We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better beer lists in Richmond”

Richmond Vault Beer Cellar Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the better beer lists in Richmond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you want to branch out beyond the usual beers found in pubs around London (Youngs, Fullers), then this is a great place to go. They have a large selection of beers (many of which are on tap) from the UK, Germany, and Belgium, with a few others mixed in. This restaurant is a little tight inside and tends to be loud when it's busy. The barbecue and the sausages and mash are pretty good, but not great. I'd definitely go for the beer, but the food isn't necessarily anything special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica8095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    115
    28
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay in Richmond”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Theoretically could be good, but a combination of clientele on a Friday night and bad food service made the evening pretty average. Nice selection of beers, I'd say slightly overpriced. Mussels were good but the bread was like the demi baked stuff you get in supermarkets. Ribs were good. Might go back on an afternoon if I were in Richmond.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A beer for every dish.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

One of the aspects of the Pig's Ear that we like is that they will suggest a beer to compliment your choice of food. They have a marvellous selection of beers although some are eye-wateringly expensive. You can just ignore a drink that is getting on for £20 a pint though and have one of the many reasonable ales, bitters, lagers, stouts and ciders on offer.
Each time we have been to eat there, we have been brought a bottle of tap water and glasses automatically, which re-assures me that they intend for sensible drinking. We shared a starter and were very happy with the curried falafel that was suggested by our waitress. Our main courses were also delicious and of good proportion.
Nothing on the pudding menu appealed but it is primarily a beer cellar and we were en route to the cinema so had ice cream there.
We have been there for just a drink (our first date, in fact!) and they have cosy sofas at the front and a pleasant drinking area for those who do not wish to eat.
I had reserved a table, thinking Friday evening would be busy. It wasn't but we were eating at 5 o' clock because of the time of the film we were seeing and the weather was vile outside. Being able to reserve by email was very convenient and they emailed back to confirm.
We have been there for Saturday lunches with my sister in law and her two children who love the food there are accommodated for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bar ok but would not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Pigs ear for some drinks and dinner on a busy Saturday night. The bar itself had lots of atmosphere and a fantastic range https://twitter.com/BBCOne/status/427872193406832641/photo/1of beers. Sadly the service at the bar was grumpy at best, even when they had made a mistake with our order, causing us to correct them.

The food was ok but burgers were delivered well done having not asked us how we'd like them. Side orders we're put with the wrong mains which we then we're told to sort out ourselves. Crowning moment however was a bill mix up ( yet to be resolved) where we were overcharged by 15 quid! All this and they have the cheek to send you a feedback email the day after your booking. Won't be going back and would not recommend anyone else does except for a drink in the bar.

Helpful?
1 Thank zchard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So much promise.. Poor staff let it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Visit - Sunday 26th Jan.

Found this place on TripAdvisor - I was so excited about the beer offering. Table of 5 sitting on the lower level.

How do you survive with service so bad? Our waitress was slow, disinterested, and didn't seem to know what a beer was.

Scratchings - Nice, Triple Pork Burger - Maybe a bit too greasy

Best bit though (I mean worst). Ordered a half of mulled warm cider. After waiting 15 minutes I go and find her upstairs as by this point we've had our starters. She then goes on to tell me the cider is off, and that I've got a cold flat cider instead - For the sake of actually wanting a drink I agreed to it.

Drinks were constantly 10+ minutes - But the bill arrived in less than minute - Shocker! And it wasn't busy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeAndDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richmond Vault Beer Cellar Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Richmond Vault Beer Cellar Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing