We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Functional but friendly pub hotel with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose of York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose of York
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Functional but friendly pub hotel with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for two nights, part business and part pleasure. The pub is ideally located by the Thames and in walking distance of Richmond. Food was basic but good. Sam Smiths beers were a little pricey but in excellent condition. Yum! Room (4 poster) was clean and comfortable. The bath taps were too stiff to work but a man with WD40 worked wonders!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrighousePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    45
    29
    24
    14
See reviews for
54
53
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff were friendly but were let down by the state of the room. Beard trimmings on the sink, red/brown splashes and hairs by the sink and an even larger amount of hair trimmings dried into the shower tray (which I elected not to use). The toilet was disgusting with dried matter that was splashed on the underside of the toilet seat and down the front of the toilet. This was accompanied by the smell of drains when you used the sink. The taps were dirty and lime scaled as was the kettle.
I was also kept awake all night by musical plumbing and, like some other guests, the heat.
This was topped of by a phone call in the morning reminding not to be late for breakfast as they stop serving at 9.30 sharp! I think i can manage to get myself up thank you . I will be finding another £30 and staying at the Richmond Hill or some other such place that actually runs like a hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Twickenham, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a fabulous Sunday roast here! The food is excellent and the gravy would put any Southern belle to shame! The vegetables are fresh and cooked to perfection with no extra butter to muck up the flavor. On top of the superb food, the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful! It's a great place for families, couples, or singles. Best value for money in Richmond.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaFromAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I thought this was a good small hotel. There were plenty of rooms and it was surprisingly quiet. What made it was the owner, I think Peter Baxter & his wife. They were really good and helpful about local shops. They weren't too obtrusive but were making sure everything was OK. The Sunday roast was good.

I couldn't get a drink at the bar on one night but it didn't matter. it was sort of funny wine.

The wifi was a bit leary but I dont expect that to be great in a hotel.

Room Tip: On the first floor probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend with my husband and child. After having looked everywhere for a child friendly place I was happy to find The Rose of York. The staff here are very nice and catered to all our needs. The food is lovely especially the Sunday Roast. Prices are very reasonable too considering the area you are in. Rooms are clean and they provide parking which in this part of town seems to be very rare. Its only a short walk into Richmond which has loads of shops, theatres and the station that brings you into Central London.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mad7791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just 7 minutes walk to the park. Plenty of parking. I stayed Saturday night and on arrival there was only 1 other car in the carpark. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable breakfast is ample and served until 9.30 (on Sunday). The bar was quiet on Saturday evening. Good evening meal menu, reasonable prices, helpful and friendly staff. It's a 25 - 30 minute walk to the underground for visits to central London. A good deal at £85 for a double room including breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropicsexporer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

i stayed in this fanstastic pub hotel for a few days and it could not have been any more plesent. As soon as we got there we were warmly welcomed by fatastic bar staff that showed us to our amazing 4 poster bed room with a fanstasic view of the river. it was perfectly cleaned every day, the breakfasts were delightful and alsways served with a smile (even at 8am on a saturday mroning). We ate in the pub most evenings, the food was also top class and was a warm welcoming 'local' feel to the place with everyone being very frenidly and welcoming to someone that wasent from area.

i will be returning for annother fantastic trip.

Room Tip: the 4 poster room is deffo worth the small extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#2 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.5 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose of York

Property: The Rose of York
Address: The Rose of York Petersham Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rose of York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose Of York Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing