We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so.”

The Slug and Lettuce
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A perfect riverside location, The Slug & Lettuce is a very popular destination venue, especially during the summer months. The venue is family friendly allowing children from opening until 8pm daily, over 21's thereafter. Breakfast, lunch, dinner & take-away available. Parties are welcome. Great deals on cocktails, wine & food throughout the week. Our friendly staff will look after all your needs when visiting!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“So so.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went there on a monday with a group of friends. The place certainly wasn't packed which was surprising as on mondays food is half price. We ordered a variety of mains, some of which were deemed much better than others. Souvlaki was fine but the accompanying flatbread tough & scorched, curries were deemed good, duck wraps poor.

Several of us had the duck wraps which were very tough & were filled with huge chunks of cucumber and very little chewy duck. The accompanying salad garnish looked sad & wilted. The wraps were impossible to eat with a knife and fork and as they were open at both ends, dripped hoisin sauce up my arm & fell apart when I tried eating them with my fingers. Just about acceptable at half price, although I might have returned them if not with a group of friends. They were certainly not worth the full £5.95 which is asked for them on other than a monday.

The service was fine & the waiter cheerful although the food took ages to arrive once it was ordered.

At the price we paid the food was ok but it's not worth paying full price for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    36
    24
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not so happy Mondays”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went to this pub because of their 50% off food deal on a Monday. That was the only good thing about it. Took a long to time to clear our plates despite plenty of staff walking around. Tried to order dessert but the waitress said she wasn't taking orders and didn't offer to find someone who could. When we ordered dessert the waitress took 10 minutes to tell us they didn't have any left ,by this point we had had enough and asked for the bill. Waitress' attitude when taking payment wasn't great and then she proceeded to storm off afterwards. The entire attitude of the waiters/waitresses was terrible. I live locally and will not be returning again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sevillista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ghastly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Food took over an hour to arrive, when we enquired as to its whereabouts, we were told, and I quote, "it's a known fact that food takes over an hour to come in here". We ordered potato skins with cheese and bacon as a starter, some fried potato wedges with raw mozorella and fatty bacon literally thrown on top arrived to our utter disgust. The other starter was houmous and bread; this took 1 hour and 20 minutes to arrive? Our mains were burgers which were suspiciously Birdseye-esque with tomato tops and limp lettuce slung in masquerading as 'salad'. We wondered why it was so quiet on a sunny bank holiday weekend, now we know why! Avoid at all costs, I wish we thought to get hot dogs from the ice cream van now!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbr34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the title lived up to its name - I found a dead woodlice in my salad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Put me off somewhat and will not be returning. this was certainly a chicken salad with a difference, although the extra protein was appreciated.

Otherwise great location, shame they don't take full advantage of it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SaemelieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

From some other reviews you'd be forgiven for avoiding this pace like the plague but my experience was very different. Richmond was packed on a sunny May Day Bank Holiday and I was lucky to snaffle a table outside where I could grab a bite and watch the world go by on the river.

The fish and chips was excellent, the service was faultless (I was warned of a 40 minute wait because of the demand) and the waiter, Kasper, was humorous and attentive. The Kiwi Sauvignon was pretty good too.

Top tip: go on a Monday when food is 50% off (even on Bank Holidays)...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rallyman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing