We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic ever!”
Review of Gwydir Castle B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanrwst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gwydir Castle B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Llanrwst B&B and Inns
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most romantic ever!”
Reviewed June 4, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed for a long weekend because we wanted to stay in a castle somewhere.

We stayed in the Kings room with a huge four poster and it was absolutely fantastic. All the furniture was antique and the breakfast was really fit for a King! There were log fires and it was one of the most romantic places we've ever been. I'd love to get married here!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Ghosts
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NottinghamNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tipp City, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2007

My mother and I view travel as an opportunity to find something a little less ordinary. Gwydir Castle perfectly suited us, and I hope others will get to enjoy its charm.

Not satisfied with the typical "tour operators" going from one predictable hotel to another, we found Gwydir online and took a chance. Thank goodness we did!

We visited Llanrwst (prounounced sort of like "than-roost") in June 2006 as a stopover between Dublin and Edinburgh and had a ball. We took the Ulysses on Irish Ferries, then took a train/bus combination to Llanrwst. We were only there two nights but really enjoyed our visit..

The "castle" is really more of an old manor house and gardens restored lovingly by thirty-something-year-old owners Peter & Judy who quit their hectic London lives to chase their dreams at Gwydir. Fascinating story, and Judy Welford has written a book about her experiences. It's called Castles in the Air, and you can get it online at Amazon if you'd like to read-up on the castle before your visit. Otherwise, you can buy a copy of the book on-site from Judy.

The b&b rooms are 'authentic' in that the floors squeak, there are no televisions or phones, the cat comes to visit, and there's a draft here and there. But that's what we really loved about the place. In addition to your own b&b room, you'll also have access to a lovely room where afternoon tea & a full breakfast are served before a large fireplace. You'll meet Carew and Madoc, the family dogs. And, you'll become intimately familiar with the peacocks in the garden. Their cries will probably wake you before an alarm clock :-) It should be noted that peacocks can, in fact, fly. I had no idea until I went walking in the gardens at dusk one evening and looked up to find a peacock staring down at me from high on a limb.

Peter and Judy aren't your typical b&b hosts, and I think that's what I really like about them. We went to Wales to be transported back in time, and that's what we got. We felt like we had free-run of a 16th century castle, and it was so peaceful to just explore its nooks and crannies on our own. When we had questions, Peter and Judy were happy to answer them. But, they were not at all obtrusive. As a previous poster said, they were even a little shy. And, once you read Judy's book, you might understand why. Do not come to their castle expecting a red carpet rolled out for you. Don't expect chocolates on your pillow and turndown service. Don't expect bellmen carrying your luggage. That's not what Gwydir is about, and that's what makes it so wonderful.

You can walk to town from Gwydir. Llanrwst is a small market village offering a few shops, a convenience store, a delicious bakery, and several restaurants. At the foot of the bridge, there's an adorable tea room owned by the National Trust. It's called Ty Hwnt i'r Bont. There's also a small family-style restaurant (don't recall the name) where we were welcomed on our first afternoon and had comfort-food -- great lasagna. The second night, we ate at the very well regarded Amser Da restaurant. As good as all the reviews promise. Llanrwst does have an ATM -- just across from the convenience store. Although 70% of the residents can and do speak Welsh, they also speak English. You shouldn't have trouble communicating, but as with any place, it would probably be a good idea to learn some basic terms like please and thank you so that the townspeople know you're trying. Llanrwst doesn't seem to get much in the way of tourists, so we had some really neat conversations with residents. One was a sheperd who we encountered while walking to town one day. He told us about his childhood adventures at Gwydir. Another man in town was astounded when he heard we were from Ohio. "Oh-hi-oh?" He kept repeating it over and over as if we were from Oz.

Snowdonia is an enchanting area, and I'm sure you can't go wrong wherever you choose. Gwydir was at the top of our list, and I hope I'm lucky enough to visit it again someday.

Enjoy!

P.S. If you take the bus to Llanrwst from other points in Wales (recommended, as it's a beautiful ride), ask the driver to let you off BEFORE the town bridge. The stop is right near the entrance to Gwydir Forest, and the driver should know what you mean. When you exit the bus, follow the stone wall about 50 feet to the Gwydir Castle entrance. This will save you quite a bit of time if you're carrying luggage. We didn't know about this little stop and took the bus all the way into Llanrwst, called Judy to pick us up, and backtracked to the castle in her car. It would've been ever so much simpler to get off the bus directly at Gwydir.

  • Liked — Authentic restoration of both the house and gardens -- truly fascinating
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pgatour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2006

Gwydir Castle is a hauntingly beautiful place which has a definite spooky atmosphere. Stayed for two nights on B&B basis. The rooms are furnished in keeping with the ancient feel of the building - do not expect mod cons such as TV etc. The doors and floor creak and groan, the bath tilts at an angle, and the shadows keep you occupied and have you looking over your shoulder - but it is comfortable and warm. The hosts are rather ghostly themselves - seen from a distance and rather shy. But this is understandable as they are preoccupied with the renovation of the property. There is a young chap who is on hand to help guests. The property has an amazing history which is confirmed in the book written by the owner titled Castles in the Air - an account of their restoration of the house. For somewhere different and memorable a highly recommended stay.

  • Liked — Historic building, eerie atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Av v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

Wow!!! What a find!! We had a glorious time at the castle. This was our third trip to North Wales and love this area. My family comes from Capel Curig, not far away and we certainly found a gem with Gwydir Castle.

The owners have done a fabulous job getting the castle back to the way it should be - very authentic and it certainly isn't a "touristy" castle. No fake armour, etc. Just lots of wonderful history!

Our room was wonderful - it had a lovely 4 poster and a bathroom. Also, great views of the garden area. There are lots of peacocks wandering around the gardens and even a lovely black cat! My husband got out his "parlor bagpipes" and had a grand time playing in the garden. The peacocks seemed to enjoy it!

Since there are only two rooms for B&b, there is a good chance you will be the only guests as we were. What a great time! It was definately our best night of our 4 days in Wales!

The breakfast was very nice and it was presented in a lovely old room with very old antiques and a lovely fireplace.

Can't say one negative thing about our experience!

Thanks to the lovely couple who have restored this glorious castle and have opened their home to us lucky tourists!

We will certainly return!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2004

The Welford's and their castle truly welcome one into the atmosphere of living in a slower, more peaceful time when folks enjoyed their gardens, the sunsets, the tea times and peacocks! The experience of staying in the Duke of Beaufort's room was unique and very comfortable. The town of Llanrwst and the nearby hillsides are picturesque. We watched, spellbound, as a double rainbow reigned over the evening shadows on our last night there. Just beautiful!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
20.2 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
301 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwydir Castle B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwydir Castle B&B

Property: Gwydir Castle B&B
Address: Gwydyr Castle Conwy Valley, Llanrwst LL26 0PN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Gwydir Castle Hotel Llanrwst
Gwydir Castle Bed And Breakfast
Gwydir Castle B&B Wales/Llanrwst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing