We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful new years stay!”
Review of Bingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bingham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful new years stay!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for the new years black tie dinner and the food was amazing! I am gluten intolerant and they made a real effort-mine looked and tasted better than my husbands food! Breakfast service was a bit slow and the lights in our room didnt all work but a lovely boutique hotel all the same and lovely location

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaTrinder, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Clairek2

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about The Bingham. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay on New Year’s Eve.

Thank you for acknowledging the amazing food. We are pleased to learn that your dietary requirements were well catered for.

I’m sorry that some of the lights in your room did not work, our housekeeping and maintenance team check this prior to guests arrival, and we could have rectified this immediately had we known. I am sorry also that you found the breakfast service on New Year’s Day slower than usual.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bingham in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    102
    37
    20
    23
See reviews for
67
188
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Initially booked this hotel to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday, the 4-poster room with riverview was fantastic. The staff were courtious and helpful and my GF really enjoyed the jacuzzi style bath.

We had some trouble with the shower and the mattresses though and the management were kind enough to offer us a complimentary free night in compensation. I am pleased to say that things have been rectified since.

It's really worth trying the breakfast too, the scrambled eggs were one of the best we've ever eaten.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamS158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaTrinder, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear AdamS158

Many thanks for choosing to return to the Bingham to celebrate your girlfriend’s birthday.

It was a pleasure to read how you both enjoyed the experience and the scrambled eggs!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had an overnight stay here recently, a present from my daughters for my 60th birthday. The staff are very personable and welcoming, and the double room we had with a view of the river was small for the price, but very tastefully decorated and presented. A welcoming tray of tea was sent to our room on arrival. The four poster was very comfortable.
The cocktail bar is very well appointed, and open to residents at all hours. Even at 6pm the service was a little haphazard, but not annoyingly so. Dinner in the restaurant was beautifully presented and served, and there is a fair wine list. However, the choice for the food menu was extremely limited, about 5 starters and 5 mains, so it's not for very fussy eaters, perhaps. The food is of the highest quality, though.
Breakfast was a bit of a disaster, we were offered toast and tea on arrival at our table, but the toast did not materialise until we asked again later. My partner ordered just scrambled eggs on toast, and it arrived with smoked salmon, which she particularly did not want and had ordered accordingly. By the time the correct dish was served, I had finished my hot breakfast, which WAS annoying - at least the price of one breakfast was removed from the bill, but that is hardly the point.
Overall, a nice intimate hotel that just needs to up it's game in the peripheral areas to justify the premium price, The location is superb, a short stroll along the riverbank to Richmond town centre. Make sure you book a parking space in advance. Parking is at a premium in the area, and if the hotel has a wedding on during your stay, it could get tricky as there are few reserved spaces.

Room Tip: River view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hantstraveller051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaTrinder, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Hantstraveller051

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at the Bingham.We are delighted to hear that your daughter chose the Bingham for you as a present for your 60th birthday.

Our menu we hope is small but perfectly formed, offering the best of local, seasonal ingredients, and as you state is of the ‘highest quality’.

I am very sorry that your experience at breakfast did not live up to your experience at dinner. The service team did try to address this situation, and your recent feedback is of value to us. I can assure you that we will review your concerns with the team and will look forward to welcoming you back personally when you next return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at this great holiday right next to the river. Our room was pretty small and didn't have a river view, but we only got in on a cancellation so couldn't complain. The staff were charming, the breakfast was fab, a jem

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewartRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaTrinder, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear StewartRobert

Thank you for your lovely feedback and for choosing the Bingham.

I am pleased to hear that you had such a memorable visit and that you enjoyed all that the Bingham has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed on 10th November, whilst visiting Twickenham for the Rugby. Location great, overlooking the river and without doubt the Best Boutique Hotel we have stayed in. Beautifully appointed rooms, lovely attention to detail throughout the whole building. Staff very attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Loved the Bar and Lounge area. A perfect stay and definitely one to re-visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaTrinder, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Paul S

Thank you for choosing the Bingham when you visited for the England Vs Fiji match this Autumn and for posting such a wonderful review.

We are a very popular destination for rugby fans visiting the RFU in Twickenham – maybe you joined us for the pre-match rugby feast in the Bingham Restaurant before the match?

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your trip and that you were able were able to experience all that we have to offer.

We will share your comments with the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit with us in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Bingham is divine. It is perfect in every way you would hope a hotel to be, and as a result we were proud to have our wedding reception here.

As a hotel, the rooms are lovely and spacious. We had a large group of friends and family who stayed here and all said excellent things about it. Beds are large and comfortable with beautiful views over Richmond river. We stayed in the wedding suite, which had a four poster bed, rose petals - the works.

The restaurant is stunning with great food and a great wine choice.

It is set in the most beautiful part of Richmond and is an excellent place to stay for getting in and out of London, or escaping it.

As a wedding venue it is simply stunning, the grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are a plain canvas to decorate (good for smaller receptions), and the food is delicious. It has a well earned reputation, and lived up to it. The staff here are unbelievably excellent, intuitive, helpful, well organised. If you are even thinking about having a wedding reception here, then don't hesitate, it will live up to every expectation you have and more. Alexandra was our main contact and went out of her way to make it excellent.

The Bingham has it all!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthWestBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaTrinder, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Congratulations on your wedding and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time at the Bingham.

Alex, Rish and the team will be thrilled with your comments, as they work tirelessly throughout the planning process and on the day to make sure that the Bingham meets each and every one of your expectations. On this occasion we’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything about the venue and the surrounding area of Richmond upon Thames.

We hope you enjoy your honeymoon and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Bingham is a boutique hotel enviably situated by the Thames river offering lovely walks along the river all the way to Ham or Richmond Park whilst still being a stone throw away from Richmond centre. The rooms are comfortable, reasonably spacious and adequately equipped for both business and leisure travelers. It is highly recommended that you avoid the road facing rooms as these overlook a busy road and you can guarantee an early wake up with the bin men collecting the hotel bins. The hotel has no lift to reach the rooms so heavy suitcases are not a good idea! It should also be mentioned that the hotel does offer wifi but connection is via a convoluted process and usage is restricted. Breakfast is a good spread and can be enjoyed overlooking the river. Afternoon cream teas are highly recommended although make sure you are hungry before you order it! The staff are on the whole friendly and attentive. An issue with hot water was quickly resolved with an upgrade to a better room. Richmond offers a broad variety of restaurants which are an easy walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: River facing only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdesalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaTrinder, General Manager at Bingham, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your charming review about your stay at the Bingham and the beautiful Richmond Upon Thames.

We’re glad that you enjoyed your room and the river view, and we’re pleased to have resolved the issue with the hot water to your satisfaction.

Please come back and visit us again soon, as you will realise from your stay we are open from breakfast, coffees, lunches, afternoon teas, cocktails and dinner.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Coach and Horses
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingham

Property: Bingham
Address: 61-63 Petersham Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#3 Romantic Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bingham 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bingham is a restaurant with rooms in a beautiful Georgian townhouse overlooking the Thames and has been awarded an AA red star. Refurbished in a classic chic style, its award-winning restaurant has three AA Rosettes. The Bingham has also won awards for its afternoon tea. There is a destination cocktail bar, and the Bingham has 15 individually designed bedrooms, all en-suite. The popular Garden Rooms events space, and riverside garden are ideal for business and family celebrations, and weddings. Located in a picturesque riverside setting just minutes from Richmond town centre, Richmond's Royal Park, and world famous attractions such as Kew Gardens, and Hampton Court Palace, are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bingham Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Rodeway Inn Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing