We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, gorgeous views”

The Petersham Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Of all the restaurants in South West London, The Petersham in Richmond is without a doubt one of the finest. With the 5 rating in The Good Food Guide, the Gordon Ramsay trained Chef, restaurant's ambience and panoramic views of the River Thames and surrounding water meadow, it truly is a special venue for any occasion. For private dining, the Alcove off the main restaurant, seats up to 12 guests offering the same classical dining that can be experienced in the restaurant with all the privacy of a secluded area.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good food, gorgeous views”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This restaurant is an experience. The food is very good, though certainly not the best I've had in London (or Richmond). The views, however, are stunning. On a sunny evening, the view of the sunset over the Thames is magnificent and makes for a lovely dining experience. I'd happily dine here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    75
    29
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great views, nice meal”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a Sunday lunch for 4, we took our toddler as well. It was fairly busy with several large tables, there appeared to be a small function on as well in the adjoining lounge.
We all had a 3 course meal, each of the dishes were good & of a good serving size. My entree of rabbit with chorizo risotto was great. The wine list was good, mainly French. They had a different approach to serving wine- they opened the bottle & left it on the table then came back a few minutes later & offered to taste- it was slightly awkward because we didn't know wether to just pour it ourselves. I think they should offer to decant high quality bottles of red wine (our nice bottle of Bordeaux only started to open up towards the end of our meal) & they should also pour 'by the glass' wines at the table (I personally prefer this).
I enjoyed the location, big glass windows overlooking the Thames & adjacent farmland- very pretty.
Our toddler was playing up at one point so I went outside until things had settled- I was greatful that the wait staff put my meal under the warmer until I was able to eat it. They were very considerate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My food was excellent”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Five old friends went for a meal on Bank Holiday Sunday. We sat outside having a drink looking at the lovely view. The Restaurant of the Hotel is super, and very comfortable. Lots of space, good size tables and excellent staff.
My food was very good, oysters then fish, but the others had the rib-eye which they said was tough. The puddings were good, but then they ordered 3 'special coffees' which were not. Had to be sent back, and the replacements were only acceptable. We wondered whether the type of glass didn't help the flavour.
For the money the food was for them disappointing, but I loved my food and the ambience was excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views ... slow service and very, very average food.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Went for Sunday lunch and what is an exceptional setting with beautiful views was somewhat let down by the service in the resturant and also the food was pretty average. I waited at least 30 minutes for a menu to appear and a further 20 to take the order. 30 mins wait time inbetween each course. When the food arrived, it was run of the mill sunday lunch. The staff were very nice however and I enjoyed the setting / views. Good value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jleeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“ugh”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

pretentious too expensive waiters bored and could not care less attitude like they were doing you a favour. Food very mediocre cold and tasteless overppriced

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Petersham Restaurant also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Petersham Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing