We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Petersham Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kellington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night for a family party , the hotel was first class although maybe a little old fashioned , the bed was so comfy and it was quiet , I did not know such a place existed so close to town
Would stay again

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    205
    87
    38
    21
See reviews for
116
270
36
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I live not far from the Petersham, but wanted somewhere really special for some friends to stay for a few days when they were over. We had dinner there. The meal was excellent and my friends kept raving about the room, the beds and the service. They gave me a tour of their room and it was lovely. The hotel is Victorian but the amenities are 21st century. The Petersham has wonderful views across Petersham Meadows to the River Thames and is in easy walking distance of Richmond. If you are staying there do visit the Terrace Gardens which sits alongside the Petersham and down to the towpath along the river.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Someone at work won a two course meal at the Petersham Restaurant in a charity raffle and gave it to me. We went there today. What a lovely place. Staff were faultless especially the Maitre D who knew precisely what was going on in his restaurant, where everyone was and what should be happening.

The food was superb, the service excellent, the views across Petersham Meadows and the Thames absolutely amazing and calming. PLUS the poshest ladies toilets in Europe!!

We would never have thought of going there for lunch thinking it was extremely expensive however, looking at the menu, we would be happy to go there every now and then for a treat. I am going to have a look at how much their Sunday lunch is as we often treat ourselves when we have had a busy week.

It is a thumbs up from me and the husband for the Petersham although I do have to say that I agree with the comments about the parking. I had no trouble actually parking but getting out of my parking space was quite difficult as there were cars parked in the middle of the car park between the two marked rows. I have a new car and had to do several manoeuvres to get out of the parking space to avoid smacking a Porsche (Company insurance would not have been happy with that!).

We have been to many good restaurants and hotels and in some of them the staff are a bit snooty, the staff at the Petersham are excellent. Looking forward to going back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bow28t55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here just for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby. As we would hardly be in the room we booked the cheapest double available - £165!! For that sort of price the room was pretty disappointing - small and in need of refurbishment - peeling paint and varnish on furniture. On the plus side the location and views are stunning. The only meal we had was the breakfast which was excellent - it's not often you get a cooked breakfast freshly made (versus buffet) these days and the food and breakfast room were first rate. If I stayed in Richmond again I'd probably try somewhere else - but some of the larger rooms at a better rate may well change my view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went for lunch with work colleagues, we had the set lunch menu which had plenty of choice, i opted for the skate which was absolutely gorgeous followed by Creme Brulee again lovely. The service was excellent and the setting is just beautiful i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodie1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This lovely restaurant make you feel like a princess, i had tea here with 2 friends and 4 family members for my 20th. The staff were warm and welcoming (no looking down their noses as can be the case in places like this) they were just wonderful- nothing was too much trouble, even the manager putting my birthday flowers into water and in a lovely vase on the table.
The lovely french waiter who served us was friendly and did everything he could to make our afternoon perfect.
The tea was delicious and the cakes were too die for! We ended up bringing the left overs home and enjoying them the next afternoon, the scones were fresh and light and the pastries were just delicious.
A wonderful afternoon and a beautiful view to enjoy in the warm afternoon sun! Comfortable and just delicious, left feeling full and happy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Not knowing where to stay in Richmond, and not being able to stay with friends as they had house guest, they recommended The Petersham Hotel. I must say, they made an excellent recommendation. I adored the fact that upon entering, you do not see the front desk, but a grand staircase. The rooms were impeccably clean and very roomy. The bathroom was a dream. Plenty of closet and drawer space for my clothes throughout. WiFi service was fantastic. Breakfast was perfect. Afternoon drinks with that view of the Thames was breathtaking. The staff was very accommodating and laundry service was impeccable. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel or it's staff. I will say, I came in EARLY in the morning one day and the staff gave a good ribbing about me having a great time....and I did. I highly recommend this property to stay. It is just down the hill from Richmond Park, across the road from the Thames River, and a few minutes walk to the train station. In-town, but out-of-town at the same time. Perfect. Cheers!!!!!

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms that faced the woods on the top floor as they are more private and you can hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiceFLGuy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#5 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#13 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Petersham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Petersham Hotel

Property: The Petersham Hotel
Address: Nightingale Lane, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Petersham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Petersham, we believe that a proper night’s sleep is the most important part of anyone’s stay.- 8 miles from Heathrow Airport, Central London and the West End.- Easy access to A3, M3, M4 and M25 motorways.- 5 minutes to Richmond station – South West trains and District Underground Line.- Free parking.- Free WiFi.- Spectacular views over the River Thames and meadows.- The restaurant offers modern European cooking by award winning head chef Alex Bentley.Check in time from 14.00Check out time before 11.00Room types:- 5 single rooms- 37 double rooms- A wheel-chair friendly room- 15 River View double rooms- The PenthouseCancellation Policy:No charge if cancelled by 16.00 on the day before arrival. After this time, the room charge for the first night will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Petersham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersham Hotel Richmond
Hotel Petersham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing