We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us”
Review of The Dukes Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dukes Head Inn
Reviewed December 7, 2013

With a selection of real ales at the bar, a realy friendly manageress, and rooms that were clean and smart, The Dukes head was perfect for our rugby weekend base-camp. We were looked after to a high standard, and the breakfast was very very good. The pub itself is a bit tired, but they are havind some work done at the moment, so im sure it will improve. Over all, whilst you may not want to romance a dame there, it was perfect for us. Will go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dazzy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 112 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Was very concerned after reading some of these reviews, but I tend to ignore the single reviewers.

Yes, this should really be described as a B&B in a Pub and not a Hotel as it really is not up to hotel standards. Then again I knew I was booking into a pub so wasn't expecting a hotel. Yes, the outside of the pub is in need of decoration, which is in progress. Yes, the interior decor is drab and need of repair, and the shower in the room is not a high power shower. But the first question to answer is 'would I come back?'. Even though I have only rated this as average, my answer is probably yes.

The positives are that there is a warm welcome. The rooms might be tired and the public areas in need of redecoration, but the bed linen and towels were spotless and the beds pretty much OK for a good nights sleep. Not sure about the heating 'going off' as there was a portable electric heater in the room that you turn on / off yourself. In fact this was far too efficient (even for a crisp November night) and had to be turned off.

Had a meal there in the evening, and this is pretty good. Very well cooked, decent portion and well priced. If you are after pub grub, you can't go too far wrong coming here. Decent range of beers as well. Breakfast is also freshly cooked to order and really good.

If you're looking for a hotel, book a hotel. If you want a decent pub, with good food and an excellent quiet location in walking distance of Richmond centre, then give this place a try. Despite the tired decoration it's not that bad at all. Only average rating as there is no Good option. Tidy the decor up and it would achieve Very Good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigs_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here in lieu of our normal B&B when on a trip to Twickenham. It was very reasonable and clearly very popular with Rugby fans who return time and time again. It is well situated in Richmond, the staff are very friendly,good beer and breakfast hit the spot. Probably not the most luxurious place ever put ideal for the prupose

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The recent reviews of this hotel more accurately reflect our experience of this hotel. The location is great - within walking distance of the train station. The hotel advertises parking, but the car park is tiny, and we actually preferred to pay to park in the multi storey car park which is just around the corner and a 5 minute walk.

Although this is advertised as a hotel, I would more accurately describe it as a pub with some rooms. First impressions really weren't great - the route to the rooms is up a flight of stairs which is desperately in need of some new carpet and the hallways redecorating. The room actually wasn't as bad as I was expecting - the sheets were at least clean, but the décor in the room again was in need of renewal. There were no curtains in the bathroom, just some nets badly in need of a wash. The carpet was very stained, and just generally the room was not a place we wanted to spend any time. The heating was switched off by 10.30, so we were also pretty cold. As another reviewer commented, the beds were merely 2 singles pushed together, so it wasn't the best night's sleep we'd ever had either.

We didn't eat in the evening, but had breakfast in the morning, which was fine - it was hot and well cooked.

I debated how to score this hotel, and decided on the 2 just for the welcome and general friendliness of the staff. I got the feeling that they were trying their best, but the standards fell far short of what we were expecting. I know that all rooms in this area are expensive, but even so we felt that this was far from value for money. We would not rush back here....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCALC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Love to go at dukes head for food every time but I ,been last night there and in sunday and food it was absolutely horrible,it looks like come out from the microwave and no presentation at all been for a Sunday roast as well,and I had a lamb it look like is been cook and cover in gravy Yorkshire pudding not nice at All,looks like dukes head is tern to a microwave food I'm sorry but wouldn't never go again very disappointed,and toilets very dirty and filthy covered in dust and dirt,this is not a good place to go for food or drink anymore.

Room Tip: Not a nice place to eat or have a nice drink very poor and the food cheap class,curry rice sorry nev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

beds were very uncomfortable, blakets dirty, decore run down and old, not goid value for money. i dont think any money has been spent on the rooms for years and it shows. the pub generally was in a poor state. I think insoectirs should rate B and B so that customers cant be ripped off. they take your money up front with a no refund policy so its difficult when your relying on the photos. the only saving grace is the location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winsston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The reviews on Trip Advisor are so, so wrong! This pub B&B is best avoided; the welcome was cursory, we were simply pointed upstairs (3 flights of a steep drab staircase) to our room, where we found a broken window frame, a pair of twin beds pushed together with double bed sized covers, so too small at night and a bathroom with various broken fittings. The bedroom walls are so thin that any noise from adjacent rooms is as if it is in your room - and as for breakfast...it certainly wasn't cooked for us as my wife's fried egg was solid from being kept hot. A drab pub with drab B&B and nothing to recommend it, especially for £105.

Room Tip: I doubt if there is a good room in The Duke's Head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank setters25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 15 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 15 in Richmond-upon-Thames
962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#10 of 15 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#14 of 15 in Richmond-upon-Thames
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Cow
The Red Cow
#13 of 15 in Richmond-upon-Thames
92 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Inn

Address: 42 The Vineyard, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range: $91 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dukes Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dukes Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Head Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing