We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First for food”
Review of Maenan Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“First for food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Maenan Abbey is one of Wales' better kept secrets. We haven't stayed there but we eat there regularly and it's exceptionally good value. The lunch menu, particularly, is excellent, offering four courses for a miserly sum. Staff are generally young and delightful to deal with. The history of the place is clearly obvious, with great oak fireplaces and hidden crevices. But the best bit has to be the food. If you try it once, you'll be back. And there's nowhere better for a Christmas meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    70
    40
    33
    34
See reviews for
90
139
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I live locally so this was a fabulous get away. I have just returned and feel as though I have been away for a week. The staff couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. We had booked the Caenarfon Suite to share with 5 ladies.The staff were more than helpful...they were war, friendly and very professional.
The room was a huge surprise; I think we felt like royalty. It was a fabulous size. We had a Wii station and dvd's were available for hire. We had a drink in the bar and discovered that there were lots of nooks and crannies. It was a little like Alice in Wonderland. There were gracious rooms with an open fire. Just before dinner we had a lovely chat with some guests. Dogs were welcome. The local cat also had a big personality. Coming down to dinner, we found a bear playing a piano. Lots of atmosphere. The food was delicous and of a very high standard. The chef was very accomodating for vegterians.
All in all, we had thoroughly good time and will definitely be going back. The family room suited us well and it was good value for money. It would be good to see more local ales in the bar, even bottled as the Welsh Pride was great but more choice needed especially as there is such a range of local breweries in the Conwy region. Some hotels have a lovely foyer but then that's it. Maenan Abbey is the same high standard all the way through and it looks just as good as the brochure.
Would definitely recommend. Thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freneticfeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We're a young couple (mid twenties) who stayed here for one night as part of a hillwalking break away. A few comments on here put us off after we had booked but having now completed our stay we were left completely surprised at how amazing the place was for such a reasonable price. We stayed in the penthouse suite which has amazing character with pitched ceilings and a huge super comfy bed!! There was also another room with 2 single beds for kids (which we didn't need!) that looked just as impressive and had a wii console with a few games. The hotel also has a stock of dvd's and books you can borrow for free if you wanted to!? The bathroom also has a fully working jacuzzi! Food was lovely and they went out of their way for us because we arrived later than expected but nothing was a problem for them so top marks for that!

Would without doubt go back and really can't understand people bad-mouthing the place so much just for little admin errors that can happen and do happen in most hotels. They explained to us that there was only limited staff, which at the moment is understandable. We both work with customer service and know that no matter what there is always someone who just wants to complain! We think its an unfair reflection of this place and one bad review shouldn't stop 99.9% of everyone else going there!

Thanks to all the staff that made us feel so welcome and enjoyable!

Room Tip: Room 'Caernarfon' (the penthouse suite) even if you don't have the kids for the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dynamike1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretherton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Visited for Sunday Lunch on 17/02/13. Great value at £16 including coffee. Good range of choices all excellently presented. Enthusiastic and friendly staff. Probably best to book an early lunch as when we were leaving at around 2pm it was very busy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here during half term week in february. Rooms were very comfortable and warm. Staff were very helpful and very obliging. The food was excellent and very good value for money! We stayed in hotel restaurant in the evenings as the food was great and just as cheap as going out. My congratulations to the chef!!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharondudley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break at Maenan Abbey after using the '4 nights for the price of 2' deal in February 13, and we stayed in room 3 which had a 4 poster bed with a whirlpool bath. (We were originally booked in for 3 nights, but decided to stay the extra night as we enjoyed it so much)The setting was beautiful, and hotel was homely and welcoming. The staff couldn't do enough for us, which made things a lot easier as we bought our puppy with us. The food was amazing and brilliant value, and it was a perfect location for a first visit to Wales.
We read all the reviews before going, and saw a few negative ones which we find a real shame, as after staying there ourselves we could see that there were no signs of anything being wrong and we didn't encounter any issues at all. We decided to go ahead and stay anyway as it was clear from ratings that the positive outweigh the negative, and after staying there we have decided that we will definitely be returning in a few months for birthday celebrations.
Thank you for a lovely stay, and we will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeside82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first time here even though my family have been coming here for years. We booked Sunday lunch for a special occasion and were impressed by the setting and decor. It was quite busy to be fair but we were kept waiting for over an hour before being shown to our table. We wouldn't normally grumble too much but we had two small children with us and it was too long for them to have to wait.

There was only one vegetarian option, a stuffed pepper, which was served with mashed potato and so was too dry. Our children's meals arrived on red hot plates.

I have given three stars because the rest of the food was good and the setting was nice but I'm in no hurry to go back there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
2.6 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
194 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
324 reviews
6.3 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
530 reviews
6.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
722 reviews
7.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maenan Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenan Abbey Hotel

Property: Maenan Abbey Hotel
Address: Maenan LLanrwst, Llanrwst LL26 0UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maenan Abbey Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Maenan Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenan Abbey Llanrwst
Maenan Abbey Hotel Wales/Llanrwst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing