We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Petersham Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our second stay at the Petersham and it doesn't disappoint. Easy walk to Richmond Park or along the river to Richmond with a great choice of pubs, cafes, restaurants etc or the train station where it's about 25 minutes into the centre of London. Very comfortable rooms, some with the famous Thames view. The staff are very efficient and helpful especially the concierge and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiS662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    194
    82
    37
    20
See reviews for
110
258
34
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baku
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed there 1 week for a business trip. Nice location and great view from the hotel restaurant and court to Thames and wide green areas. I think it is some historic building from 19th century. 15 minutes walk to the Richmond town centre and train station. You can also take bus no. 65 to the town centre.
Single room was quite small and small bathroom with no door which annoyed me a little because it was cold. Cleanliness was OK.
Staff is very friendly. Restaurant, including breakfast is OK, but expensive.
Decent free parking area.
I did not choose the room and got backyard and staircase view from my window.

Room Tip: There are some rooms looking inside court of the hotel. Make sure you get one with nature view at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmanelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel. We have been driving in Wales, Ireland, Scotland and England for the last one month. This is our last hotel before coming back to
Australia. We selected this hotel for two reasons. One is its close proximity to the airport. Second reason was that we could easily take the train from Richmond to visit London. We were coming from Stratford-Upon-Avon and it took us less than two hours to get to this hotel. We knew were very early. The room was not ready and there was no parking space. We left the car on the front yard and went to the reception. We left the car keys with them to move or park the car later and asked them to get a taxi for us. The taxi took us to the station and we managed to visit all the places before returning to the hotel in the evening.
When we came back, the car has been properly parked and our room made ready. The rooms are small and there is no air conditioning in the rooms. The hotel building is one of the oldest buildings in Richmond and about 150 years old. I can understand why the rooms are small.
Apart from this drawback, the hotel reception and the service were exceptionally good. We had four bags in the car and we needed to pack them properly before returning the car at the airport. The hotel reception arranged to deliver all the bags into our room.
We had our breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Food was tasty and well prepared. We get a good view of the Thames river from the restaurant. Our flight was in the night and we wanted a late check out. The hotel was fully booked, but they accommodated our request to give us more time.
This is a very good hotel, a classic example of Old World Charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewFernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at the Petersham Hotel we were on the understanding that our accommodation was from 19th - 26th June. At no point during our stay were we informed otherwise. We had communicated with the front office staff on numerous occasions again indicating our dates. On returning to the hotel in the evening of the 25th after a day trip we asked the front office person to arrange a taxi for us of the morning of the 26th. We then went to our room to discover someone else was in our room and all our baggage had disappeared! On returning to the font desk to enquire what was happening we were informed we had overstayed. This was the first time we had been informed of the booking misunderstanding. Then we were informed another booking had been made for us at another hotel and we will call a taxi...this was the first we knew of this. The lack of communication was appalling and we were humiliated by the whole experience. Front office staff very poor. We will not return or recommend The Petersham.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
171 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip. The hotel is a spectacular large victorian mansion with great service. Nice rooms and quiet. Breakfast £14.00. Free parking. 24hr service. Next door is a pub. Grate for Richmond, twickenham, kingston and the Thames. Locals highly recommend sunday lunch.
Only bad thing was the curtains were too small for the window, so let light in in the morning

Room Tip: just ask when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemingwayaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in the hotel. It is a beautiful building with a peaceful view over the Thames. You do not feel you are so close to London, it looks like a rural area surround by green. Rooms are ok, but not remarkable. Bathroom is small, but it was not a problem for a lonely traveller. Service was attemptive, but food is no more than regular. I was expecting a gym in the hotel, but the alternative was to run in Richmond. Finally, location was not the most convenient to me. To go to London it takes 10 to 15 minutes walking to Richmond station. It is not far, but not the most convenient if needed. But if you want to be away of the city buzz, it is perfect. Overall a good experience, but no big reasons to be memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danilo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Rooms are quite small but very comfortable and on the two occasions we have stayed here the hotel has been very peaceful. Breakfast is delicious and has the added benefit of a beautiful view overlooking Petersham Common and the river. We stayed here at the beginning of May for one night and then booked a Spring Break package which included dinner on one night. The dinner was nice but not the best meal we have eaten and I think we would have been disappointed if the cost of this had not been included in the package. There are lots of equally good restaurants in the town - and probably cheaper - particularly if you like wine with dinner! Although just outside of Richmond, it is an easy walk into the town - less than 10 minutes. Beware if the hotel orders you a taxi - a 2 minute trip cost £8 whereas when getting our own black cab from town it was just £6 for a trip at least twice the distance. The hotel is beautifully presented - the staircase and ladies toilets deserve a mention. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is in a great location for London and lots of other attractions. Richmond Park (come out of the hotel and turn right up the hill) is well worth a visit. Overall, a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Petersham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Petersham Hotel

Property: The Petersham Hotel
Address: Nightingale Lane, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Petersham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Petersham, we believe that a proper night’s sleep is the most important part of anyone’s stay.- 8 miles from Heathrow Airport, Central London and the West End.- Easy access to A3, M3, M4 and M25 motorways.- 5 minutes to Richmond station – South West trains and District Underground Line.- Free parking.- Free WiFi.- Spectacular views over the River Thames and meadows.- The restaurant offers modern European cooking by award winning head chef Alex Bentley.Check in time from 14.00Check out time before 11.00Room types:- 5 single rooms- 37 double rooms- A wheel-chair friendly room- 15 River View double rooms- The PenthouseCancellation Policy:No charge if cancelled by 16.00 on the day before arrival. After this time, the room charge for the first night will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Petersham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersham Hotel Richmond
Hotel Petersham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing