We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a short stay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shandon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shandon House Hotel
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at Shandon House for 2 nights and the biggest impression on me was left by a Lady on the reception! She was so helpful and organized for me everything that I needed in short period of time so I was really impressed!
Hotel on the other hand is in a big need of deep cleaning and regular maintenance. Beds were comfy and clean but carpet, walls etc just must be cleaned regularly. Our room was almost in the basement so the view was not there and it was a bit loud from outside. We had cattle, tea, milk and coffee in the room and free wi -fii.
Bathroom was clean but curtain holder was completely rusty and that was not pleasant. I have missed breakfast for both days so I don't have a comment on that.
In Richmond you will find load of shops, pubs and restaurants and it takes around 30 min to get to the center of London by taxi and it will cost you 25pounds.
As I sad this place is not the baddest choice for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
15
24
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in a double room. The lady at reception was so friendly and I couldn't believe it when she carried my case to my room! It was a good size with very comfortable bed. The tea and coffee was much appreciated. No hair drier or iron but readily available at reception. There was a fan in the room which came in handy as the warm weather meant the room was stuffy. I couldn't open the windows too wide due to the traffic noise from the road outside. Good value and great location, especially for the tube station. Great for Kew Gardens, the river and park, too. Continental breakfast was very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynneleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Apart from the bathroom needing a bit of a tidy up (floor and wall tiles were cracked and uneven to near the point of being a hazard) and the continental breakfast which wasn't (Toast and cereal is not a continental breakfast) This wasn't a bad place to stay - it was a very good price for so easy access to London centre. We stayed here for the access to Kew gardens (concert) and that couldn't have been much closer. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the room was adequate - not the ritz but neither was the price! Rooms were large enough and clean and quiet. Bed was comfortable. Overall I would recommend it for one or two nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wouldn't recommend even for my pet dog! Rooms were dirty, stains on the sheets, awful bathroom, cracks in tiles on floor and the breakfast what breakfast? Consisted of cereal and toast (which was made by a lady hiding in the corner not wanting to make it!) pay a bit extra and stay in the travel lodge, better value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vpp20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night on route to Vietnam.We chose this hotel in Richmond as it is close to Heathrow and only a few minutes walk from the centre of Richmond, which has lovely walks beside the river Thames.The bedroom was clean, but in need of updating. Our bed was comfortable and of a decent size. There was some road noise, but not too bad for the location.The light breakfast was good and had variety.The staff we met were friendly and helpful.
Given the price we paid (GDP 80 ) and its location, we considered this hotel to be fit for purpose !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Considering it was the cheapest deal I could find in Richmond it was fine as I only needed to sleep there. Decor was tired and the bathroom in need of an upgrade but the shower worked well and I have stayed in smaller spaces. TV screen was a good size- didn't need binoculars. Staff were extremely helpful- offering to take my luggage to my room. Chose it for proximity to station but in the end got taxi to the airport (too much luggage). Taxi organised for me and even rang mobile to tell me it was arriving. So all fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mintybutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed in a single en-suite room with an American single bed. Bed is lovely - very big for a single. Room was very clean and more than adequate. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a more than adequate continental style - choice of cereal, toast and yoghurt with a very helpful member of staff making sure you are okay. Only downside is flight path of planes from Heathrow - but you get that all across Richmond - just takes a bit of getting used to for a visitor. Will definitely stay here again. Very close to train/tube station quick journey into the city and Kew Gardens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#2 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Cow
The Red Cow
#9 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandon House Hotel

Property: Shandon House Hotel
Address: 36-38 Church Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 1UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shandon House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few hundred metres from Richmond Station and the town centre, the Shandon House Hotel offers free parking and clean, modern and stylish rooms at great-value prices. The Shandon House Hotel has a good, central location, close to all of Richmond's bars, restaurants and leisure facilities. Richmond London Underground and National Rail station offers easy access to London and the Home Counties. Trains run regularly to the heart of the capital, with Clapham Junction just 10 minutes away and London Waterloo just 20 minutes away. The attractive Victorian building houses newly refurbished rooms, all of which are comfortable, stylish and modern, and have LED flat-screen televisions with built-in Freeview, good quality beds and crisp bed linen. The bathrooms have granite surfaces, wall-size mirrors, chrome fittings and simple, yet stylish white tiles. Reception is open 24 hours and a continental buffet breakfast is available each day in the conservatory breakfast room. Free on-site parking is limited and is subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shandon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandon Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing