We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dukes Head Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dukes Head Inn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a triple room together with our four year old son. The furniture of the room is a bit outdated, but it was clean. There is an extra radiator in the room, which came in very handy due to the cold temperatures. You could not hear any noise from the pub on the ground floor, but the planes flying into Heathrow can prevent you from falling asleep, if you do not use ear plugs... Breakfast is great, full English, porridge, cereals, etc., all there. The location is perfect, walking distance from Richmond city centre and station and close to many good restaurants. Recommendable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamthiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
16
21
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Dukes Head Inn is a wonderful little B&B in Richmond. I stayed a few nights while in London on business and enjoyed it. Wonderful food and great staff - extremely friendly. The pub atmosphere is a mix of local and visitors and the service is professional and fast. If you enjoy being close to the action but like your peace and quiet, book at stay at The Dukes Head Inn.

Convenient to bus routes and the Richmond train station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed there one night to visit Richmond. It is very central but at the same time it is not on a main road so it is pretty quiet and you can get a decent sleep until early morning when you can hear the planes in and out of Heathrow (which I guess you would hear anywhere else in Richmond too). Bathroom is very small but serviceable and breakfast is good. Excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My 8 year old daughter and I stayed here for a week from 6 October 2012. We very much enjoyed our stay. Our twin room was spacious, warm, and spotless. It had ample wardrobe space, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and accomodating, and we loved our cooked breakfasts in the morning! We are looking forward to returning for another one-week stay next month.

Room Tip: If you are staying here on a Friday night, you might try and get a room that does not face on to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The room décor was a little dated but it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but serviceable and there was plenty of hot water. The full English breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of toast, tea and coffee and a selection of papers to browse. The staff were very friendly and engaged freely with the customers. It was good value for the price and only 5-10 minutes to the train station. It is a good base for going back in to London or going to Ascot - it is on Heathrow's flight path; they woke me up at 6.00 and every 2 minutes after that. The car park is small but they will squeeze you in if they can. All in all a good value B&B. I would have given 5/5 if the rooms were upgraded.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6112pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in a triple room. It was quite old fashioned decor and could do with a refurb but it was clean and comfortable and for the price, it was excellent value. The food is very good. We had lunch and dinner in the pub and the food far exceeded our expectations. Freshly cooked, tasty and again great value. The breakfast in the morning was superb too. The service was friendly and efficient. Overall, couldn't really fault it - as long as you don't mind how dated the rooms aer (though I see they have refurbed some of them already). It's only about 7 minutes walk to the shops and 10 mins to the bridge and river - brilliantly central. We did manage to park in their tiny carpark, but it is small!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I agree with the reviewer from November 2011 that the roast is a cut above the average pub roast - it truly is restaurant quality, beautifully presented. If you have the stamina to get through their Chicken Club Sandwich, which comes with a small bowl of chips and salad on the side then you will need to have a good long walk round Richmond Park to work off the calories! It's a work of art on a plate and it's a shame to have to demolish it, but it's delicious and there's enough there for two so take a friend and split it.
The pub itself is not much to look at it, but don't judge a book by the cover. The warmth of the Irish welcome and the great food make this a place worth seeking out. Be warned, the food is slow to come to the table - but be patient, all good things come to those who wait.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#2 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond Inn Hotel
Richmond Inn Hotel
#8 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Inn

Property: The Dukes Head Inn
Address: 42 The Vineyard, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dukes Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dukes Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Head Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing