We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seasoned Travellers Left Underwhelmed”
Review of Bingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bingham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Seasoned Travellers Left Underwhelmed”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We travel a lot, we use Mr & Mrs Smith to find our hotels as we trust them to deliver excellent hotels with exceptional service.

Sadly, a one night stay at The Bingham left us underwhelmed.

The room was hot, small, noisy with the fixtures and fittings tired and needing some attention.

Luxury was offered but not delivered.

A couple of examples; two small bottles of water were in the room and not as a gratuity but a paid-for service. Nothing spoils luxury as much as this kind of penny pinching - one can't on the one hand talk about luxury and then miss on these small details.

The second, we made two minor (easy requests) from the front desk during our stay, the first was completely forgotten until the next day when we reminded them and the second, for a car, seemed to be far more complicated and unreliable than we hoped.

A final point, at no point were we asked during our stay, or during checkout how we had felt about our stay.

Be warned this is on a main road with traffic, including large lorries, passing by until the early hours and then resuming around 6am. Unless you are willing to pay for a room at the rear of the hotel then expect not to sleep very well.

We had booked to have lunch in their restaurant the next day but cancelled instead, we felt aggrieved at the thought of giving any more money to The Bingham.

We are seasoned travellers, staying in similar hotels in both the UK and overseas, the Bingham has a lot to learn about the meaning of the words service and luxury, it did not come close to many other Mr and Mrs Smith hotels.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank russhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    103
    39
    21
    23
See reviews for
72
194
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Organised my 40th birthday party dinner here, last weekend. Simply, 10/10 all round. I booked 2 of the rooms downstairs to have private dining for 22 people and chose to tweak the current tasting menu to make it specific to me. It was AWESOME! The food was great, the wine with each course worked very well and the service was very professional. All round, everything was went exactly as planned.

Great venue, several people who had not been before commented to me how lovely they thought it was.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My mother was very keen to try the Market menu - £15.00 for three courses. I was anxious because she uses a wheelchair and can be fussy about what she eats. I could not have been more delighted. The staff could not have been more helpful, We were given a table by the window with the wonderful view. The food was wonderful - home baked warm bread, a delicious cod starter and then lamb with sweetbreads. The puddings were really luscious too. The service was prompt, but relaxed and friendly.

I cannot thank the Bingham enough - my Mother was absolutely thrilled by the outing. We were hardly big spenders but they treated us as warmly as the couples swilling champagne.

Room Tip: This was lunch only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed at the Bingham Hotel last summer for 1 night. Its an upmarket boutique hotel right on the river about a 5 minute walk from town. The location is superb and the views form the hotel are particularly nice. The room was very nicely furnished, although the sink in the bathroom was very loose, with a great view of the river.

The garden room is stunning with sumptuous sofas, high ceilings and a view onto the garden. The perfect place to enjoy a cocktail or two before heading out for the evening in Richmond.

I didn't eat dinner at the Bingham but the breakfast was more than adequate. If you choose to eat elsewhere there are a number of good restaurants in Richmond, but things get booked up very quickly.

Whether it was the time of the year and the hotel was busier than normal I couldn't be sure, but the staff were only happy to do the bear minimum. They were polite and efficient but did nothing more to make the stay feel like a special one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This boutique hotel is gorgeous and located in the heart of Richmond with wonder scenic river views.

The room is lovely furnished although whilst provided with free wifi details, we couldn't get any reception in the room to take advantage of it. This is a lovely little romantic bolt hole. And despite being awakened at midnight from food poisoning after having eaten at the restaurant, the reception staff were fabulous and helpful with providing all new bedding for us.

I will definitely return in the near future despite he food glitch as this place is romantic, secluded from the tourist crowds and is in a perfect location..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CondeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Such a beautiful Georgian building with high-ceilings maximising light and overlooking the river at Richmond. An oasis of calm and relaxation as we were greeted at the door by friendly staff, despite being very busy. The lunchtime Market Menu is indeed exceptional value and a great introduction to the new chef's skill. I had only previously attended private events in the lower garden rooms but was greatly impressed by the restaurant and would definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddingtonGap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I live in the Richmond area and often go to the Bingham hotel for drinks. Have aalways found the quality of the staff in the bar to be high standard so was very excited to finally have a try of the restuarant.
Overall I was quite disappointed with almost every part of the meal.
Bread- usually the bread served at the beginning of the meal is an indication to be of the quality of the place I am eating. It therefore should have been a warning when the roll I had was incredibly hard to cut open, very dry and lacked any taste.
Starter - I ordered a duck egg / asparagas starter, but after I placed my order was informed by a member of staff that the item was part of the winter menu which had changed, so I needed to pick another item. Istead I ended up with the bacon risotto which I have to say was very lovely.
Main - My main course was skate, and lacked anything resembling texture or flavour. It was a very bland item that needed at the least more salt.
Dessert - I ordered the cheese plate but again wasn't really impressed with the quality of the cheeses I was given.
Service - The service was lackluster at best, the mistake with my starter being an example. The people who ordered cheese received their desserts 10 minutes before the rest of the table. We actually had to get up from the table and go find the server to find out where the dessert was.
Overall I was underimpressed and will stick to the bar for drinks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brigitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond-upon-Thames
0.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#7 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.2 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#13 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge London Richmond Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingham

Property: Bingham
Address: 61-63 Petersham Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#3 Romantic Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bingham 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bingham is a restaurant with rooms in a beautiful Georgian townhouse overlooking the Thames and has been awarded an AA red star. Refurbished in a classic chic style, its award-winning restaurant has three AA Rosettes. The Bingham has also won awards for its afternoon tea. There is a destination cocktail bar, and the Bingham has 15 individually designed bedrooms, all en-suite. The popular Garden Rooms events space, and riverside garden are ideal for business and family celebrations, and weddings. Located in a picturesque riverside setting just minutes from Richmond town centre, Richmond's Royal Park, and world famous attractions such as Kew Gardens, and Hampton Court Palace, are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bingham Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Rodeway Inn Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing