We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of The Dukes Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dukes Head Inn
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here with my parents, who subsequently returned a few weeks later while my dad was working at a local theatre. Really comfortable, quiet location, gorgeous breakfast and very good food in the bar. Have recommended it to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

On our first night in England, this B&B put us right in with local folks. The pub downstairs had a Friday night guitarist, really quite good, who drew an audience of locals and tourists in this residential area. The patio in back has beautiful flowers and a back shortcut that takes you to the shops and restaurants of central Richmond with a 5-minute walk. The breakfast is very good; eggs and bacon cooked to taste for each person.
This isn't the Holiday Inn; furnishings are traditional and so are the rooms. But the in-suite bathroom is updated and clean. There's a bus that goes directly from Heathrow to Richmond with an info center staffed by locals right at the Richmond station--they offer brochures and advice about the free evening concert on the riverside and which local bus goes to the B&B. They'll walk you to the stop and put you on the correct bus if necessary. (Don't underestimate how important it is to remember that English buses are opposite from the U.S. when figuring out which bus goes your way. Spoken from experience.)
We were only there one night but this was a nice transition to England; friendly people and a slower pace before we moved on to the more international city of London. In our jet-lagged state it was pleasant to walk along the Thames River and watch the rowers. Kew Gardens are nearby and entrance is free with a London Pass.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank MinnesotaRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

5 nights in this lovely pub. The room was very confortable, clean and quiet. The breakfast and dishes were good. But the nicer thing is the friendly and warm welcome even if we don't speak english. It is a very good location in this pleasant town. I will return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malouins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for four nights as a base for trips to Chelsea Flower Show, Kew, etc. The accomodations were quiet, clean and comfortable, and the Inn itself was a delight. We had an outstanding dinner in the pub and enjoyed a 'open mike' night that brought local folks singers and a big crowd--terrific! Special kudos to the inn-keeper Pat. He made every effort to ensure our stay was enjoyable, and provided beyond-the-call-of-duty help as we made our train connections. All in all, I very highly recommend this inn.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank richard e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed with my Brother in Law on a trip to watch the England vs Wales rugby match (it turned out not a very good "match" - Wales were far to good) at the Orange Tree pub.
The food was good, had dinner on the Friday evening & an Irish cabbage and ham on the Saturday night! The breakfasts were v good.
We had 2 double rooms and they were clean and the electric heater was useful because the central heating was not on - it was March in the UK! Beds are comfortable but the walls are a tad thin, My toilet bowl is a little to close to the wall and some adjustments are needed to 'get comfortable'.
All in all a good stay with a friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kencom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Dukes Head is in a perfect location only 5 mins from the centre of Richmond but in a quiet residential area. We stayed in a triple room which was very clean and a perfect size for our two night stay.
Breakfast is very good cereals fruit juice and a cooked breakfast with toast and free papers. A cooked breakfast being included in the price is a rarity in other hotels in Richmond.
The pub food is also excellent, try their burgers you won't be disappointed.

The staff and owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome, The Dukes Head would be my preferred place to stay in Richmond on future trips.
PS I didn't hear any planes!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahascragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a triple room together with our four year old son. The furniture of the room is a bit outdated, but it was clean. There is an extra radiator in the room, which came in very handy due to the cold temperatures. You could not hear any noise from the pub on the ground floor, but the planes flying into Heathrow can prevent you from falling asleep, if you do not use ear plugs... Breakfast is great, full English, porridge, cereals, etc., all there. The location is perfect, walking distance from Richmond city centre and station and close to many good restaurants. Recommendable!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamthiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond-upon-Thames
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#10 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge London Richmond Central
0.3 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#5 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#8 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Inn

Address: 42 The Vineyard, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range: $99 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dukes Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dukes Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Head Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing