We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richmond Gate Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here on a deal from travel zoo, after reading previous reviews I was not expecting a great stay, but I must give credit it was a lovely quiet relaxing stay. Staff really friendly, lovely welcome, car parking is great value, the hotel is clean with lots of character. No lift to the older parts of the hotel. The evening meal was excellent with a good choice of wine, and breakfast was laid in the conservatory which again was very pleasant. The free use of the Spa was really lovely, a great swim, sauna and steam room, although bear in mind that children use the pool from school finishing until around 5.30.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed experience. It is always a huge honour to read comments about team members and the service they have provided. I am grateful that we were able to overcome your apprehensions unfortunately on occasion some guests are quick to give negative feedback on sites such as this. I thank you for keeping an open mind and taking the time to make a positive review.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    299
    183
    80
    42
See reviews for
153
445
30
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Julia and I have stayed at the Richmond Gate Hotel a few times on our travels; both times we have enjoyed the courteous, helpful, friendly staff.

The hotel is full of character and is located on the edge of the very beautiful Richmond Park. We have enjoyed both the ambience and eating quality food in their restaurant.

There is a Gym/Pool/Spa - we have been too busy running around the very gorgeous Richmond Park to make use of these facilities, maybe another time?

Parking is easy; the hotel has its own car park directly in front - there is a charge of £5 per day.

The rooms are very well kept, as you would expect from a hotel in Richmond, we did notice the fan in the bathroom was not working - we didn't mind this but others might.

We had problems with the internet. We have been advised that the wireless is checked every month because there are a lot of executives that stay here and work from here. The connection was unusable for us and this was put down to the football and guests streaming the game live over the internet; however, it was just as bad the following Sunday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anadi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed experience. I do take on board your comments relating to our free Wi-Fi and I am sorry it was not working as effectively as we would have liked and we do routinely check the system. During peak demands it can slow a little especially when multiple users are streaming large amounts. We are currently looking at upgrading this facility.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel for your trip to Richmond.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times now and, so far, I wasn't quite sure whether this hotel is average or, below average. Now, having experienced dinner in the restaurant, I'm sure it's very below average. The only reason not to rate it as 'poor' is that the staff are actually helpful - when you can find them and ask for what you'd like that is...
This is your typical 80's experience. Lots of stairs, up and down, and lots of corridors leading to, mainly, small rooms; some of them with limited daylight due to their location in the souterrain. Minbars all empty and air-cons with varying degrees of effectiveness (sometimes "zero" effectiveness i.e. broken). Go to the bar and there's usually no-one there to serve you so; you either have to be patient for a rather long time until someone shows up or, you need to go and look for someone. Same for the restaurant. Once you have managed to be shown a table you'd be confronted with an unimaginative menu and, only if you're "stuck" in the 80's, you'd be "delighted" to find old favourites like sirloin with chips, mushroom and tomato or breast of chicken (really ???). Execution of the dishes reminds you, you’ve guessed it, of the 80’s again. Lack of seasoning and luke warm. Combine that with super overpriced drinks (e.g. 17 GBP for a glass of wine) and you’re paying out GBP 50 for a very mediocre meal (that’s for one person – no dessert !) and you’d need to be very kind to rate this place as average…

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room in the souterrain. These are small and have very limted daylight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trungelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I was very sorry to read that you described your stay with us as “very average”. I must apologise that you felt the standard of room that you were allocated was small and not to your liking we do of course offer an executive or suite room type at an additional cost.
I was disappointed to read your comment in reference to the style of food and I will of course be discussing this as a matter with the Head Chef.
We are in fact reviewing our beverage prices at the moment and we carry out regular competitor checks. To be honest I am having difficulty finding a glass of wine at £17.00 per glass that we serve I can only assume that you are mistaken?
I agree the mini bar in your standard room was empty I wish to assure you that this is intentional. Mini bars may be stocked on your request or simply used as a fridge for your own refreshments I am sorry that you were disappointed with this facility.
It is only through comments such as those you have made that we are able to improve our standard and service.
Thank you once again for your feedback

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed for two nights as friends were getting married in the hotel. (Great ceremony!)
Staff were attentive, knowledgable and really helpful. Beautiful location with loads of top pubs and eateries in walking distance. The inclusive Spa had all the usual - running machines, exercise bikes, weights room, a good sized pool, hydrotherapy pool with steam room and sauna.
A memorable stay in a lovely hotel in a special location.
Recommended.....and Nick, the "Weller-esque" manager was top.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_And_Kim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us; it is always great to read comments such as yours. On a personal note thank you for your kind words. As always It always gives me great pleasure to read comments about the team as they are our greatest asset
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Richmond.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for two nights last weekend (May 23/24) for the wedding of friends. The staff were excellent, the rooms were clean and of good order with quality toiletries etc. The wedding was held at the hotel and the service, meal and overall customer care was very good. The recently appointed manager, Nick, really went out of his way to make sure everyone's needs we're attended to, even providing a private room for the wedding guests on the Sunday morning. Certainly a hotel I will go back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the spa, slight smell of chlorine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read how much you had enjoyed the wedding which you attended. It is always great to read comments about the service team members have provided and on a personal note thank you for your kind words.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel I do hope this sooner rather than later.

Kind regards

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here last Sunday for one night, room 42.We were in two minds whether to stay at the hotel due to some of the negative reviews but we are so glad we did stay. Easy to park and the reception staff were very polite and helpful. The room was well furnished, normally I have trouble sleeping at hotels but we had a great night's sleep, the bed was very comfy.
The hotel is very well situated just 10 mins walk to some lovely looking restaurants, we ate in Chez Lindsay's which was great.
Visited the pool area which was very quiet and relaxing and again very polite staff.
We were so impressed we have booked for two nights in June for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the trip advisor website. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed experience. It is always a huge honour to read comments about team members and the service they have provided. I am grateful that we were able to overcome your apprehensions unfortunately on occasion some guests are quick to give negative feedback on sites such as this and therefore I thank you for keeping an open mind and taking the time to make a positive review I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in June.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Location fab, hotel good although found the rooms tad small for the twin room we had. The weather was hot so didn't use the facilities as there was so much to do in Richmond itself with Royal Parks & restaurants nearby. Staff really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read how much you had both enjoyed your “Girlie Weekend” with us. It is always me great pleasure to read comments about the friendly and helpful service that team members have provided.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel for your next excursion to Richmond.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Property: Richmond Gate Hotel
Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing