We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh, Pricey but Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Richmond Gate Hotel
Leeds
2 reviews
“Posh, Pricey but Good”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed here 2 nights in July 2010 on business. Staff very efficient and friendly and hotel very nice. Rooms average size but clean and well equipped, mini bar prices scandalous, £2.50 for a small bottle of water. The Aircon was unable to keep the room comfortable and so I had to mark the sleep experience down.

Free parking and wifi a bonus. The hotel is really close to a number of lovely parks and scenery. A good base to visit Richmond and the surrounding district from.

Food excellent quality but again pricey, as are the main bar prices. I'd recommend venturing 50 metres down the hill to the Roebuck pub, excellent ranges of real ales and other lagers. Food not bad there either.

The hotel's swimming pool and fitness suite was well equipped and worth a visit.

I'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndieBoyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    311
    197
    91
    42
See reviews for
161
471
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwold
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I always stay at the Richmond Gate in prefence to a central London hotel. I love to swim first thing in the morning and I also enjoy the walk down Richmond Hill to the train station.
Bedrooms are comfortable and newly re-furbished with a very high standard of cleanliness. Feather pillows and comfortable matresses make for a very good nught's sleep.
The location is gorgeous with the many small boutiques and most high street shops available a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Richmond has two theatres and several cinemas so lots to do. It is about 20 minutes oin the fast train from Waterloo and attractions like the Festival Hall and London Eye!
A great place to stay all round!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Superb hotel located in beautiful Richmond . Excellent base if visiting places such as Wimbledon, Kew Gardens, Twickenham and Hampton Court Palace, with the added advantage of a straightforward commute into central London on the District Line . The hotel is beautifully presented with elegant public lounges and gorgeous bedrooms....a touch of luxury at a fairly reasonable price! First choice of hotel for further trips to London for business or pleasure .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yummymummy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Stayed for one night (Saturday) on a weekend trip in June in a single room, which was mostly taken up by the large, comfortable bed, but the spotless newly renovated bathroom more than made up for the small size of the bedroom. Excellent waterfall shower with plenty of hot water. Room to the back was quiet, even though there was a wedding reception in the evening in the conservatory just below my room.
Staff were friendly and very helpful. Decor is classical English countryside style. Location is great just a few minutes walk from what is probably the best view of the Thames in London and extensive parklands and gardens. Richmond town centre is easily accessed on foot.
Would definitely stay here again, cost was as expected for hotels in this part of London but at just under GBP100 definitely value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pet-ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Great location, close to attractions.
Rooms were large and very comfortable.
Good breakfast and service

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CozyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Richmond Gate far exceeded my expectations. Travelled down to watch Rugby International and would definitely use again on the next occasion. Makes a refreshing change from bland hotel chains and is very convenient for Twickenham. Can't fault the room size, room or service.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Stayed here as part of a wedding party on 14 Mar. Easy parking for free at front of hotel. On entering reception was smooth, nice furnishings and friendly staff. Room was small but well furnished and clean. We had breakfast in the conservatory, good selection and well laid out. Bar prices are absolute robbery, I would have felt better if the staff had worn masks and waved a shotgun at me. £21.50 for a gin and tonic, vodka and coke, diet coke and a small bottle of beer is just mad. Take your own drink and have it in the room. Leisure centre is great, swimming pool is really nice and big

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,493 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#5 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.6 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#13 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
114 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Property: Richmond Gate Hotel
Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing