We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My worse stay in a hotel for years with 8 legged friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richmond Gate Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
rob140567
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“My worse stay in a hotel for years with 8 legged friends”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I often read horror stories on trip advisor and think they would never happen in a hotel they would be out of business. Sadly my stay in the Richmond Gate has made me think again.

On arrival I enquired about dinner and was told no becuase restaurant was full. Fair enough but maybe a " could we book you somewhere else, could we do you a sandwich in your room or a bar snack would have been nice. I got no help at all which set the tone for the stay.

I was in room 40 which is a baseroom room someway from reception, down narrow corridors and several steps finishing off with two flights of stairs. Just as well I could manage my bags as no one offered any assistance. My first impression was room was spacious and looked ok, mini bar although as per normal expensive was stocked and all seemed well. Although room was cold it had a heater which worked.

As i had to now go out to eat i decided to shower and change. Shower stayed luke warm for about 30 seconds before going cold. Bathroom had two large spiders in, cracked title and mould on the tiles. Attached is a picture of cracked tile and spider.

When I went out I spoke with reception who said thats not good but offered no apology or any offer to remedy the problem.

I returned to the hotel about 10:30 to find a large function going on and band playing. When i got to my room ready for a good nights sleep ahead of my long drive the next day i was horrified to find the noise was such that I could not hear the TV, sound was best from TV as picture quality very poor. I called reception who said the function would finish at 11:15 and that would be the end of the noise. I asked if I was below the function as ceiling was being pounded constantly, I was assured I was not. At 11:45 and on my 3rd call to reception I asked to move room, I was told there were no other rooms. The music stopped about 23:55 but the people walking about and talking (which I could hear quite clearly) carried on until about 01:00. It also appears that outside my window was a smoking point. I tried the hotel website to check on booking and strangely enough you could still book rooms which is interesting if they had none left!

I awoke early next morning to find my leg and foot covered in insect bites (see attached picture). I killed another spider in bathroom, had another luke warm/cod shower, used the loo which sounds like an aircraft taking off when you flush it and left.

At the check out no attempt was made to see if I enjoyed my stay so i volunteered to the lady that I had just had an awful night, I had been bitten by insects, shower was awful and this was my worse in stay in a hotel for years. She said "thats a shame". I left before my temper made me say something I regretted.

I called the hotel twice yesterday to speak to a duty manager, told both times I would get a call back. Still waiting


Truly awful experience. Room was £119 which is good value by G&T in bar was £10 and I was charged for parking which was not made clear to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    299
    184
    80
    42
See reviews for
153
446
30
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwold
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

It was great to stay at my favourite London hotel under new management. It is always a lottery when a new manager arrives sweeping clean, however Andrew Lee has brought a breath of fresh air with his lively and thoughtful approach. Staff smile more and engage with guests easily and in a relaxed and friendly manner. The menu has improved and ther are lots of healthy choices. The chef still makes his delicious cookies for those naughty yet pleasurable moments when calories don't matter! The rooms are much the same and are kept spotlessly clean by the staff. This is excellent and an outstanding feature of this hotel. I love the quirkiness of this hotel with its unashamed mix of Georgian and Rugby - well Twickenham is but a balls throw from this delightful hotel. As always the walk to the station is a great start to the day after an early morning swim in the fabulous spa facilties. On my last stay in early November I sat and watched no less than 7 firework displays all going off somewhere over the river and easily visible from their heights of Richmond Hill.

Thanks again to all at the Richmond Gate for a fabulous stay!

Room Tip: I like a garden view best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booked on booking. com and asked not to be in the basement and you've guessed we were put in the basement! Would expect a good room even when booking late so as to attract repeat business. The hotel was clearly not busy. Staff at reception were courteous and very friendly. Room was very small and basic. The water pressure was almost non-existent in the sink and bath, only just enough to have a shower! We were not told when booking that on Sundays dinner is not served and you have to eat in the bar which was very uncomfortable. Breakfast was definitely not worth £16.50, the eggs were badly under cooked. Would not go again or recommend.

Room Tip: Try asking not to be put in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Having found the hotel on late rooms we appreciated that we were getting a sizeable discount on the rack rate and certainly got very good value for our stay. Two families were accommodated in rooms 20 and 22 both spacious rooms with excellent views from the front of the building (although I would imagine the next floor would have even better views). Reception was very busy on arrival and although there was a delay checking in this was dealt with efficiently with an apology for the wait. At all times we found staff both friendly and helpful - although numbers of people can cause delays the staff remained polite and always apologised for any wait. Breakfast was very good although not enough tables for all the residents in the hotel this created no more than a short wait. Spa facilities very good staff very helpful and accommodating jacuzzi not working was a disappointment but everything was free! However the hotel does need to resolve its dinner service, the staff are more than helpful but the quality of food needs serious attention. On the first evening due to the late arrival of my brothers family we chose to eat in - perhaps the fact as there was only one other couple in the dining room this should have caused us pause to reconsider. Not cheap and certainly not up to the standard expected of a four star hotel. As the only seven left in the dining room the delay in serving our main course was unexpected but the fact that the adult meals were lukewarm at best was disappointing. The quality of the children's meals was particularly poor.
Would recommend to others and would return but would look to eat out

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tintintin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Arrived an hour early but our room was ready and we were allowed to check in. Room was fine, large clean modern bathroom. Parking was easy and walk to nearest bars and shops of Richmond was 15 mins down hill. Lovely area visited Richmond park next door, well worth a visit.
Caught train to central London, station was 20 mins walk away, advisable to get a taxi back if you've had a busy day sightseeing or shopping.
Extra bed for 11 year old provided was only really suitable only for a toddler, son could not sleep on the very thin mattress and could feel the springs, I have better padding on my garden sun loungers. Did raise this next day with housekeeping, they were helpful but the blanket they placed over the springs did not solve the problem, a good nights sleep is a minimum requirement when staying in a hotel, and even put up beds should have a proper mattress.
Breakfast was busy as dining area very small, however this wasn't a problem but we all found the food tasteless and the English breakfast was greasy.
Pack lunch provided with deal was fresh and good value.
All the staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble, however I would not stay in this hotel again due to the sleeping problems and disappointing breakfast. I would recommend the area if you wanted somewhere close to London without the hustle of being in the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvelmadmarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed in a standard room, which was nice but on the small side. Very comfortable bed, fantastic shower.
We went for a spa break, recommend the massage and facial. The pool was a disappointment: not very big, full of children in a swimming lesson....nowhere to relax before or after treatments.
Excellent evening meal -the scallops on seafood risotto was delicious as was the strawberry tea and the breakfast....spa break good value for money.
Hotel well placed for sightseeing on the outskirts of London: Kew, Hampton Court etc

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Everything was very comfortable, the room rate was very reasonable and breakfast was good. Service was excellent and all the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The shower was excellent. Only two minor niggles - the rooms are quite cramped and the choice of TV channels seemed to be very limited.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloDover_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Property: Richmond Gate Hotel
Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing