We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dukes Head Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Dukes Head Inn to your Saves list
The Dukes Head Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   42 The Vineyard, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Weekend Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed with my Brother in Law on a trip to watch the England vs Wales rugby match (it turned out not a very good "match" - Wales were far to good) at the Orange Tree pub.
The food was good, had dinner on the Friday evening & an Irish cabbage and ham on the Saturday night! The breakfasts were v good.
We had 2 double rooms and they were clean and the electric heater was useful because the central heating was not on - it was March in the UK! Beds are comfortable but the walls are a tad thin, My toilet bowl is a little to close to the wall and some adjustments are needed to 'get comfortable'.
All in all a good stay with a friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kencom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    32
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
15
19
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st helens merseyside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Dukes Head is in a perfect location only 5 mins from the centre of Richmond but in a quiet residential area. We stayed in a triple room which was very clean and a perfect size for our two night stay.
Breakfast is very good cereals fruit juice and a cooked breakfast with toast and free papers. A cooked breakfast being included in the price is a rarity in other hotels in Richmond.
The pub food is also excellent, try their burgers you won't be disappointed.

The staff and owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome, The Dukes Head would be my preferred place to stay in Richmond on future trips.
PS I didn't hear any planes!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahascragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a triple room together with our four year old son. The furniture of the room is a bit outdated, but it was clean. There is an extra radiator in the room, which came in very handy due to the cold temperatures. You could not hear any noise from the pub on the ground floor, but the planes flying into Heathrow can prevent you from falling asleep, if you do not use ear plugs... Breakfast is great, full English, porridge, cereals, etc., all there. The location is perfect, walking distance from Richmond city centre and station and close to many good restaurants. Recommendable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamthiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Dukes Head Inn is a wonderful little B&B in Richmond. I stayed a few nights while in London on business and enjoyed it. Wonderful food and great staff - extremely friendly. The pub atmosphere is a mix of local and visitors and the service is professional and fast. If you enjoy being close to the action but like your peace and quiet, book at stay at The Dukes Head Inn.

Convenient to bus routes and the Richmond train station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed there one night to visit Richmond. It is very central but at the same time it is not on a main road so it is pretty quiet and you can get a decent sleep until early morning when you can hear the planes in and out of Heathrow (which I guess you would hear anywhere else in Richmond too). Bathroom is very small but serviceable and breakfast is good. Excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My 8 year old daughter and I stayed here for a week from 6 October 2012. We very much enjoyed our stay. Our twin room was spacious, warm, and spotless. It had ample wardrobe space, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and accomodating, and we loved our cooked breakfasts in the morning! We are looking forward to returning for another one-week stay next month.

Room Tip: If you are staying here on a Friday night, you might try and get a room that does not face on to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The room décor was a little dated but it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but serviceable and there was plenty of hot water. The full English breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of toast, tea and coffee and a selection of papers to browse. The staff were very friendly and engaged freely with the customers. It was good value for the price and only 5-10 minutes to the train station. It is a good base for going back in to London or going to Ascot - it is on Heathrow's flight path; they woke me up at 6.00 and every 2 minutes after that. The car park is small but they will squeeze you in if they can. All in all a good value B&B. I would have given 5/5 if the rooms were upgraded.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6112pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Inn

Property: The Dukes Head Inn
Address: 42 The Vineyard, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dukes Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dukes Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Head Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing