We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
144
80
34
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
80
34
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewswanaka areafox glacierfamily roomshared kitchenpeace and quietbeds were comfortableminute drivebeer gardenview from the balconysouth islanddouble bedlaundry facilitieslakeaccommodationnzqueenstown
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 283 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stunning views and excellent stop over spot, wish we had known about this hotel before as we would have stayed longer. Great family room and staff superb, nothing too much trouble. Quiet location spectacular views.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I'd add my backing to misslissa007's comments of Lake Hawea Lodge. All spot on.

Lake Hawea Lodge is in a quiet location with spectacular views over the lake. Some (but not all) rooms have balconies with great views of the lake but confirm this when booking - some rooms are off to one side with partial views. The hotel is at the south end of the lake, about a 15 minute drive from Wanaka. It could be a convenient break point on a West Coast journey through Haast.

There are very few shops/facilities in the area, so for nights out, Wanaka is the best bet.

The log fires and restaurant space are a great location for couples, families or larger groups.

My only gripe would be some of the food - our meals were 'inventive', very small and not overly tasty. But the wines and beers made up for that. You may prefer to head into Wanaka for a wider choice in the evenings.

Room Tip: Confirm if you want a full lake view at the time of booking.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiEd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynHay, Front Office Manager at Lake Hawea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thanks for your comments - In fact all of our Hotel rooms have balconies and full lake views. Sorry you didn't enjoy your meal - we usally have great reviews about our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Thank god for trip advisor, we stayed at this hotel 13th May because of the great reviews, and am so happy we did. Only a one night stopover, you could spend a week here. The views are out of this world, and the room had everything you need, modern and clean.. We had dinner at the restraunt and the food and wine was fantastic, as good as a 5 star restraunt.The dinning tables have paper table cloths and crayons on them so you can bring out your inner child whilst waiting for dinner. Great open fireplaces in the bar area Only 10 minutes to wanaka.Trust me, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Any room would have a view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misslissa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stopped at Lake Hawea because it was conveniently on our route from Mt. Cook to the west coast. I actually picked out out of the AA guide, and called the day before - the only studio rooms left available were the rooms which had not been updated (the motel is only partly renovated), so in fairness I was warned that they weren't the fanciest of rooms.

The good:
Fabulous views of the lake from the private deck of our room
Great location
Wonderful food at the restaurant on the property

The not-so-good:
The room we were in was badly in need of updating. The mattress was old and sagging, and the covers for the bed were so old they were yellow and torn in a few places. Mostly cosmetic problems, though I really would have preferred a better mattress.

A small fridge was available, but nothing for cooking (no microwave, toaster, etc.)

We found items left behind by the previous guests in the bathroom

The wireless (advertised as free and available in the room) did not reach our room, and we had to go over to the lounge to use it. It's a lovely lounge, so not such a big deal.

None of these things was really that bad, and it would have been fine had the room been cheap. But at NZ$120, it was among the pricier places we stayed, and by far the worst in terms of condition and amenities in the room. We were offered a refurbished one bedroom unit, but at NZ$160, which seemed way too expensive.

Overall, it was OK, but not great.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if it matters to you - the ones that have not been updated aren't so great.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynHay, Front Office Manager at Lake Hawea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thanks Elizabeth for your comments - It seems like you were fully aware the room you chose was not renovated and could have upgraded to a lovely new room but chose not to. Although the mattress in this room is older we have now fully replaced all other linen in the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

What I like about this hotel:
(1) The hotel room has a balcony which lets you sit outside and bask in the sun, while you enjoy the fantastic lake view and the chirpping of the birds. You can also try to view the stars at night (if it is not cloudy).
(2) You can see Lake Hawea from the comfort of your hotel room.
(3) You can park your car in front of your hotel room. No fuss about carrying your luggage up and down the different levels.
(4) The hotel restaurant "The Grill Room" is cosy. It has its own fire place and offer equally good views of the lake.
(5) It offers complimentary wifi in the room.
(6) The service staff are friendly and helpful. :)
(7) It is about 10 min drive from Wanaka. So if you want somewhere convenient and away from the more "tourist" accommodation, Lake Hawea Hotel is a good option.
(8) The rooms were renovated in 2011 therefore the facilities are still pretty new.
(9) The bed was comfortable and the sheets are clean.

What I don't like about the hotel:
I am able to hear the footsteps of my next door neighbours. Not that it is much of a disturbance to me. But other than that, this is a really nice place to stay in! :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msiainsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews