We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality resturant, can be expensive”

The Petersham Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Of all the restaurants in South West London, The Petersham in Richmond is without a doubt one of the finest. With the 5 rating in The Good Food Guide, the Gordon Ramsay trained Chef, restaurant's ambience and panoramic views of the River Thames and surrounding water meadow, it truly is a special venue for any occasion. For private dining, the Alcove off the main restaurant, seats up to 12 guests offering the same classical dining that can be experienced in the restaurant with all the privacy of a secluded area.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good quality resturant, can be expensive”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a quality resturant, sometimes can be a little stuffy but the food is usually good and the wine list comprehensive. The service is good and the location great but a walking trip from Richmond

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    75
    29
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great view”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

a special birthday occasion. 7.00 table. A nice glass of house champagne to begin and a bottle of excellent white Burgundy to wash down the food. David had his favourite potted shrimps and Dover Sole. I had smoked salmon and roast suckling pig. Nice desserts and coffee to finish.

Always worth a return visit but expensive for ordinary mortals, just under £200 incl service

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning views, superb staff, very special place indeed”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have been guests of The Petersham for many years so we decided to make this the venue of choice for our dad's 60th birthday on Sunday. The staff are simply the best, so attentive, always remember us and go above and beyond to ensure our visits a perfect, honestly can't thank them enough.
The food is always lovely and they were very good in accommodating my sisters vegetarian request, so she had a mix of the risotto (beautiful) which came from the child's menu as well as the lasagne (small feedback would be to ask Alex Bentley to add variety to the veggie option as it's always Lasagne in one way shape or form i.e. open/rolled/upside-down etc...)
We also booked my dad a river view room for the night which was beautiful too.
Looking forward to our next celebration already!
Keep up the amazing work and thank you again for making it so special.
Best regards

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XsusieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Lunch”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Five of us booked lunch here,we had not been for 18 years,but it was just as remembered amazing views ,great service and good food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A magnificent meal with view”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

One of the best meals I have had in quite a long time. Beautifully balanced and presented dishes in delightful surroundings with comfortably attentive service. We will be back as soon as the opportunity presents itself.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank chargle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Petersham Restaurant also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
 

Been to The Petersham Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing