We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant yet oh so Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Petersham Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Katy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Elegant yet oh so Cozy”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

An elegant yet oh so cozy English countryside retreat. Service is superb... friendly and attentive. Looking out at green pastures, boats floating down the Thames as a full english breakfast is served is an unforgettable treat. The views are spectacular, rooms beautifully furnished and comfortable. The Petersham is just a short walk to the center of Richmond which is also a delight. This is one of the loveliest hotels I've ever had the pleasure to call a temporary Home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatySusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    201
    85
    38
    21
See reviews for
115
265
36
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've reviewed this hotel before, but I want to confirm that it is still most excellent. It's astonishing for me to have come several times over the past seven years and still find many of the same staff, especially in the restaurant, and catch up on news. How many times can a traveller say that!?!

I would split my evening meals between their fine restaurant and the little pub up the hill called the Roebuck. My home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have never stayed at the Petersham Hotel but have just been for lunch there with three friends. It is a lovely old hotel in a beautiful setting. The restaurant overlooks the River Thames and is bright and cheerful. We had the set lunch menu, which was nicely presented and good value. We all agreed that the food was excellent, and we never felt rushed. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had our wedding at the Petersham Hotel on the 12th October 2012 and had the most wonderful time - A Beautiful Hotel with lovely rooms in a Romantic setting with stunning views overlooking the Thames with cows wandering around in the fields below.

Caring staff took care of the two of us and our guests with lovely food and too much champagne.
It was all "Fantastic" as a certain person there would say.

Saturday we all walked down to Richmond for a Party on an old Paddle steamer "the Yarmouth Belle". A Brilliant time was had by all, and a lovely wedding to stay in our memories. ;-)

Room Tip: River rooms are more expensive but the View is quite breath taking and well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarzanhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a delight. Such a lovely building, gorgeous setting and stunning views. The room was pretty, traditional with a modern bathroom. Everything was absolutely spotless. Dinner in the restaurant was fantastic - best duck I've had. The staff were so pleasant too. A lovely stay and can't wait to go back. Also - the most pretty ladies toilet I've ever seen....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed 5 nights and loved every minute. The staff were friendly and efficient. The location is great, and only a short pleasant walk alongside the Thames to Richmond and the station. The beds are extremely comfortable, the bed linen gorgeous and the towels the fluffiest ever! The breakfast room has a wonderful view over the river and the breakfast is excellent with a huge choice of great English food.
We were there to visit family nearby and to enjoy London. It is easy to get to London by train and it is also on the bus route between Richmond and Kingston.

We would love to stay there again .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for a little break before having my baby. The hotel is in a brilliant location, walking distance to the river, shops and Richmond Pk.
We had a great dinner and breakfast in restaurant, although the head waiter was little scary.
Room was lovely and fairly spacious, we wish we upgraded to the river view room - next time!
Overall great and will return hopefully soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
969 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
419 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Park Hotel
Richmond Park Hotel
#10 of 11 in Richmond-upon-Thames
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Petersham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Petersham Hotel

Property: The Petersham Hotel
Address: Nightingale Lane, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#3 Luxury Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Petersham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Petersham, we believe that a proper night’s sleep is the most important part of anyone’s stay.- 8 miles from Heathrow Airport, Central London and the West End.- Easy access to A3, M3, M4 and M25 motorways.- 5 minutes to Richmond station – South West trains and District Underground Line.- Free parking.- Free WiFi.- Spectacular views over the River Thames and meadows.- The restaurant offers modern European cooking by award winning head chef Alex Bentley.Check in time from 14.00Check out time before 11.00Room types:- 5 single rooms- 37 double rooms- A wheel-chair friendly room- 15 River View double rooms- The PenthouseCancellation Policy:No charge if cancelled by 16.00 on the day before arrival. After this time, the room charge for the first night will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Petersham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersham Hotel Richmond
Hotel Petersham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing