We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing 4 star”
Review of Richmond Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, County Down
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing 4 star”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was our first visit to the Richmond Inn and I would have to say that neither my husband nor I would consider it a 4 star hotel. In its defence, it was spotlessly clean and in a very good location, convenient to both the town centre and the station. The room, although very noisy (ask for one at the back of the building as the traffic roars past all night!) was adequate. On our first morning we found that the shower was broken and unusable. We reported this only to be told that it had not been broken the day before! (Not really the response we expected!!) Perhaps the previous occupant of the room had failed to report it for the simple reason that he/she had possibly done the damage! It was, however, promptly fixed with a new shower head. The bar did not appear to be open at 9.30 at night, again not usual in a 4 star establishment. Breakfast was rather disappointing with very little choice, particularly as far as prepared fruit was concerned, in fact there wasn't any! I would have to say that for £155 per night, it was not quite what we had expected. It was much more like an expensive bed and breakfast than a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of the hotel away from Sheen Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    94
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
71
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Very well situated for Richmond and surrounding areas. Richmond Hill is lovely with fabulous views. Hotel itself is good but staff not so. TV wouldn't work on Sunday morning and phoned Reception. No answer so dressed and went down. Guy tries to fix but couldn't and said Housekeeping started in 10 minutes and he would refer this to them, inferring that I would hear some time after 7:30am. No-one came back to me. On checking out I wasn't asks if everything was OK — something which I thought was universally asked in all hotels. If the TV hadn't malfunctioned, my impression of the Hotel would have been higher. As it is, i would be happy to return. Good value, good location, good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Located in a strategic spot within an easy five-minute walk of the Richmond train station and bus terminal, the Richmond Inn is an excellent base for seeing Kew Gardens (a 1.5-mile walk) and Hampton Court (via bus) while staying within Tube-reach of London¹s main sites. The staff is efficient, friendly, and unobtrusive. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and perfectly appointed for a couple night's stay. The cooked breakfast was robust, but you can also have lighter fare if you choose. And it was QUIET.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8piecebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the night and were most impressed with the location and the staff. The room was basic, but clean, with a large-sized bathroom. We were able to park for free on site. The free wifi worked well. Breakfast was good and service very prompt. We were pleasantly surprised to be able to check in when we arrived at 11am, given the official check-in time is later than this.

All in all, a great little hotel and well located for trips to Twickenham and Hampton Court. You also have the fabulous Richmond town centre on your doorstep with its restaurants and shopping. Furthermore, the station is a 5 minute walk from this hotel which takes you to Central London in just over 20 minutes.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac_SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

we stayed for four nights a mixture of nostalgia and a christening. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms splendid. Staffmostly eastern european couldn't have been more helpfull.
Only minus was no lounge area, though considering the price not a problem.

We would stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddys78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I travel a lot so I have quit some experience with 4 star hotels. The Richmond Hill hotel has some very positive points: friendly personnel at the reception, a restaurant with good food but the rooms are not OK, location, parking, but the rooms are not OK.
The room they gave me first looked very old and was very small. The second room was big but was also very outdated with mold and the bathroom wall. The 3rd room (!) they gave me was up to date but the latches of the 3 windows were all broken.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

While this might not be the most luxurious hotel we've ever stayed in and although the prices are Richmond-high, it was as described if not better. The room we were given had a lovely additional conservatory-style seating area (ask for room 203) and was much larger than many. The decoration was rather kitsch but who cares when the bed is that wide and that comfortable!?! Breakfast was OK even though the foreign waitresses didn't understand what we asked for. All in all, an average 4-star hotel with an truly excellent position if you want to use the train/underground or visit the town, park and river.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prisbishop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond-upon-Thames
0.7 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,492 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#7 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge London Richmond Central
0.4 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#13 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#5 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Inn Hotel

Property: Richmond Inn Hotel
Address: 50-56 Sheen Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 1UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing