We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice base for a weekend in London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Richmond Gate Hotel
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Overall a good hotel in a very nice area. Check in was rather slow, however we were pleased that our room was available earlier than the 3pm check in. The room was small, but pleasantly decorated, very comfortable bed and pillows. Excellent shower.
Rather disappointing was the lack of toiletries in the bathroom - no shower gel! When my wife asked a cleaner for some, there was none available. The soap & shampoo were not up to much either.
Pool and gym facilities are outstanding (perhaps one of the best in greater London). Free parking on site is a real advantage.
Would recommend this hotel for those wanting to be close to the hustle and bustle of the city (Waterloo 15 min by train), but want somewhere a bit more relaxed to come back to. Some lovely restaurants nearby - Rock and Rose a real gem!
Be aware that wedding receptions are held in the hotel which might be disruptive / noisy (however the reception on the Sat night was reasonably quiet and was from 8 to 11pm).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2009

This hotel does what it says on the website.
It is well sited and has a cheerful and obliging staff. The ambience is comfortable and the food good.
Most of all it was quiet, the staff attentive and the facilities werecomfortable. Our room was on the small side but everything worked well.
We would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoublinPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed at the Richmond Gate Hotel when attending friends' wedding last weekend.

We checked in at around 2:30 pm on Saturday. The hotel made a very good first impression and the reception staff were very nice. We just dropped our bags off in our small-ish, but modern, well decorated and spotlessly clean room, then left to attend our friends' reception at Pembroke Lodge, not far from the hotel.

When we returned from the wedding at around 11 pm, we were both completely beat - it had been a long day, lots of travelling etc. We were craving peace and quiet. However, we came back to the hotel to find that there was a wedding held in the downstairs conservatory. Our rooms were pretty much directly above this; the loud music from downstairs made it completely impossible to sleep and went on until around 12:30. After that, loud (drunken) voices in the garden, which our room overlooked, meant we still could not find any rest, and there was much running in the corridor outside our room. Youth-hostel atmosphere really. The single glazing meant that even tightly shut windows (and the stuffy room that this created) didn't make any difference. We finally slept at around 2pm...

On waking up the next morning, we didn't feel particularly rested, but were still looking forward to a nice, leisurely breakfast and a relaxing Sunday. We went down to breakfast at 9:30, were promptly seated. Coffee was served within a few minutes and everything seemed quite nice. They were a bit slow in keeping the buffet stocked up, but at least it felt like they tried to keep it going and the breakfast itself was nice. I had some lovely fruit salad and croissants. My partner commented that the English Breakfast wasn't fantastic due to having sat out on the buffet for too long, but he still enjoyed it. Unfortunately the quite nice breakfast was completely ruined by the waitress, who came over after just a few minutes and started clearing our table while we wee still sitting at it. I don't mean she just took away our used plates - but cutlery, serviettes etc, and even my saucer the second i lifted my cup to take a sip of coffee! Completely unprofessional, but with the clear message that we were to hurry up and get out of the way. When I said to her that we were still eating, she looked at me uncomprehendingly, and removed the (uneaten!) toast in its rack and full glasses of juice as well.

When we checked out, we complained about the noise and unfriendly treatment. The lady at reception reacted very well initially, she seemed genuinely sorry. However, she said she was unable to take anything off our £200 bill; then she asked her boss, who offered to give us the breakfast for free, but that was it. I think this is ridiculous - we would have had a better experience in a Travel Lodge for £50!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Having considered hotels in the centre of London, we thought we would go the cheaper route and drive to Richmond, stay at hotel there and leave the car in the car park and take the tube in. The Gate Hotel provided the opportunity ! The hotel was certainly value for money. The bedroom, although not enormous, was comfortable and tidy, and 'served the purpose'. Breakfast was tasty. We didn't use the pool but it looked great ! Only suggestion would be re-painting all the grey down to the rooms in the basement with a brighter colour.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCMHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for one night in September as it is close to my work's London offices. It is a rather large hotel with a lot of bedrooms, the rooms themselves (or at least the one I was in) wasn't that large. I wouldn't like to stay there for an extended period of time, it could get quite cramped. The decor could have done with some update, there was paint cracking off the window frame and the window itself was very old fashioned and only single glazed (although surrounding noise at night wasn't a problem).

There is a separate restaurant and bar area, neither are extremely large. Bar seemed to be adequately stocked with big brands to satisfy most people's needs. The restaurant had a good choice of food but I wouldn't say it was outstanding food that was on offer, the club sandwich that I had was okay - I've had better.

There is a large fitness centre and swimming pool attached to the hotel for your use.

There is free wi-fi in the rooms but where I was located the signal was very poor, so I had to resort to using my 3g card.

The staff I encountered on my visit were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weeyin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I stayed at the hotel two weekends ago with my wife. I just wanted to say a big thank you to Lisa who made our stay !!!
We asked reception if they had a travel adapter as we had forgotten ours. We were told by reception that they had ran out, and that we could get one in the town centre.
Lisa who was standing next to the desk said We have another hotel next door let me go and see if they have one.
After ten mins she knocked on our door with the adapter WOW the fact she was so friendly and nothing was to much trouble!!!!
This is a great hotel! we asked her what she did and she said she was covering the housekeeping! Well Lisa the room was spotless thanks again

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

ROOM: perfect, very clean and swish, bathrom was a good size with a massive shower head, nice warm water with good pressure. Lovely little plasma screen, complete tea/coffee facilities and good range in mini bar if slightly pricy (half bottle of moet at £30!). Not a speck of dirt anywhere, even in spaces that are normally missed, e.g. scurting boards and top of wardrobe etc. The only reason for our 4 star rating is that i feel the room could have been slightly bigger. We ordered some sandwiches and hand cooked chips for £16 which were delivered quickly by a well dressed room service lad. Food was more than expected, had chrisps and salad as well as 3 pieces of bread in sandwich. Best chips ive ever eaten too!

STAFF: always helpful, very quick check in, no fuss but be warned they take a £100 holding deposit which we were not expecting and isnt mentioned on web page.

REST OF HOTEL: itslike being in someones home, all fluffed pillows and todays newspapers, did not use bar, resturant or leisure facilities becasue we spent most of our time in London town but menu looked amazing if not slightly pricy, approx £40-50 a head for satrter to desert.

LOCAL AREA: approx 10 minutes walk from train station or 5 minute on bus #371. theres some nice shops on way, Aveda, Crabtree and Evellyn, Fat Face etc as well as 3-4 local pubs which were very busy but in no way rowdy. tescos is down the road for neccessities and a 24 hour convenience store too as well as many resturants and take outs from a Nandos to nice chineases and Indians. " minutes frim the hotel is themost amazing view, beautiful at sundown which you can watch after buying a drink in the oub and siting on benches outside. A beatuiful park belowwith lovelly walk/job route along canal. Whole area is best described as rather 'top end' , i.e. where rich business people live!!!! London is easy to get to on District line straight to Westminister for example being 20 minutes away.

On the whole we were well chuffed and would definitly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambGirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#4 of 15 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,599 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#3 of 15 in Richmond-upon-Thames
697 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 15 in Richmond-upon-Thames
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Teddington
552 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range: $133 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing