We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gaucho - Richmond

Gaucho - Richmond
Price range: $51 - $90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Richmond
Description: Gaucho source the finest grass-fed beef in the world from Argentina, along with an offering of many other Argentine specialities which range from Latin American style ceviche to chorizo, Gulf de San Jorge lobster, Patagonian lamb and Argentine gambas to traditional empanadas and fine wine. We also offer the largest wine selection in the world outside of Argentina in our restaurants and guests can buy many of the wines from our wine boutique, Cavas de Gaucho on Swallow Street. With seasonally changing menus served across all of our restaurants, we also offer The Gaucho Lunch menu, either two or three courses, between Monday and Friday.
2 reviews
“Never again!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My partner and I eat our regularly and were really looking forward to spending New Year's Day having a fantastic steak at Gouchos....sadly we were wrong, we ordered medium rare and were told if it was 'too rare' we could cook for longer.... When our borderline mooing meat arrived we asked for it to be cooked slightly longer... The manager arrived back with our Chateaubriand cooked to perfection unfortunately he thought that he should deliver a lecture on how English meat is dry and how I should eat my steak....his condosending manner and snooty attitude ruined our meal, we paid and left never to return... The waitress was friendly yet poor with attention, apologetic yet tardy with service.... With a bill of £90 for a main with two drinks I think that your money is better spent elsewhere, very disappointing ...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sumerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    263
    139
    119
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grenada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A triumph of style over substance”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The location is nice in summer, a bit windswept in winter, not helped by the difficulties with parking in Richmond.

The place itself is darkly lit, with house music set to stun, when quiet it is ok, but when busy it is a bit hectic in feel. The staff are friendly but clearly pressured at times.

This place is about steak, and it is good, but i dont feel being told how i like it cooked was a good move from our waiter. The drinkes are good.

So whats not good?

Apart from the unfortunate waiter, 3 tiny portions of mediocre quality dessert, called the sampler, for 15 quid? 1 and a half courses, 1 cocktqil md no wine for 4 people for £130.

So the food can be good in places, but the offering is all very much over priced, and in comparison with other local eateries, is just OTT. So for the price, average.

Possibly a place to pose, possibly a place to use when on expenses with clients, but not for or with much enjoyment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gda_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Malden Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Christmas meal with a mate”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We got there about 7 pm. First impressions is that the place is far too dark. I was thinking of using the torch on my phone to read the menu. We were waited on by a great waitress called I think Danella from Romania. She showed us the cuts of meat and we made our choices. The steaks were the best we ever had. On a negative point we had a £25.00 bottle of wine which was very thin and disappointing. Also to charge £2.95 for a small dish of Bernaise sauce is very mean.

I would however not hesitate to go back for the steak alone. Just watch out for the other items on the menu which I feel do not represent value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryNewMaldenSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exquisite Argentinian Steaks”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This riverside restaurant offers a full selection of delicious Argentinian steaks in a lively yet luxurious environment. My favourite aspect of the service was the presentation of a board with examples of all the different cuts of beef that are available with advice from the waiter(ress) about which one to choose. A wide selection of fine wines is also available. Prices are what you would expect for first class quality of food and service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great venue”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I recently visited with a group of 14 friends for a birthday. Perfect venue, great food and very good service

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho - Richmond also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Gaucho - Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing