We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go unless you have hours to spare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Richmond Gate Hotel
bury
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't go unless you have hours to spare”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel was old and quaint, but that was all the appeal that it had, it was in need of updating in places and looked far from being an English 4 star hotel. The bedrooms are that small you feel enclosed and the carpets required a good hovering, the bathroom though large was in need of updating, the tiles had mould in the grouting and it felt neglected. The worst part of the stay was the slowness of the staff, if you are in a rush to have breakfast yo need to get up very early, you never got an entire English breakfast as at least 2 or 3 things had always run out and getting it refilled took ages regardless of asking them to do it. Finally checking out on a Sunday with just one member of staff on reception was an ordeal that only the very patient could endure, dreadful.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor there should be less noise from the creaking floor boards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathryn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    303
    192
    83
    41
See reviews for
159
452
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Close to centre (15 mins by foot), bedrooms both modern and tradtional. Staff attentive but disappointed with service at reception. Takes up 30 minutes to check as only 1 member of staff to undertake this task LONG QUEUES AND TOOK A LONG TIME. Bath taps did not work only shower and no help or discount provided. Breakfast was to be hot BUT was cold and disappointing. Not enough staff to cope with demand of residents in restaurant and cold food was serviced without apology. Over priced bar drinks and lack of car parking spaces caused many problems. We were given a standard room with a brick wall view from window! Complained and adventually got a bottle of Italian Wine as compensation! Changed rooms for second night but lack of facilites and an over priced mini bar added to our disappointment of the hotel. The gym was very small no help provided by staff to use equipement and no staff on hand to ask either. The weight gym room lacked sufficient weights both free weights and resistance machines, disappointing.

The Pool although divided into 3 sections was inadequate for residents as swimming lessons took place for the locals on a regular basis and a VERY small swimming area for adults residents proved disappointing. The food bar in the swimming area was adequate but was over priced and it was a long wait for food and drinks. Both Hotels (Richmond Gate & Hill used the gym and pool facilities but worth checking out deals for both prior to booking.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room and view room prior to settling in - get voucher for breakfast as cheaper t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaTD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We were part of a group booking for a weekend away to enjoy the army navy rugby at twickenham. The rooms were booked on the 25th January. My husband and I arrived on the Saturday, after spending 6 hours on the road, and a further 45 minutes trying to park, to find that the hotel was overbooked, and we had been moved to the Richmond Hill Hotel next door. We were told they had a huge car park and parking wouldn't be an issue. Wrong!!! Another 40 minutes, including a 13 point turn due to abandoned cars later, we finally manage to park.

We then meet with the rest of our group and find that another couple within our group were also moved, to a different hotel, and had been expected to pay the difference!!!

Anyhow, at least the rugby was fun.

We returned to the hotel (Richmond hill) and were greeted with a smile, but still at no point had we had an apology for being separated from our friends. No offer of help to get to our room (literally in the rafters!) and no mention of breakfast or anything.

Our room (once we got the lift, then had to carry on up stairs with heavy bags) was very much on the small side, and had clearly been made up for a single, not a married couple. We had to search for a second set of towels.

We headed over to meet our friends at the Richmond gate hotel bar. As we were not residents at this hotel, we were not a priority. It took a long while to get served.

I left early to head to bed, and popped to reception at the hill to ask about breakfast, I have to say, the lady was lovely, and chatty, and sorted out a discounted breakfast for us. She also asked her colleague to search for hot chocolate for me which wasnt found, but very sweet of her. Thankyou.

Breakfast wasnt anything to shout about, how it can be worth £16.95 I have no idea, but the coffee is nice at least! I would certainly look for a deal including breakfast in future, although frankly, for the huge cost of a tiny room, I'd expect breakfast thrown in!

All in all, not hugely impressed with our experience, we have decided to go for a budget hotel next April for the rugby. I can imagine it being much nicer here if a little more attention was paid to the small things.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redandwhiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel was really no better than a Travelodge. It was noisy, busy, small rooms and impersonal. It is also very old fashioned in its style which is not what the photos show. Basic tea facilities, no mini bar. Location is good to get in and out of Richmond. I would not have booked this hotel had I known what it was like.

We didn't use the spa.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketravelling37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Want more of your weekend break to London - go to Richmond! This hotel has the best location of all in Richmond, right next to the fantastic Richmond park. This enables you to have a wonderful walk or run in the park in the morning which can then be followed by the thrills of the city in the afternoon. Richmond itself has also lots of things to see and experiance such as wonderful pubs and shops.
Inside the hotel you get good value for money but not more. It is rated as 4 star but this is more of 3 including the price. Staff is friendly but not as attentive to details as you would expect in 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask what size the room is since pictures on web site give wrong impression
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anders014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Excellent hotel in a lovely location with particularly comfortable beds! Breakfast buffet style but everything hot and tasty. Only 30 minutes from central london but as a seasoned central london stayer made a nice change to stay out in the 'country' on the edge of Richmond Park which is lovely and peaceful - deer roaming around and good bike hire for all ages. Good size pool in the health spa.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Have just spent a weekend at this Hotel which was very comfortable with friendly staff. Breakfast were served in a very pleasant conservatory style room overlooking the garden - good choice of hot and cold food.
The Richmond Gate is ideally situated for visiting Richmond town centre, walks in the Park or by the river. It is also very easy to get in to London using the train either overground or underground saving all the parking hassle of central London.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devontrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
0.6 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Property: Richmond Gate Hotel
Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing