We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and wide vegetarian choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron Richmond

Saffron Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food and wide vegetarian choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Saffron has a friendly, warm, unpretentious atmosphere and great food. I was especially pleased to see a really wide choice of vegetarian dishes (especially starters, so you can order lots of small things and experience a broad variety of all those interesting flavours). It was nice to try something different (not a chain restaurant), and although I went with friends, this would also be a good choice for a family meal or romantic dinner. We all enjoyed what we chose, shared a few things and had fun identifying the herbs and spices used; I loved that the food was incredibly tasty without being hot (spicy hot). The smoky aubergine/tomato starter was especially lovely given that smoked flavours are hard to find in veggie food; I had okra stew as a main course (was a little bit too salty but could still taste lots of delicate spices there, too). Large portions and great value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    51
    20
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A local favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Saffron -- I think you have the name wrong -- has been a favourite of ours for years. Last night we took visitors from the US, bullied them into having the Fesenjan, and as always, had everyone in the table in ecstasy. The place is tiny, quiet, pleasant; the service is dignified, professional, competent; the food consistently exquisite, with the exception of desserts. But by the time you have relished two generous courses, desserts are an encumbrance. Oh, and the prices are ridiculously low. Don't miss!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Extensive menu....keep it simple & customers satsified!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Knowing we would be in Richmond a day before the England v Australia game at Twickenham, we had reserved a table in advance and, my wife having an Iranian friend who has frequently cooked meals for us, we arrived half knowing what to expect, though if I am honest, we consider our friend to be a better cook! Whilst the relatively small the white washed walls make it bright and give a feeling of space, but the venue feels smaller, because the tables are far too close together. We felt cramped despite sitting towards the front of the ground floor, because we were close to the bar where the dumb-waiter is also situated, so staff are always brushing past for one reason or another. The service was ok/good and the waitress quite helpful when we first ordered, though other tables had dips and yogurt brought out with their bread – we did not? Not a bad choice of wines, but only two beers (both lagers) on offer, so not ideal for two real ale drinkers from Devon. However, my wife’s usual demand for iced rose’ wine rather than a cooler was accepted and the ice regularly topped up. The food when it came was hot and ok and that’s all I can really say, certainly nothing special and given three of us had marinated chicken and/or lamb kebabs, we had expected much more. At about £25/head including the drinks, but excluding the tip, overall it didn’t represent bad value given its location, but having reviewed the menu, it appears to be far too complex and knowing what our friend can do with fairly simple ingredients, I wonder if a lesser bill of fare with a focus on quality would result in better customer satisfaction.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BM_Pete56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, price, atmosphere and service :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Everything about this restaurant was great. They had a good value set meal - £10.95 for 2 courses or £13.95 for 3, even on a busy Saturday night. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious - all the meat simply melted in the mouth. Overall we had a great evening and would definitely go back if we were in London. Only bad thing was that the tables were a bit squashed in, but this wasn't a problem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlottie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“At first, a welcome haven; now, a great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was cold and gloomy in Richmond and we scrambled into the first interesting restaurant we found. I am so glad that we did. The service was efficient, friendly and informative. The menu was an interesting mix of familiar and something different. We had two delightful starters, served with warm bread. Our main meals were filling and tasty. We were given a taste of the authentic Persian yoghurt drink. Initially it was not to our taste. However, it was something different. Pomegranite juice was a good alternative - it seemed Persian enough and was easy to enjoy.

Although Richmond is somewhat out of our way, we'd visit again and enjoy Saffron's delights.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Richmond also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Saffron Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing