We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Website”

The National Archives
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor Website”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I phoned to ask about accommodation near the National Archives- after all there must be many people who come from far and wide to visit it. I was directed towards the appropriate section on their website. When I clicked don the link all I got was a google search that gave me accommodation in Kew AUSTRALIA!!!
I feel they should be much more helpful

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bontgoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
N. Staffordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must visit for genealogists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Once we found the car park (not awfully well signposted) we were really impressed with the initial view of the building and grounds. Once inside we found the staff really helpful and the information available was invaluable. We had to order the documents we wished to view and expected a lengthy wait but it was only about 30 mins. We had to obtain a visitor 'reading' card which I expected to only be valid for the day, but now we have it for 3 years!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank auntykaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Find your roots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the repository for millions of documents relating to our social history. It is the place to visit if you are researching your ancestry (although not all records are kept there - check first). It has special exhibitions focused on various historical records/events. This is not a tourist attraction as such - it is a working government organisation so don't expect it to operate outside of working hours - it is closed Sunday and Monday and open 9 - 5 most days. There is a cafe and good shop. Excellent place for teaching resources.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank liz_croft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Immense and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've traveled to many archives, libraries and courthouses where the setup grudgingly shuffles you from one section to another, offering little insight. This archive has a fast-track path called 'first time visitor' staffed by people who actually know the holdings and listen to your specific questions.
In our 4-hour stay we weren't going to plumb the centuries-old archival materials but we did use a combination of indexed sources (plenty of computer stations for access) and bound city directories, back to the 1780s. The LDS has a center within the archive, staffed by their experts and free access to databases.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scholar for a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I visited the National Archive with my son he is a university student about to start his final year so our visit was for his dissertation. The national Archive held the historical records needed for this its an amazing place full of maps documents photos etc some of the old records we looked at we're dated pre WW1 were in excellent condition as a nation we are so very fortunate to have a place like this keeping our countries heritage safe for everyone to see. It's in a beautiful location with a lake and swans too so very British

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Archives also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The National Archives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing