We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Claustrophobic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Claustrophobic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

After making a booking and paying extra for a 'superior' room, we arrived early and we're pleasantly surprised to find our room was ready for us.
The staff of reception were helpful and gave us lots of advice regarding the local area.
Our room however was much smaller than expected and not at all in any way superior, the bathroom was tiny and very awkward to use as the bathroom opened directly onto the sink basin.
We did go to reception to query whether or not we had a superior room and we're informed that we had, no alternative was offered!
We dined in the restaurant that evening, food and service both excellent.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank notimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    427
    265
    127
    68
See reviews for
250
574
55
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed for one night in March 2014. Upon arrival I was greeted warmly, the reception and staff at this point were top notch. I was even given a free upgrade to what was called a 'Superior' double room. So, why does my review not have 5 stars. My issues are with the rooms themselves. Staying on a positive note, the best thing about it was the shower... nice and powerful and did the trick. So, the bad stuff... well...
* The walls appear to be VERY thin... if you are a light sleeper like me, expect to be woken up throughout the night.
* The communal door to reception as well as all the room doors are not what I call 'Soft Close'. This means if you set your alarm for 9am so you can have a lay-in... forget it... because at 7am, you will be woken to a chorus of doors slamming.
* The King size bed is 2 joined together, so whatever you do, don't sleep in the middle. Overall I found that the bed was too big for the room (or the other way around depending on which way you look at it).
* Finally, the air conditioning unit in the room is very very loud. It works great when its on but if you are looking for climate control all night, then I doubt you will be able to sleep. I have stayed in lots of other hotels where the climate control is near silent. I think these units are quite dated.

Room Tip: Upon arrival, you will find the people on reception very good indeed. I would recommend asking them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamBoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed the weekend of 15/16 March 2014. From our first encounter with the reception team, the restaurant and breakfast team nothing was too much trouble. The service was very commendable. We stayed in and Executive Room (381) that was very comfortable with a view of the Thames - perfect.

Room Tip: Room 381, an Executive Room. It may cost a bit more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seillans, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Overall we were pleased by this hotel but for one big problem, on the day I needed to check out the man who was meant to help me with my pram was very rude. This hotel is not pram friendly. At first this was not an issue; a very helpful female member of staff helped me carry the pram with my baby into the hotel and take it all the way to the room. She suggested that if I ever needed help again to feel free to call reception. I needed to do this on the morning of the check out; the man that was sent made it very clear that I was wasting his time. He was abrupt, impatient and I almost had to run down the corridors with my pram and baby after him. Before my encounter with this man I would have been happy to return to the hotel, but until I can learn to lift a pram with a baby inside down steep staircases unaided, I will have to go elsewhere.
A further note, the day after we checked out my husband called to tell the hotel about this situation, they said they would call him back. We are still waiting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HNJHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had the pleasure to stay here before visiting customers locally.
Great positioning for a wander down the hill to a busy Richmond with many friendly pubs and bars.
Staff at the hotel attentive without being over facing most notably in the bar.
Definitely will return on either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The staff at the Richmond Hill are exceptionally polite, pleasant and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they went out of their way to help and to ensure that our stay was a good one. Our room was individually designed and in good condition decoratively. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and our room was quiet. Toiletries, tea, coffee etc replenished generously. The hotel is ideally situated with just a very short walk to Richmond Park or in the other direction to the terrace with fantastic views over The Thames.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaynrManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I spent three nights hear as part of a works conference. The rooms are very nice and are quite different from your run of the mill chain hotel, they actually had some character about them. The staff were very friendly at all times and genuinely wanted to help, which makes a distinct change from most London hotels. Overall the experience was very pleasant, so much so I will consider using the hotel for personal travel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lost_Somewhere_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#2 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Property: Richmond Hill Hotel
Address: 144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#6 Business Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Richmond, Surrey, and only seven miles from Central London, London’s West End and Heathrow Airport, Richmond Hill Hotel is a 4 star hotel that features accommodation, restaurant, meeting and event rooms and a fabulous leisure centre. The hotel is near Richmond Station which is on the District line and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing