We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four star? Really?”
Review of Richmond Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Four star? Really?”
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Pleasant staff. Good location. Nice breakfast. Immaculate rooms.Comfortable and convenient.
But
Some of the rooms are very cramped. In ours it was impossible to sit at the desk because there was too little space between it and the bed
Towels were thin and cheap and small.
There are not enough breakfast tables so some guests had to queue for their breakfast.
The faxi firm recommended by the hotel charged our party three different rates for the same journey. (We refused to pay the £4 difference on the most expensive.
I suppose I think that if a Hotel is meant to be a Four star and charges such high rates I expect more of a treat than this.

  • Liked — Immaculate
  • Disliked — Penny pinching cheap inadequate towels. (It sounds petty but it really rankled,)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GranfalloonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    94
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
71
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2008

I work for a well known Software development company in Texas and was sent for business to London a few weeks ago. The Richmond Inn Hotel came highly recommended from my colleagues who had traveled to London before so I decided i would try it.


Having just returned, i do not regret my decision whatsoever. The staff treated me kindly. The single room i stayed in was clean, comfortable, and warm. The hotel offers free wireless and this was a great asset to me during my trip.

Another really convenient thing about the hotel is the professional meeting room. After finding out the hotel had a meeting room, I was actually able to invite a few of the business men i was working with in London and conduct some of my business there.

If you are on business and looking for a clean, comfortable room and don't want the hustle of the city center , the Richmond Inn Hotel is a place a highly recommend.

  • Liked — free wireless Internet, Conference room, cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WorldNavigatorDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2007

We spent Friday 30th November and Sat 1st December at this hotel. It was a gift from our children for our anniversary. They arranged for us to have the President's Suite which was lovely. It had a small sitting room with a TV; two lovely bathrooms; and a reasonable sized bedroom with yet another TV. Everything was spotless and nicely decorated. Not minimalist but very comfortable. Included in the package was a boquet of flowers, a bottle of champagne and the most enormous platter of fruit. Breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice and nicely cooked. The second part of the gift was a meal at the Wharf Restaurant at Teddington Lock. This was beautiful. Down-side - £29 for taxis there and back. If you are staying around this area it is certainly worth booking a meal. The third part of the gift was tickets to see the Barbarians beat the South Africans at Twickenham! This hotel is ideal for matches at Twickenham as just around the corner, a short walk away, is the station which is on the main street. On match days a shuttle bus service runs from Richmond to Twickenham from about 10.30 am. It is 50p with free return. The only thing I can't comment on is the price of the 'ordinary' rooms. We paid £110 to extend our stay on the Saturday night but don't know how much the price is normally. There is a small car park behind the hotel which we were lucky enough to find a space in, but it does get full quickly. We thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — We felt really pampered. Small hotel but very nice.
  • Disliked — Not the fault of the hotel but the constant noise of jets going over to land at Heathrow.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Very nice friendly family hotel - owner is a lovely lady. Breakfast is nice. Rooms clean - Price is great for London

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank kieranM121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2007

.I was visiting kew gardens and so decided to stay here for a few days, as it is fairly close. The staff were extremely friendly, courteous and polite. The hotel was very clean, my room and bathroom were a high standard. The wireless internet worked great and was free. Breakfast was brilliant and included bacon, eggs, mushrooms, sausage, tomatoes and beans. You cannot beat the location of this place as it is just 3 mins walk from the tube station and 2 mins away from the town centre so getting something to eat is simple and quick. Overall, this hotel was excellent, definitely recommend and will stay here again, any time i am in London.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bhavesh_claat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2007

I stayed here while visiting a friend. The hotel was Very clean and I met the owners who were extremely friendly. They were just chatting to us and gave us free champagne. I was delighted to say the least.

The room was nice and I had wireless internet access (for FREE) and the staff were courteous and polite.

They dont server dinner because of the location being so close to the town that everyone just goes to the local restaurants of which there are plenty in Richmond.

Breakfast was certainly adequate and the full breakfast had beans, mushrooms, eggs, sausage and bacon and tomato.

The air conditioning in the room worked well and I had absolutely no problems. They are very willing to help if you need something extra just ask.

The price for the area is competitive and you can't buy the friendliness of the people there. I will certainly return.

  • Liked — The kind and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dave200498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2006

Hotel is decent, clean, but a 4 star rating is questionable. Breakfast quality is good, but starts late (7:30am), so for a work day starting at 8:00am it's tight. A 4 star rating in the US usually includes an exercise room, and a regular restaurant with room service. Overall, it was ok. Better than some places I've stayed in London. Reasonably good value.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — airline flightpath
  • Tips/Secrets — earplugs
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank route66blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond-upon-Thames
0.7 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,483 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#7 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#13 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge London Richmond Central
0.5 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#5 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Inn Hotel

Property: Richmond Inn Hotel
Address: 50-56 Sheen Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 1UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing