We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good french” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Lindsay

Chez Lindsay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $69
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good french”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Is not posh place but very authentic french food. Like small family restaurant in Britany. Nice, fesh and good value. Not fussy like "Buvette " or plastic "COTE"

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank foodpassion8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    97
    24
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic French Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

A wonderful bistro selling authentic french cuisine . We have visited many times when we are in Richmond .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martinp778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A French moment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Excellent authentic French restaurant in Richmond, Surrey specialising in Breton cuisine. Small,
intimate and well worth visiting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We have visited chez Lindsay 3 times now and had really great service and food. We were never rushed but it's never been full when we have been, so no need to I guess. We love the fruit del a mer to share. We always have this for our main! The sweet pancakes for desert are gorgeous. Good wine list. The service is good without being intrusive so sometimes u get to pour your own wine which is fine by us. That said, it would be fairer to remove the service charge from the bill...

Helpful?
Thank princessposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I avoided Chez Lindsay for a time because from the outside it didn't look like a restaurant to me and the prices looked a little on the high side. Some friends had a arranged a birthday dinner in the upstairs dining room 3 years back and I reluctantly went along. Now being a convert, I dine here once or twice a month with friends and from time to time dine here by myself.

The steak frites has been consistently great and is one of my favourites, and I thin is pretty good value for £19. I have sampled the galletes (which were new to me, and several of the dishes on the changing pre fixe menu which is pretty good value. A couple of times they has a Moules Frites all you can eat special too. The waiters are knowledgeable about wine, and I leave it up to them to decide what wine I should have with my food, and are accommodating with a nice plate of french cheese.

I was recently dining here when a couple came in, they had moved away many years before but had their wedding reception in the upstairs of the restaurant 22 years before, and I learned that the restaurant has been open 24 years, good going!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beenthere80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Lindsay also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
 

Been to Chez Lindsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing