We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant, almost impossible to beat for the price.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maenan Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, almost impossible to beat for the price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a family Sunday lunch here, and were all very impressed with the ambience, hospitality, excellence of service, and well presented quality food. It is always possible to find somewhere that will exceed any individual dining experience, but I cannot imagine that any substantial improvement could have been made to the meal, and overall experience that we enjoyed, without at least doubling the budget. Three beautifully presented and very well cooked courses, with coffee, plus a round of drinks, for four people, in a welcoming warm victorian country mansion style hotel, with superb service, seemed a bargain at less than £20.00 per person. Couple this with the fact that the hotel enjoys one of the most picturesque settings with delightful gardens, and is easily accessed off the A470 between Llanwrst and Glan Conwy, and it is apparent why this venue enjoys the popularity it does.
We were so impressed by the hotel we have booked it for our wedding, and have been more than pleasantly suprised by pragmatic approach to the occasion taken by the hotel. Rather than perceiving the event to be an opportunity to make a killing financially, their attitude is that we are a party of people choosing to enjoy a meal at the hotel, and for a very modest extra charge we can have the use of their facilities for the civil ceremony. Amazing! The whole thing, excluding the registrar, will cost less than £35.00 per head, including welcoming drinks and sparkling wine for toasts! All we need now is sunshine so that we can use the lovely grounds for our photographs, we are certain that David, the manager, and his staff will do everything else they can to help make the day memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    66
    36
    32
    26
See reviews for
82
128
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
GALWAY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've always thought you can have a hotel that's not too good, but so long as the staff are good, you can forgive a lot of things.

However, this is the opposite, the building is beautiful and a nice setting but the staff, in particular the general manager are so disinterested in their customers' views, it's not true !

What a shame. Could be a lovely place but the Manager needs to listen to his customers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JEN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were staying about 2 miles away and decided to have our evening meal here.We ordered our drinks and were offered a menu was quite varied,The waitress took our order and after a short wait were shown to our table.After a minimal wait the food was served,We found the quality of the food exellent and was served by friendly and accomodating staff.We enjoyed the whole experiance so much we booked for the whole week.Our thanks to manager Dave and all the staff and look foreward to visiting again next year.

Roger & Margaret

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger_ashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abergele
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I must admit only had a meal in the restaurant, we booked our table for seven. we made ourselves known to the staff and that we had booked, we were shown into a bar room with very little seating and spent a very uncomfortable tree quarters of an hour waiting to be told what was happening. people came after us and were ushered into the restaurant. I can only assume they were staying guests and so took priority over us.but we were just ignored. restaurant was decorated on a budget and meal was mediocre. shan't. visit again. beautiful building,unfortunatly no printed history was available to read,which is always a bonus to a grand building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dustyAbergele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have tended to drive through North Wales on our way elsewhere. So this time we decided to see what always appeared to be beautiful countryside. First things first -- find a suitable hotel. Despite some mixed reviews, we settled on Maenan Abbey. And how glad we were. The staff were all friendly and ready to chat and inform , particularly Manager David, a multi-talented man. We would accept that some areas could do with an upgrading but to overdo this would result in the hotel losing much of its charm and homeliness. If we were looking for sterility, then one of the modern chains would be more appropriate. That said, Maenan was clean throughout and we were very pleased with our room (no. 11 ). The food is top class both breakfast and dinner and for the quality is exceptional value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had booked the hotel for our daughter's wedding. Before the wedding Dave the Manager went out of his way to make sure everything was as we wanted it to be; nothing was too much trouble for him. The wedding breakfast was superb. Many of the 84 guests said it was the best wedding meal they had ever had! Some of them regularly eat in 5* restaurants and they commented that the food was as good as anything they had eaten in those places; even the "fussy" eaters were well catered for! The staff were well-trained, polite, friendly and considerate; anything we asked for was done without hesitation. The whole event was excellent value and I would have no hesitation in recommending this venue to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Got married here in 2006 so before the refurb, the building and grounds are beautiful perfect for photo opportunities. Dave the manager couldnt do enough to ensure our wedding was perfect, he went above and beyond for us working within our budget to offer a top service, the food was wonderful and catered to all diets nothing was to much trouble. They asked for our colour scheme and dressed the tables with matching flowers in the budget! He was on top of his staff at all times everyone is made to feel welcome and relaxed. We had a alternative wedding with a kaylee band. Everyone commented on our wedding saying they had never been to such a fun one. The rooms are large clean and very comfortable. Our neighbours are engaged and have been to look at several places so we mentioned Maenan Abbey to them and how accommodating the manager was with our wedding so went to see it and have booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giggoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
2.6 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
6.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
7.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maenan Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenan Abbey Hotel

Property: Maenan Abbey Hotel
Address: Maenan LLanrwst, Llanrwst LL26 0UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maenan Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Maenan Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenan Abbey Llanrwst
Maenan Abbey Hotel Wales/Llanrwst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing