We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Hotel - Richmond

Riverside Hotel - Richmond
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Richmond-upon-Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Hotel - Richmond
Lancashire
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

A well furnished studio apartment with a superb view of the Thames. All the fixtures and fittings required to self cater; with a large bedroom and a lovely roomy well equipped bathroom. Sited on Petersham Rd, but with easy access to Richmond centre on foot and also the river side walk. Dominic, the propieter, was very helpful and welcoming. There is also a real bonus with limited parking outside. Good quality, well appointed and tastefully decorated accommodation at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and go for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DGK1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just had a very pleasant stay at these apartments whilst visiting our daughter in Richmond.

We found the room immaculately clean and we had a great sleep. The location for us could not have been better and the staff were very friendly - always having a chat when we came in or left. The view from our room over the Thames was very picturesque.

We will use again when we visit next time and would not hesitate to recommend these apartments to anyone looking for somewhere comfortable in Richmond.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I booked this through Booking.com after reading the excellent reviews on that site. Pleased with my last minute booking I checked out the proprietor's web site- no shocks there, just an honest reflection of the hotel.
After I checked Tripadvisor, I was worried.

I guess those people have their reasons for faulting what I found to be more than adequate.

The room was very clean and the fixtures were just what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. It seems there has been a recent renovation.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Do ask for a riverside view, it's great. Having said that, the road view is just fine.

Parking is limited and tight and there are a lot of steps but that really is it for drawbacks.

I'd definitely use them again.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Streetly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location with great views. Very well refurbished to a high standard. Close to the town and plenty of eating places close by. Acess to river side one door away. Great flexibility from self catering option.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BMJ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom apt for 2 weeks and absolutely loved it. Great view of Thames. High end furnishings, bath and kitchen. We were amazed at the spaciousness. As is often the case, there is no lift and you will climb a good number of stairs. The location is perfect in Richmond, on outer edge of village center so you have the convenience but are just a bit away from the bustle. There are a variety of good restaurants, wine shops and bakeries within a block. The walking path along the river is right below you. Richmond Park, The Robuck Pub and even more lovely river vistas are just up the hill a way. There is a bus stop across the street and black cabs are easy to grab. Breakfast in the hotel is hearty and made to order. I found the staff very helpful and highly recommend both the apartment rental and the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days and wasn't very impressed.

Didn't find staff very friendly and were off hand.

One day I went to have a shower and was no hot water. Not amusing when it is a freezing winter day.

I also asked for a toaster but never got back to me. Think this is very odd in a self catering place. Microwave also didn't work that well.

The bins in the kitchen weren't even checked once during my stay.

The phone in the room is only internal and can't even make local calls. Wasn't impressed at all.

Reception hours are very limited and often don't answer.

They obviously haven't thought a lot of things through when they were doing the refurbishment.

Definitely won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honyaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We booked this hotel via Late Rooms in August 2011, for a two night stay in March 2012, as we had tickets for rugby at Twickenham. When we telephoned the hotel, the week before our stay, we received an answering machine message stating that the hotel is closed for refurbishment until August 2012. We had received no notification of this situation, and Late Rooms had no notification either.

With a week to go before our planned visit and ALL hotels in Richmond fully booked, we were left to scramble around for alternative accommodation, elsewhere in London, at significant cost.
Perhaps the proprietor of the hotel can explain why this has happened?

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nok777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.5 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel - Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel - Richmond

Property: Riverside Hotel - Richmond
Address: 23 Petersham Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel - Richmond 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing