We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, charming service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saffron Richmond

Saffron Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rønne, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, charming service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This small restaurant continues to entice me. This review is written after my fifth visit over a seven year period - the last three visits within the last 18 months.
Persian food had not been my first choice, but the flavours of the food served at Saffron (this is by the way the spelling used by the restaurant) were so exquisite that I keep coming back.
The friends I have brought here were equally enthusiastic.
Whenever I have asked for the waiter's recommendation this has usually meant an excellent choice of food.
Fridays and Saturdays tend to be busy, so I would recommend making a reservation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sense_of_Tourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    51
    21
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Persian delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

An unpromising basement location hides a choice of delicious Persian food which never disappoints. The mixed mezze starter with lots of bread is really great. The only problem is that is sometimes does not leave enough room for the kebabs, stews and other authentic dishes - lamb, chicken, aubergine, the list of ingredients is endless and consistently delicious.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We popped by at the weekend as we were in Richmond and thought the food was awful. The lamb tasted like mutton, the mint in the dish tasted like fairy liquid and we thought the attitudes of the staff were unfriendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Littlebowerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Persian guard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

great fresh authentic Persian! watch out for the waitress - she is a quality watch dog who makes sure you enjoy your food! (may be a bit aggressive in recommending)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kanpaisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I have gone here numerous times in the past 2 years, and it never disappoints. We have taken friends and family, and none have left disappointed. The food has great flavor, the portions are generous but not too big, and the prices are outstanding for such good food and wine. We highly recommend Saffron, and will be going back again soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjkmelvin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Richmond also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Saffron Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing