yet modernised and honestly Lake Hawea is awesome, so much to do and see, fantastic part of the country to explore.

Room Tip: All of their rooms have spectacular lake views. Wonderful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lake Hawea Lodge is in a quiet location with spectacular views over the lake.
the renovated rooms are very nice and the hotel owner are friendly and try to help.
the food was very good, but the breakfast a bit weak.
Anyway, we had excellent 2 nights there and we would reccon these small nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marienkaefer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stunning views and excellent stop over spot, wish we had known about this hotel before as we would have stayed longer. Great family room and staff superb, nothing too much trouble. Quiet location spectacular views.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I'd add my backing to misslissa007's comments of Lake Hawea Lodge. All spot on.

Lake Hawea Lodge is in a quiet location with spectacular views over the lake. Some (but not all) rooms have balconies with great views of the lake but confirm this when booking - some rooms are off to one side with partial views. The hotel is at the south end of the lake, about a 15 minute drive from Wanaka. It could be a convenient break point on a West Coast journey through Haast.

There are very few shops/facilities in the area, so for nights out, Wanaka is the best bet.

The log fires and restaurant space are a great location for couples, families or larger groups.

My only gripe would be some of the food - our meals were 'inventive', very small and not overly tasty. But the wines and beers made up for that. You may prefer to head into Wanaka for a wider choice in the evenings.

Room Tip: Confirm if you want a full lake view at the time of booking.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiEd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynHay, Front Office Manager at Lake Hawea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thanks for your comments - In fact all of our Hotel rooms have balconies and full lake views. Sorry you didn't enjoy your meal - we usally have great reviews about our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Thank god for trip advisor, we stayed at this hotel 13th May because of the great reviews, and am so happy we did. Only a one night stopover, you could spend a week here. The views are out of this world, and the room had everything you need, modern and clean.. We had dinner at the restraunt and the food and wine was fantastic, as good as a 5 star restraunt.The dinning tables have paper table cloths and crayons on them so you can bring out your inner child whilst waiting for dinner. Great open fireplaces in the bar area Only 10 minutes to wanaka.Trust me, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Any room would have a view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misslissa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stopped at Lake Hawea because it was conveniently on our route from Mt. Cook to the west coast. I actually picked out out of the AA guide, and called the day before - the only studio rooms left available were the rooms which had not been updated (the motel is only partly renovated), so in fairness I was warned that they weren't the fanciest of rooms.

The good:
Fabulous views of the lake from the private deck of our room
Great location
Wonderful food at the restaurant on the property

The not-so-good:
The room we were in was badly in need of updating. The mattress was old and sagging, and the covers for the bed were so old they were yellow and torn in a few places. Mostly cosmetic problems, though I really would have preferred a better mattress.

A small fridge was available, but nothing for cooking (no microwave, toaster, etc.)

We found items left behind by the previous guests in the bathroom

The wireless (advertised as free and available in the room) did not reach our room, and we had to go over to the lounge to use it. It's a lovely lounge, so not such a big deal.

None of these things was really that bad, and it would have been fine had the room been cheap. But at NZ$120, it was among the pricier places we stayed, and by far the worst in terms of condition and amenities in the room. We were offered a refurbished one bedroom unit, but at NZ$160, which seemed way too expensive.

Overall, it was OK, but not great.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if it matters to you - the ones that have not been updated aren't so gre...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynHay, Front Office Manager at Lake Hawea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thanks Elizabeth for your comments - It seems like you were fully aware the room you chose was not renovated and could have upgraded to a lovely new room but chose not to. Although the mattress in this room is older we have now fully replaced all other linen in the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Hawea
9.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
791 reviews
7.7 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
9.3 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
18.0 mi away
Lake Hawea Holiday Park
Lake Hawea Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Lake Hawea
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hawea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hawea Hotel

Address: 1 Capell Avenue | RD 2, Lake Hawea, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lake Hawea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lake Hawea
Price Range: $42 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hawea Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hawea Hotel is located in one of New Zealand's most popular holiday regions, with outstanding lake and mountain views. With only a short drive to Wanaka, Queenstown or the West Coast, it is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Join us at Lake Hawea Hotel for your family holiday, romantic getaway, function/school camp location or corporate retreat. We have three levels of accommodation, a restaurant and bars, an enviable lake location and activities galore! There is always something on the go at Hawea, with fishing competitions, top music line ups and various competitions and championships. Accommodation to suit all budgets and group sizes - hotel, budget backpacker lodge, Restaurant - a la carte, buffet and takeaway. Huge garden bar, enclosed outdoor area and pool tables. Perfect for events, conference facilities, weddings, & 21sts. Specializing in all inclusive group packages & ski accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Hawea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing