We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Birthday”
Review of Bingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I booked this hotel up for my 30th birthday for 12 friends. I will review the restaurant separately as it deserves much more than the hotel.

We tried to book the best room but certainly don't get it we where facing the road and the room was the smallest I have ever stayed in, certainly not what I expected.

The hotel itself is very good tho and the service was good just expected abit more from the rooms.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 439 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

We hosted our wedding ceremony and reception at The Bingham on Sunday 4th May. From the first day we visited in June 2013, the The Bingham team were professional and flexible. We planned our wedding from abroad where we live and the events team gave us the utmost confidence that all was on track, asking questions as needed and even liaising with external suppliers to help bring everything together for us.

On the day the team came together and delivered an awesome wedding. The team especially Nanette, Rish and Nikhil were relentless in ensuring that every last detail was managed and that we were happy and had everything we needed.

Chef Mark Jarvis developed a Five Course Tasting Menu for our wedding breakfast - to deliver that quality of food on mass, was incredible and it was a wow factor we were looking for.

Over the weekend the whole team there from the reception staff, to bar, restaurant, chef, events team and the General Manager were just wonderful. The Bingham felt like home and it was the people that really made the difference.

Thank you Bingham Team

Joe & Leah Barber

p.s They even managed to get the sun to shine on a Bank Holiday weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Bingham is a small (15 room) boutique style hotel that sits quite literally on the Thames. The building is an old Georgian town house with several floors so as you can imagine it has unique features such as high ceilings, ceiling roses, big windows and uneven floors. The decor is very modern and chic.

The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, with enough room for 2 big arm chairs. Strangely our room had two single beds put together - never a positive. Also in the room flat screen TV, music system with phone docking, filter coffee, tea pot and hot chocolate, mini bar.

There is a restaurant (we ate out so I can't say whether its worth recommending but it was busy), and a sizeable bar with comfy sofas and a great choice of drinks. We returned here after our meal and had some drinks. It has a nice atmosphere and is good for a quiet drink.

The hotel would make a fantastic venue for a small wedding. The gardens are beautiful and there is a great outside terrace area with lots of seating.

You can access the path along the Thames from the garden and the town is a very short and pleasant walk away. There are quite a few bars, shops and restaurants so its worth the walk.

My only two negatives (but not deal breakers) are parking - there is very, very little available but the hotel manages this the best they can. Even though we had reserved a space someone else had selfishly parked there even though the hotel labels the spaces. The problem is once one person does this the whole system breaks down as everyone starts taking other spaces.

The second would be the size of the bathroom in the room we had. Although it had a great jacuzzi bath and nicely decorated, if you were on the larger size (or even possibly slightly above average size) you would struggle to navigate yourself around the door / fit in the space where the toilet is.

I would recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend away. Its a great escape with a lovely setting and everything nearby so you don't need to worry about getting in the car or getting a taxi.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Thames. If you are bigger than a size 18 - women ask about the bathroom access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifitsgoodimhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I went with my friend to try out the Market Value lunch set, for 15 pounds, you can have a 3-course meal with starter, main and dessert. The experience was beyond my expectation.
Bingham's restaurant looks over River Thames, the view was exceptional for a sunny Saturday afternoon. I ordered monkfish cheek as starter, duck leg as main and cheese cake for dessert. All the food were finely presented with modest portion, 15 pounds was definitely a bargain. It's my first time trying out monkfish cheek and I absolutely in love with it, it showed the chef's creativity, skills, and motivation to bring diners to a whole new cutlery experience. Duck leg was cooked to perfection and cheese cake was as good as a cheese cake could be.
The staff were friendly and international, I chatted with a waiter about his trip to Lisbon and I can feel how Bingham treasure their staff making sure they are working in a healthy environment with good life balance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jas0nT919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were guests at a fabulous wedding here, found the staff superb, they were cheerful, helpful, attentive, nothing too much trouble. In fact they made us feel at home. The food was excellent and we did not feel rushed. Everything about the day was wonderful, quite perfect. Thank you for a day to remember.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Hoping4service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Very glad we went for the mystery menu at just £45 per head. 7 wonderful courses and a great idea. Really good, imaginative food well presented and explained. Heartily recommended. This new concept is too have a changing mystery menu priced according inch to the dishes served on the night. It's a refreshing and interesting way to eat and good value.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank PocketsPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We celebrated our wedding at The Bingham with 45 guests last Saturday. We wanted excellent food for our wedding that that's what we got. Chef Mark Jarvis and his team did a sterling job starting with some delicious canapés and continuing with a three course meal described by our French guests as "une cuisine raffinée". The service was attentive and friendly and the location is suberb - just perfect for a smaller celebration. Many thanks for a truly memorable day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#7 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
912 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Coach and Horses
2.0 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingham

Address: 61-63 Petersham Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#3 Romantic Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range: $174 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bingham 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bingham is a restaurant with rooms in a beautiful Georgian townhouse overlooking the Thames and has been awarded an AA red star. Refurbished in a classic chic style, its award-winning restaurant has three AA Rosettes. The Bingham has also won awards for its afternoon tea. There is a destination cocktail bar, and the Bingham has 15 individually designed bedrooms, all en-suite. The popular Garden Rooms events space, and riverside garden are ideal for business and family celebrations, and weddings. Located in a picturesque riverside setting just minutes from Richmond town centre, Richmond's Royal Park, and world famous attractions such as Kew Gardens, and Hampton Court Palace, are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Bingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bingham Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Rodeway Inn Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing