We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canoeing on the Thames”

Back of Beyond Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Truly wonderful canoe, kayak and paddle board adventures in Richmond upon Thames, London… Whether you are after a gentle introduction to kayaking or an active office Summer party or some inspiring SUP Yoga with some pretty great people, you have come to the right place. Back of Beyond Adventures operates most of it’s activities on Old Father Thames from Petersham Meadows, near Richmond. The area offers paddlers an opportunity to explore a part of the Thames that is rich with history and wildlife. All age groups and level of skill and ability are welcome and whatever you are looking for when you are here – a personal challenge, active team meetings or just plain old adventurous fun, you’ll have a great time.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Canoeing on the Thames”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Sunny day, blue sky and cheery group leader........a lovely way to spend a few hours, with ice cream and pub stop. If you have canoed before, remember you will be going at the pace of the least experienced. Using a 'wowcher' made this better value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CHL1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piers75, Owner at Back of Beyond Adventures, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Really glad you enjoyed this trip! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the canoeing trip”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Thanks to Piers - good leader, clear instructions and we enjoyed the local history lesson too.
Just the right amount of time on a beautiful part of the river

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrancesAndLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piers75, Owner at Back of Beyond Adventures, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much. I really appreciate the feedback!
I hope to see you again soon! Maybe for some kayaking or SUP'ing?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Something different and fun for everyone seeing a different side of London!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We live in London and don't often find something so unique and fun. Piers is a great guide giving tit bits of useful and quirky info and bringing the group together in a relaxed way with fun exercises. I highly recommend this for tourists and locals alike. We did the eel pie island one. Now I want to try the day trip!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank natasha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great day out in a beautiful location”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The canoe trip was a fantastic adventure. At first, the instructor Piers gave us some "dry" training with the oars in a nearby meadow, which was a funny exercise on its own, and then we were off to the Thames. The whole trip takes about 2 hours with a stop in a pub for a quick refreshment. While relaxing in our kayaks Piers was talking us through places we were passing and we learnt quite a few interesting facts. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who likes good company and good time ;)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malgorzata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piers75, Owner at Back of Beyond Adventures, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. I'm glad the 3 of you enjoyed your trip, we certainly had the weather for it! Maybe we'll see you on the Picnic & Bubbly trip in August?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Canoe trip aound eel pie island”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a hugely enjoyable adventure. Piers gave some basic tuition on land and then more whilst on the water. It was safe but definitely an adventure, with the opportunity of a drink at a lovely pub on the waterside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank parishnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piers75, Owner at Back of Beyond Adventures, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review! We would love to see you again on future trips...perhaps our Picnic and Bubbly trip?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back of Beyond Adventures also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Back of Beyond Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing