We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit special”

Richmond Hill Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are a local bakery and bake our own bread, cakes of all sorts, savouries, sandwiches and salads to eat in or take away. All made from scratch in our kitchens downstairs. We are very proud of our produce and our excellent coffee which is roasted for us once a week from the fabulous Allpress Roastery in Shoreditch East London. Pop in and try a delicious flat white with a cake. We also stock a small range of unusual gift items, cards and toys.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Only discovered this coffee shop a couple of years ago but it is now my favourite in the area. I live most of the year outside the U.K. these days but come back every Summer and will always make a point of returning to the Hill Bakery. Very good coffee, amazing cakes and the scones are about the best you can find. Great atmosphere not trying to be too trendy which is always such a turn off. I will be back this June!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Richmond Hill Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your custom. I used to travel a lot in my previous job and always enjoyed the travelling but equally enjoyed the coming home. It's good to hear that we have been and will be a regular place for you to come to when you are in Richmond. Thank you for the kind words in your review. I would be interested in your comments if anything has changed that shouldn't have, or indeed things that we should consider changing. We won't touch the scones, I promise !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 134 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great bakery, lovely place fro breakfast, rather odd arrangement paying for coffee at front and picking it up at back. Everyone was very polite and it is popular with locals with whom the staff were very friendly but as a visitor I had a somewhat tepid experience. I did eat there twice though as the ambiance is comfortable

Thank JuliaRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Richmond Hill Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your review and kind words. You are right it is a quirk at our bakery to pay for coffee and then collect at the rear of the shop where the coffee is made. We thought it would make things quicker for everyone to have this system since we are a small establishment and space at the back of the shop can sometimes be packed. However, now you've reminded us of this and we, like our local customers have adapted ourselves, to this arrangement, maybe we should look at this and see if we can improve it in some way. Thank you for reminding me to remember it's an odd practice ! Thank you also for letting me know that you had a tepid welcome. I'm just back from a trip to New York and had mentioned to our manager how staff at the hotel we were staying in were so welcoming and pleasant all the time. My son and I really noticed and appreciated it. Time to try and encourage our staff to look up, wear a smile and be more welcoming. I wonder sometimes that since we employ a lot of young people who's native language is not English that sometimes they may lack confidence in their own ability to communicate. I did when I lived in France for some time until I felt more relaxed with my linguistic skills - however I do think they could wear a smile more often. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We live in the area, and come here most weekends with friends and family for brunch or a coffee and cake. The atmosphere is great, staff is friendly and the home made treats are amazing - especially the almond croissant. If you are in the park, or taking in the view from the hill - stop by and you will keep coming back.

1  Thank Olisandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Richmond Hill Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you very much for the very kind review you have given us on TripAdvisor. It's nice to hear about our produce and our staff perform. As you are no doubt aware we're an independent shop and we very much appreciate the support we receive. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I enjoy meeting friends here as the coffee is great and there is a nice selection of fresh cakes and snacks. The place is not too big and not too small with a friendly yet casual service. The decor is very different and much more interesting than a typical high street chain. I have also bought rye bread here a few times and found it to be high quality. This bakery is a little gem on the Hill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MonikafromSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at Richmond Hill Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Being a frequent user of TripAdvisor, I'm thrilled we've managed to get a review on the site. Not only did we get our first review, it was a very complimentary review too ! Thank you Monika. I hope you and your friends continue to enjoy our bakery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richmond Hill Bakery also viewed

Teddington, Richmond-upon-Thames
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Richmond Hill Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing