We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Buvette

La Buvette
Reserve with OpenTable
La Buvette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $75
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Intimate, friendly and informal bistro serving regional French cuisine.
London
Level Contributor
147 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

David and I went there last evening at 7.45 and by 8pm it was really buzzing, well a bit noisy actually. I had a Kir Royal to begin and D had a carafe of nice St Verran @ £22.50.Good it was. We both had the same starters and mains, the excellent as always fish soup and a nice piece of filletted Brill(my 1st time). Expensive but good @ £22. Coffee and desserts were quite good. I had the caramel and walnut tart. I suggested to the waitress that Pecan would have been much tastier. Always worth a visit. Had not been there for a few weeks. Total bill was £120 incl service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    94
    38
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant for my boyfriends birthday and had to say couldn't fault a thing. The food was fantastic, delicious ox tongue and fantastic spicy lamb. There was a mix up with pudding and the manager happily bought over the correct one even after we'd eaten all of the first! Our waitress was just finishing a 12 hour shift but couldn't have been sweeter despite obviously being knackered! We visited last year and I have to say the food left a little to be desired but they've clearly done a lot of work to improve. Definitely returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went here with my wife and friends to celebrate her birthday, and had a wonderful evening.

The staff were very friendly, the menu had a good choice and was reasonable value, and the food was delicious. The onglet was one of the tastiest that I've had, and the puddings were amazing.

The restaurant is tucked away down a pedestrian alleyway, so you wouldn't normally stumble across it, but I would certainly recommend La Buvette for anyone that is looking to eat out in Richmond.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rex_Beardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, berkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

6 of us went yesterday evening to this delightful little restaurant in centre of Richmond. The menu was small which I prefer as this means freshly cooked food. Our fish was delicious, the vegetables were perfect and the desserts were wonderful. Not only did we receive a Kir for registering online, but we were given a small pack of sweet biscuits when we left. The service was attentive and efficient and they made sure that we had our meal promptly as we were going to the theatre afterwards. We'll all definitely be back!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dinersoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Strange answer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A visit for dinner on 7th April 2013. On seating I enquired about the offer of a free glass of kir producing my gold AA membership card from where I had heard of the offer the waitress took my card and disappeared for a short while on return she said we have checked and we have no dealings with the AA. ok no problem it's only kir I just thought I would sample something for free for a change.The waiter did eventually bring us two glasses of kir I honestly can't see the benefit of this offer as the drink was truly awful. However the meals , starter ,main and deserts were of a fairly high order whilst eating my starter my gaze fell on the AA sticker in the window ,,strange that as they have nothing to do with the AA. Downsides ,,are our seating area resembled a living room with tables shoehorned into it The bill was around £95 so you think £100 would cover the bill and tips,,check the bill

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aileen644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buvette also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to La Buvette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing