We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in Richmond - simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2010

From the minute I arrived at the hotel I was met with great customer service and I really felt wanted. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble especially when I had forgot my toothbrush and toothpaste. Breakfast was great value for money, there was too much choice but definately set me up for the day. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,412 - 1,418 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2010

I spent three days in this wonderful, friendly and well located hotel. Just as others have noted, your hosts could not be friendlier, the atmosphere is delightful, and breakfast is delicious and completely filling for the day. I also very much enjoyed your Health Club where I went swimming every morning. In short - the Richmond Hill Hotel is the perfect place to relax and revive your soul. I will defintely come back to Richmond :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bibi131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I don't know where to start... Lets start with the positives I guess. The hotel is situated in a quiet location with easy access via car. They do have a car park which is free, although there are not many spaces so if there is a wedding or function when you book, you may not find a parking space. There is a bus service which goes past near the hotel frequently which can take you into Richmond city centre.

And thats about it really......

The bad, well first off the place is really tired and just looks like it needs a good old scrub. the staff the the reception desk are just rude and unhelpful. They made no attempt to look at me and talk, rather talk to their colleague about what they are going to do later that evening and then as an after thought asking me to produce my credit card and such details. Neither did anyone ask me or my partner if we needed a hand with our luggage which we managed to drag in. We finally recieved the card for the room, and again dragged our luggage into the tiny lift and up into our room. The room again was tired, dated and just falling apart. There also was a faint smell in the room, which wasn't pleasant either.

In the morning at breakfast we made the mistake of actually turning up to have breakfast and being an inconvinience to the staff there. as when we asked for tea the waitress merely looked at us sighed and walked off. This was basically the tone of their behaviour and mannerisms for the rest of the morning and every other morning. On 2 occassions when we arrived back in the evening the Towels has not been replaced, even though the dirty towels had been taken and also bins not emptied.
I could go on and on, with many more things, however I will some up with this. The hotel is overpriced, old, dingy, dated, smells and unpleasant staff. Will definately not be going back to this hotel EVER, even if it was free with sugar on top!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irfy835824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed here overnight as my partner had a job interview. Richmond is a stunning place and this hotel is in a good location. When we arrived there was a wedding reception taking place and we thought that we wouldn't get any sleep and bearing in mind we were on the same floor we didn't hear a thing.

The rooms were not huge but then it was only overnight that we were staying.

Hotel looked clean and tidy and the staff were friendly on check in.

We didn't use the hotel bar or restaurant as we arrived late evening so couldn't comment. Parking was free at the front of the hotel which is a bonus for the London area.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were in the Richmond area as it is ideally situated for many attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topcat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

delicious english breakfast with a great choice, very comfortable bed and super friendly stuff. we really enjoyed our time in the richmond hill and its fantastic surrounding. i was very surprised from the charming rooms and the cleanliness, as english hotels have not the best reputation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vogelwued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

The service was of a very high level and the staff were more then happy to help with any question we had, and always with a smile. checkin was very quick and we were in out room within 10mins of arriving, we were on the 2nd floor and had a great room that looked over the river and the hill. The room was very clean and tidy had one of the biggest double beds i have ever slept in, the bathroom was very clean and tidy and the shower was great. We also had breckfast the next morning, we were taken to our table and offered coffee and tea and it was brought straight to us nice and hot, we then helped our self to breckfast all the food was hot and well laid out. We then checked out and again this was very quick and fast, the staff were very friendley and with a smile. Over all I would recomend the hotel to my family and friends without any questions.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave01571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is what i wrote tonight. "I called yesterday and cancelled all future bookings with you . We were due to stay again for 3 days in September booking ref 19286 again twice in October for 3 days booking ref: 19287 and 19288. We also have 3 more weekend stays in Richmond in the next 6 months, we won't be giving you our business. We are voting with our feet as the service we received at your hotel was just too poor for words. We will be staying elsewhere where they value their guests more. " We ordered a kingsize bed as my partner is extremely tall and re-iterated our request with 4 follow up phone calls prior to arrival.. On arrival we were given twin beds. The room was excessively hot and the air conditioning didn't work. We complained after the first night and...nothing was done. We didn't sleep because of it. We complained again the second night, even calling from the restaurant in the evening to make sure. When we got back..nothing was done. We called down 5 times to reception after returning from the restaurant and no-one appeared. Someone came after 30 mins who knew absolutely nothing about the controls and couldn't fix it. they said the hotel was full so they couldn't move us. We removed the covers of the bed and had to put up with a noisy fan that simply moved the hot air around, we went home exhausted! The restaurant is expensive and in the evening we ate off brown plastic tables without even a tablecloth.The lighting was awful. We only ate there once...that was enough. Glad we bought our computer dongal as the Wi Fi was £10 a night!
We will never stay there again. We would rate this 4 star at best.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieDurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#8 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Coach and Horses
1.9 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#5 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#7 Business Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range: $125 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Richmond, Surrey, and only seven miles from Central London, London’s West End and Heathrow Airport, Richmond Hill Hotel is a 4 star hotel that features accommodation, restaurant, meeting and event rooms and a fabulous leisure centre. The hotel is near Richmond Station which is on the District line and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing