We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much for too little”

Riverside Hotel - Richmond
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Richmond-upon-Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Hotel - Richmond
Ballymena, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too much for too little”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

First of all, this is not a hotel. It's basically a seaside bed and breakfast. It's an old large terraced house that has been divided up into rooms so there is no lift - which is understandable. There is little parking outside for the same reason, this was once a residential area. However the room i had was quite small and very stuffy (room 20) w-a-y up 3 flights of stairs. I said to my partner on the way down to breakfast " i bet they serve the fry up on a side plate", and so they did! I asked for the full english minus the egg - result: 2 rashers of bacon, the smallest sausage in the world and a tomato. That was it! My partner had rice crispies which were stale and chewy ( no snap, crackle and pop). I paid £90 per night and it was far too much, i know richmond is an affluent area and i would be prepared to pay that but the overall value was very low. This should have cost £50-£60. at the most. People expect more nowadays. The manager does look/act uncannily like manuel from fawlty towers too. I wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank eddy621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
dublin,
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We checked in here for a 3 night stay at £90 per night and found our tiny room up three steep flights of stairs, we could hardly stand upright in the room, never mind move around, the bathroom one person could squeeze into, but the shower was hardly worth using We asked if there was another room and were told 'no, and tomorrow night there is a room in the basement only.' If we were being charged a realistic rate we would have stayed even tho they weren't very welcoming. However at that price we decided to leave the next day and found the Richmond Park down the road, where we were made very welcome, given far nicer, bigger rooms and saved money. We have never left a hotel before but just felt we were being ripped off.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rattlebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels

Cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Stayed for Rugby at Twickenham and has beautiful location overlooking Thames. Richmond great for socialising and shopping. Hotel was fine, had attic room which was a bit small but we only needed somewhere to sleep and shower etc. Bed was clean and comfortable don't expect frills. Owner is a cross between Basil Fawlty and Manuel but we just found him amusing! Parking could be a problem but we were lucky and there was room on pavement. Needs a lounge/bar area to meet friends/have coffee etc.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megmac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This hotel is lovely. It's a typical old style terraced house in Richmond over looking the river. It doesn't have a lift because of the style of the house and the breakfast may be small but that's all you need.

We really enjoyed our stay here and found the staff and owners friendly.

There is no parking but this is Richmond. If you want all the fancy extras you should stay elsewhere, but if you want value for money you should stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowbellYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We wanted a Hotel near to Hampton Court and this was one of the few with vacancies. It is ideally placed on the banks of the Thames and very near the centre of Richmond. We had a garden room with views over the river. Unfortunately parking the car was a nightmare with restrictions of one sort or another for quite some distance around the hotel. We ended up in a residential street a good ten minuted walk away.
The hotel itself was very old fashioned and somewhat haphzardly furnished and the corridors smelled strongly of deodouriser begging the question as to what it was that was being deodourised!
Breakfast was fairly basic.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2007

I booked to stay for 1 night with my partner and our 10 yr old child and had requested a non smoking family room with river view if possible.
The proprietor was offhand and unfriendly as we checked in and we were given a room in the top(attic) floor of the hotel, facing the busy road.
The room smelled of smoke, was cold and was small and shabby - in fact nothing like the quality of the rooms depicted in the hotel's website.
At £105 pounds it felt like we were being ripped off so we told the proprietor we weren't happy with the room and left to find somewhere else to stay.
Wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardiffTripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, WEST YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

We stayed at this hotel in August. When we arrived there was nowhere to park so we contacted the hotel for help. They said to pull up outside and they would move some cars. The lady owner came out in a foul mood and sat in her car shouting, swearing and cursing at the passing traffic, then smiling at us. Not the welcome we expected and to be honest she was rather scary. If they hadn't have got my card details and if I thought we could have found somewhere else we would have left. Other than that - it was ok, rooms ok, nice breakfast and a good location but I would not return to this hotel

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — barking mad owner
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sueleedslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
969 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel - Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel - Richmond

Property: Riverside Hotel - Richmond
Address: 23 Petersham Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel - Richmond 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing